1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Installing windows 7 on ASUS A55VD-NS51 laptop

Discussion in 'Computers' started by clapper66, Jul 27, 2013.

  1. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    Hello, i have recently purchased an Asus A55VD-NS51 laptop and having trouble installing windows 7 on it. I installed windows 7 but after it starts to boot up i get a BSOD screen with the stop error code 0x000000A5. I have read online saying that disabling ACPI would fix this problem, but in my bios i do any ACPI setting and i have flashed the latese bios. I would like to get windows 7 on this laptop but can see to solve that problem. :thinking:



     

    Advertisement

  2. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    Hi, is this your laptop?

    I would suggest downloading a linux mint live disc and using gpart to partition the hard drive in NTFS file system then try installing windows 7, without partitioning the drive.
     
    clapper66 likes this.
  3. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    OK I will try that thanks.
     
  4. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    Well no luck :( got the same error code.
     
  5. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    Well if that laptop is one I found it should be running windows 8, so I dont see why windows 7 does not install.

    try installing windows 8 again? does it go through?
     
  6. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    Im going to pull the HDD and completely format it in my desktop. See if that works before I try installing windows 8.
     
  7. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    Well no luck formating in my desktop. :(
     
  8. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    it sounds like something needed to check/change in bios, but what is the question.
     
  9. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    What is causing me to BSOD screen with the stop error code 0x000000A5 on a fresh install of windows. Originally this laptop had windows 8 on it. I got it for a good price but am not a fan of windows 8 :rolleyes:
     
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    Nor am I.

    When I googled that error code acpi was the culprit, as you posted that is why I wonder if windows 8 will reinstall.:thinking:
     
  11. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    When I get home for the hell of it I'm going to try installing windows xp to see if that does anything. Last night I pulled the HDD for my dell latitude e6400 and tried to boot into windows 7 already installed on it and I did not the 000005A BSOD it actually it stared to boot but then crashed because its set up for my old laptop. :sly:
     
  12. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    hmm which version of windows 7?
    home pro, ultimate
    64bit? there usually is more then one way to skin the cat, as the saying goes.:smokingsomb:
     
  13. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    Ultimate 64 bit
     
  14. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    If you got it try home premium, 32 or 64 bit.
    There may be some specific things in ultimate that wont install on typical computers.
     
  15. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    Don't have one but have a windows vista basic disk so just to see if I can get it to boot anything besides windows 8 im trying to install vista.
     
  16. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    OK windows visit basic installed fine. So now I'm going to try installing windows 7 threw windows vista.
     
  17. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    good luck, and hopefully it will work. I am thinking you could/should give home premium a try as well. I think, though I am not sure you can download it from microsoft.
     
  18. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    Well actually last night I downloaded professional and got it up and running. :D
     
  19. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    Good too hear.:)
     
  20. clapper66

    clapper66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    69
    6
    16
    Male
    USA
    Now I'm going threw the what seems like endless installation of updates. :p
     
  21. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    lol ya fun part right?
     
  22. Thatdad

    Thatdad Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,322
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013

    Jun 4, 2013
    1,322
    323
    183
    Male
    Direct Support Professional
    South Georgia
    I had the exact same problem with mine after I got Ubuntu on this one. (I figured I should have at least one Windows computer in case if a situation came up for college)

    Basically what I did was go to BIOS and make it boot from Flashdrive, got the Ubuntu flash drive I had (No CD drive) I put the .iso files on it and used it to remove all of the data on the hard drive, since windows doesn't play well with anything that isn't NTFS, then finally got my other flash drive and installed the Windows 7 .iso files I had on hand.

    That was the only way I could do it. After I get another laptop I'm putting Mint on that one and keeping this cheapo laptop as Windows.

    I'm so evil to Windows. :evil:
     
  23. jamoosh

    jamoosh Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    303
    49
    43
    I just ordered this laptop, and am planning to install Ubuntu and Windows 7 64-bit. Hopefully it doesn't give me as much of a hard time as it gave you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...