1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root "insufficient space on device"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dfunk44, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. dfunk44

    dfunk44 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    OV, CM7 1-3-2012.

    Keep getting this error, even though there is space on the phone and card. Some updates will go through while others will not. Some new apps will download while others will not.

    Tried clearing the data and wiping cache, no luck.

    Any easy fix for this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    What is happening is BACKside (and possibly all CM7 ROMs) move the dalvik cache into the cache partition. The market currently downloads some apps and updates to the cache partition before installing them. With a large enough dalvik, you are indeed out of space.

    I know of two fixes.

    First, if you have titanium backup pro you can integrate dalvik into ROM (you have to undo this before flashing a newer version) and reboot. (I've not tried this yet, Jerry explains it in the BACKside thread, I'll see if I can find the post).

    Second, direct your file browser to /etc/init.d/ and move, delete or rename 01mvdalvik then wipe the data and cache for the market, reboot into recovery and wipe the cache and dalvik.

    Here is the link to JerryScript's post about using Titanium Backup to take care of this problem.
    http://androidforums.com/optimus-v-...m-cm7-green-machine-theme-41.html#post3581435
     
    dfunk44 likes this.
  3. dfunk44

    dfunk44 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    won't let me move/rename/delete 01mvdalvik (using File Manager)
     
  4. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    You need to make sure your file manager has super user rights.

    In ES File explorer hit menu -> Settings then tick Root Explorer and say yes and yes again when the SU request pops up. Now you should be able to move the file.
     
  5. dfunk44

    dfunk44 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    Thanks. This is turning into a total PITA somehow. Now somehow I only have 12MB internally? Had more than 50% free before. Think I'll just reflash it.
     
  6. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    You have only 12MB internally because the dalvik cache is no longer on the cache partition, it is on the internal storage of the phone where it would be normally.
     
  7. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    I have a dumb question. How do some people get this problem and others do not? I've never had this insufficient space issue before (knock on wood).
     
  8. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    Less apps? Smaller dalviks from the apps you do have?
     
  9. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    The only dumb questions are those not asked. Some apps just need much larger caches.
     
  10. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    I use link so have virtually unlimited space, limited to my card size that is
     
  11. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
  12. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL

    I only have roughly 50 some apps installed, and I don't use the Link2SD method. Was just curious hehe.
     
  13. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    I've got about 170, give or take a couple. Way too much, I know, I'm just a digital pack rat. I still have my Windows 95 installation floppy disks!
     
  14. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I don't have Link2SD installed just yet. MacFett has mentioned previously that the apps linked with Link2SD will respond and behave better.
    I have 120 Downloaded apps and still have 98MB of storage left, but there not quite as responsive and have a noticeable lagg opening up and sometimes performing functions.

    It won't be long and I'll be having to install it.
     
  15. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    206 here with 82mb free space.
     
  16. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    179 and 76MB
     
  17. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    You should bronze those baby shoes, after all, your about to have a real set to bronze as well. ;)
     
    brotherswing likes this.
  18. Michael323

    Michael323 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    72
    26
    43
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I was getting the 'insufficient space' error from the market consistently when downloading apps greater than 2-3 MB or so.

    I found a thread on forum.cyanogenmod.com - post #6 by capeli provides the following terminal command:

    # cd /cache
    # mv download download.old
    # mkdir -p /sdcard/cache/download
    # ln -s /sdcard/cache/download download

    The thread is for an HTC phone but so far it has cleared up the problem for me. It sets up a symbolic link that uses the sd card for caching downloads. Seems pretty simple and brilliant to me. All credit goes to capeli.
     
  19. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    And that's the beauty of unix based systems. The most powerful and elegant commands are incredibly simple!
     
  20. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    So far so good. Anyone know if it persists through reboots and ROM updates?
     
  21. Michael323

    Michael323 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    72
    26
    43
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Persisted through a reboot & download of a large file from the Market (Google Plus, 8.33 MB).
     
  22. Michael323

    Michael323 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    72
    26
    43
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Our Unix forefathers must marvel as we swipe type their ancient commands on little phone screens :)

    Here's a cool article from IEEE Spectrum on forty years of Unix history...from PDPs to smart phones.
     
    brotherswing likes this.
  23. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Basic unix commands for a link, it shouldn't have any issues with reboot. You'll need to do it again after a fresh flash though.
     
  24. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    This could be put into a script and run though right?
     
  25. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Quite easily. Any series of commands could be written as a script. Type them into a text editor, change the permissions to executable, and there you are. That way you could automate the process.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...