1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Insufficient internal memory on a newly rooted Evo 4G.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by callmelittled, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    **I'm only posting this because I can't find a current post that covers my whole situation!!**
    Prior to rooting my Evo last week, I had 12 apps on the internal memory (they couldn't be moved to the sd card) and had between 35 and 40 mb of space. I rooted my phone, installed Titanium Backup, and moved the extra apps I could move to the card. Now, however, I have 6 apps and even less available space! I'm unable to install most new apps (I REALLY want wireless tethering) or update the ones I do have because of insufficient storage space errors. I also need to move my messaging app back to internal memory because its a slow beast when its on the card, but can't because of the aforementioned error...

    I followed the gingerbread rooting steps and flashed a basic rom, but haven't gone beyond that. I have an 8gb card, but am planning on getting a higher capacity one soon. What can I do to allocate some more internal memory to the apps I have to leave on the phone?? I need some help, desperately!!

    Thank you in advance!! I'm a newb, so please keep the geek speak to a manageable level. :)
     

    Advertisement

    SGS2 likes this.
  2. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Which rom did you flash?
     
  3. lubberlick

    lubberlick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    244
    138
    68
    American English Speaking Taxi Guy
    Indianapolis
    Try this. Most custom roms already have it installed but if your running stock rom you will have to do this manually. It will require you to partition your SD card wich is easy as pie. Afterwords you will have more room for apps then you can ever use...... unless your Ocn.

    [Script][A2SD] Darktremor 2.7.5.3 Beta 04 [N1] (01/29/2011) - xda-developers
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  4. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    +1

    Set your partition to 1 GB and that's about all you need. I have mine set at 2 GB and I feel like I'm just wasting a GB.
     
  5. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    I will give that a try. Thank you!
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    just keep in mind that not all roms support the script. what rom are you on or plan to flash. some roms have a2sd built in.
     
  7. ForbodingAngel

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    50
    20
    18
    Does CM7 Support it?
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  9. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    Can anyone tell me why my internal mem keeps dropping so rapidly? It's at 17 mb now, up from 1mb after clearing cache, with only 6 apps on the sd card... WTF?
     
  10. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Wow. That doesn't sound even remotely right. Go into settings and post back with what it says under downloaded apps.

    Maybe your Market is installing apps you've previously used?
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    which rom are you on? is it the bliss rom? when i flashed it i only had like 50+mb left. it is a huge rom. is it one of the sense 3.0 roms or maybe the synergy roms? if it isn't then something is definitely wrong.
     
  12. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    I flashed a stock one, but it didn't really have a catchy name to it... Internal mem is at 10mb now. Any suggestions on a good rom that will allow me to partition the sd card? It doesn't need to be too fancy, but a bit more than stock.
     
  13. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    I only have 6 apps in int mem, so it's got to be something else...
     
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you need to know the names of your roms. it is very important info that if you want others to help. you can go to settings/about phone/software info/and it should say what rom you have. something is definitely wrong then. try wiping dalvik cache and cache and see if that frees up your ram. if not, you may want to do a full wipe data, dalvik cache, and cache, flash the superwipe and re-flash your rom.

    edit:if you need instructions on the proper steps to flash a rom. go here:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html and go to the flashing section.
     
  15. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    I didn't get as far as flashing a rom, I only flashed SuperUser
    Superuser
     
  16. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    So, since I haven't actually flashed a rom, can anyone suggest a good one to use? Someone above mentioned bliss and synergy, but didn't say if they are any good.
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i would stay away from them especially bliss. it is still in beta and has a lot of issues that need to be worked out yet. very cool rom when it is complete though. try mikg2.5 to start out. then if you feel adventurous you can flash the patches 2.51 and 2.52 in that order. they are patches that have the fixes to gingerbreead that are in the latest ota 4.53
     
    callmelittled likes this.
  18. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    I will give mikg2.5 a try, thank you!
     
  19. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    So I flashed MikGv2.5 after doing a nandroid backup, but when I reboot and get to the home screen, there are no icons and all the buttons/touch screen buttons are nonresponsive. I downloaded and flashed Wired_MikGv2.5 and I still get nothing. My wallpaper is there, but no apps or notification bar and no response from home buttons, etc... WTF? They both installed without issues and I followed each step to flash them...
     
  20. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    Follow up: My weather.com widget shows up in the notification bar and I sent myself an email and the notification came up too, but it won't pull down. I called my phone, but the call never registered and I don't have a power off option... It's like there's one thing missing, but I don't have a clue what it is....

    I'm restoring my nandroid backup in the hopes that I can at least use my phone. I'll post my progress tomorrow, er, later today...
     
  21. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    As long as you followed each step in the process in the rooting for dummies gingerbread edition you shouldn't have any problems.


    Are you sure you wiped dalvik cache? I had a similar problem when using clockworkmod for my recovery because it is in the advanced portion of the menu.

    Also, I would also recommend MikG 2.5. Just download both patches for it as well and flash them in the order they belong. MikG 2.5, 2.51 patch, 2.52 patch
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  22. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    Should I use the mikg or wired_mikg? I didn't wipe the dalvik cache the first time, so it was probably useless to do that the second time... Should I flash the rom and both patches one after another or with a reboot in between? I'll try again today as I'm sore from a car wreck yesterday and not up to leaving the house and post how it goes. Thank you for being good to a newb!
     
  23. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    As far as the ROM goes..
    http://themikmik.com/showthread.php?6785-Download-Links

    Download v2.5, v2.51 (with kernal if you dont plan on flashing a custom one),v2.51 to 2.52

    Thats the one I recommend and you will find the patches on the downloads page. A reboot in between patches is not required.


    Not wiping Dalvik cache before you flash anything will usually cause problems. When flashing a rom you need to wipe DATA, CACHE, & Dalvik CACHE and some will even wipe each 3 times. Then run the Superwipe zip and you should be goo to go.

    If you are still on clockworkmod recovery I would suggest looking up how to change your recovery to amon ra in the rooting for dummies gingerbread edition.

    Sorry for going like 30 different places in that post but I kept thinking of new things to add
     
    callmelittled, ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  24. callmelittled

    callmelittled Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    15
    1
    36
    Yeah!! Reflashed after clearing cache, etc and its working!!! I've got the patches downloaded and will flash them in a bit.
     
  25. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Glad it worked! Let us know how the patches went.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...