1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Installing new ROM I only get to M logo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nashmarkt, Nov 26, 2011.

  1. nashmarkt

    nashmarkt Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    Male
    Hi Everyone
    I install Froyo (sbf), root (z4root) then install D2 Bootstraper. I then flash CM7 nightly on my Droid X. All works well. (This is for you to know how I got to CM7 on my phone)
    Now I back up my ROM and install a new ROM. This time I tried Liquid 3.0. After installation is complete I wipe cache and data and restart. I just get the M logo and nothing past that. I even go to stock recovery and delete cache and reset. No luck.

    This happens with 2 ROMs so far. I thought This is the way to get to play around with different ROMs. Am I missing something?

    First of all I like to restore my ROM. I think my only choice now is to SBF back to froyo, root, D2 bootstrap and go to recovery and restore my CM7 ROM.

    I really like to be able to install different ROMs and I am not sure if I am doing something wrong or this is just a not so reliable process.

    I appreciate your advice.

    Nash
     

    Advertisement

  2. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Some ROMs are based on Froyo and some are based on Gingerbread. Liquid is based on Gingerbread, so you need to be on 602/605 before you load it.
     
    nashmarkt likes this.
  3. nashmarkt

    nashmarkt Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    Male
    Please please please explain this.
    What do you mean "I need to be on 602/605".
    I thought I was on CM7 which is based on GB.

    Thanks
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    there are two CM7's one based on Froyo and one based on GB. It sounds like you flashed the one based on Froyo since you said you started out on Froyo.

    the one for GB is here

    however now you may have to SBF and start over. If you want to use CM7 for GB then just use the .602 SBF/ then root/ then install your CM7forGB
     
    nashmarkt likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...