1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support installing drivers

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Meduza, Sep 24, 2011.

1. Meduza

Meduza Lurker
    None

Sep 22, 2011
    student
    london
    Hi, I am brand new to the android world. With my previous LG Renoir I have just connected the phone with my laptop via USB cable and followed the instructions to install the drivers. By launching them I could access the contents of the phone from my laptop.
    With my Samsung Galaxy S2, everytime I connect it to my laptop for charging it shows message that the driver or software is being installed and at the end installed successfully. But I cannot find the icon on the laptop screen to download things to or from the mobile phone.

In the recent past I have been prompted to insert CD with software, which I do not have. Any suggestions?

Advertisement

2. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum

Jun 12, 2010
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    *moved to the Samsung Galaxy S2 forum*

If all you require is file transfer, when you plug your phone in, you should see a USB connected icon in the notification bar. Pull that down and select connect as storage. Your Phone's SD memory will show up on your PC as a removable drive. Copy files to and from there and you will be fine.

Samsung Phone also has a sync'ing suite called 'Kies'. Outside of the US is sync's the entire phone, but in the US it's for firmware updates only.

3. Meduza

Meduza Lurker
    None

Sep 22, 2011
    student
    london
    thanx. i also needed to install the kies to my laptop.

4. piels82

piels82 Lurker
    None

Sep 22, 2011
    i have kies but mine is called keis air u can transfer files from ur phone to ur pc or from pc to the phone via wirelesly all u have to do is sit next to pc on phone select kies air not sure if it is standard app for all s2 but im sure u can find it in market if not