1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Installing software, not from the Market but from another Android device?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by FortKnox, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. FortKnox

    FortKnox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008

    Nov 23, 2008
    157
    2
    36
    Hi all, so I used the Locale application for years to automatically manage my phone's settings. Locale was "upgraded" (replaced) by software that works fundamentally differently, called Tasker. (the difference in computer science terms is that it went from stack-based to queue-based, which has practical ramifications) I've been using Tasker for a long time now, and decided I want to go back to Locale, which is still available on the Market, I just reinstalled it. However, one of the main reasons I want to switch back to Locale is that I loved the use of the On/Off Button Plugin, which works differently than Tasker's built-in widgets. (The difference is that I can use the same button to turn a setting on OR off and also that it displays the current state at a glance) So I reinstalled Locale, but I found that the On/Off Button Plugin is no longer available on the Market. So finally, my question is if there's a way to copy the plugin from where it's happily working on my tablet to my new cell phone, without using the Market and without doing anything that voids warranties?
    Thanks all!

    P.S. I wrote all that then realized that my tablet is using the plugin with Tasker, so whether or not I use Locale is entirely irrelevant, sorry.

    P.P.S. Here's the plugin I mean, and this page says it's available from the Android market, but that's no longer true: http://www.boutiquesoftware.com/widgetpluginhelp.html
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Please restate the question. Exactly what is it that you are trying to accomplish?

    The kind of thing you area asking about could be developed using Tasker.
    Using plug-ins to any app that have been discontinued by the developer is simply unhealthy.

    ... Thom
     
  3. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,104
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,104
    1,055
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    app backup and restore backs up your installed apps into apk files (but usually doesn't work for paid apps). Try it on your tablet to see if you can capture the plugin as an apk. If so, move the apk over to your phone and install it (requires enabling unknown sources)
     
  4. FortKnox

    FortKnox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008

    Nov 23, 2008
    157
    2
    36
    OMG OMG OMG, app backup and restore just solved *months* of agony! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for that pointer!!! :) :) :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...