1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General insufficient storage available

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by smartphone45, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. smartphone45

    smartphone45 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    54
    0
    15
    This phone is crap i have a handful of downloaded apps and between the updates and whatnot I have run out of phone storage you know I bet apple phones dont have this problem. why is it that they cant give enough storage for apps on a phone its like they dont have the technology or what the heck it is.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Lol, there are methods around that but it appears you haven't taken the time to come to know of these things. I recommend you do some reading ;-)
     
  3. titetanium

    titetanium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    46
    15
    18
    Download terminal emulator from the play store, run it and type logcat -c then enter. Type exit and try to install an app. It should give you more space to install more apps.

    Btw, doing this, I went from 125 mb free to 1 gb free. YMMV
     
    russellvone, ladlr23 and Kreatur3 like this.
  4. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Could you explain what exactly this does?
     
  5. titetanium

    titetanium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    46
    15
    18
    It clears the logcat files from the memory, some of which can be large.
     
  6. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks. Was unaware of that command.
     
  7. alang92jr

    alang92jr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014

    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    2
    16
    Will it work if I swapped SD Memory with internal memory
     
  8. titetanium

    titetanium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    46
    15
    18
    Not sure but it should clear the logcat files no matter what part of memory it resides in.
     
  9. alang92jr

    alang92jr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014

    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    2
    16
    Worked great Thx
     
  10. Rtedmonston

    Rtedmonston Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    54
    2
    16
    I'm having this issue as well, for some reason my phone reports that I have 127MB of app storage out of 4GB for some reason when all my apps take up less than 1 GB total. It also shows me as having 4GB of internal storage, but gives me a warning when I try to install any app on play store "insufficient storage available". My SD is 32GB and not an issue.

    I tried the logcat -c command in terminal and it did nothing, why is it reported as having less space than it actually does?
     
  11. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    This is because apps aren't stored on the 4gb of 'internal storage'. They are stored in the /data partition... Which is significantly smaller
    [​IMG]

    The space for apps is just over 1gb
    (in the screen shot, 'media' is the internal storage and 'internal' is the space for apps & app data)
     
  12. alang92jr

    alang92jr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014

    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    2
    16
    Why don't you try swapping internal with external memory. Here is link to the thread. This is assuming u have your phone rooted and have custom recovery installed. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2306841
     
    russellvone likes this.
  13. svz235

    svz235 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    529
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    529
    42
    68
    Male
    If you wanted, could you return the memories back to normal?
     
  14. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yes
     
  15. svz235

    svz235 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    529
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    529
    42
    68
    Male
    How with a nandroid backup?
     
  16. alang92jr

    alang92jr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014

    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    2
    16
    Yes you can do a nandroid backup. Or you can just go to the thread that I provided and they should have a flashable zip so you can restore the memory back to stock. But you should make a nandroid backup just in case something goes wrong when the flashing the zip
     
  17. svz235

    svz235 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    529
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    529
    42
    68
    Male
    I heard you need to also backup your recovery, is that true too?
     
  18. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The stock recovery is mainly for allowing the ability to accept OTA's or any other possible updates that may need to use the recovery to be applied. Also, for the ability to simply return your device back to its original form if one later on chooses to not be rooted, S-Off, Bootloader unlocked, etc, etc. And for other simple reasons as well.
     
  19. svz235

    svz235 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    529
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    529
    42
    68
    Male
    Oohh ok so if I do the memory swap thingy and something goes wrong, a nandroid backup will fix it?
     
  20. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    A nandroid backup will normally contain the following. A backup of your system partition, data partition, cache partition, boot partition, and depending on the recovery and/or the user, there may be other partitions included, but the ones I listed are the main focus.

    The system partition is where you find all your system apps, frameworks, modules, etc, etc. Its basically every single file and subdirectory located in the /system folder if looking at it with a file manager like es file explorer. The data partition is the same thing, as well as the cache, and so forth. The boot.img is normally pulled by the custom recovery using the dd command and then simply renames it to something else like boot.emmc.win for example. They do that as a signature thing on their part but it is no different then renaming it to boot.img. The system.img from the system partition is pulled and then reformatted to usually a type of tar file depending upon the recovery being used to make the backup. For example, TWRP names it system.ext4.win (or something similar - going off the top of my head). Just rename it to system.img and it would basically be the same thing. It looks crazy, but it is simply a tar file and the following command will extract it:
    Code (Text):
    1.  tar -xvf system.img
    Anyways, yes, a backup will recover your device, but some things need to be considered. When you make changes on your phone, you need to determine what and where is actually being modified. Does it fall in the system partition, boot partition, data partition, etc, etc. If it does, then you will know your backup will restore and fix it. BUT, if its something pertaining outside of these known partitions that would normally be found in a backup then you may be required to pull that specific partition manually for safe keeping (but that is normally done so by more advanced users).
     
  21. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The only partition I have learned from our device that would literally wreck you by a hard brick is the HBoot. You screw that up and your phone is paperweight. Seriously lol.
     
  22. svz235

    svz235 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    529
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    529
    42
    68
    Male
    Damn :O pretty risky stuff, this is why I am kind of hesitating to do the memory swap stated earlier cuz it sounds too risky, well at least for me
     
  23. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It isn't, lol. Worst case with that if done wrong, is a soft brick. A soft brick basically is no different than a bootloop, FC, and so forth. It means the phone won't boot up in some way, but you still have the ability to get access to the HBoot and thus, fix your phone ;-)
     
  24. svz235

    svz235 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    529
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    529
    42
    68
    Male
    I'm still new with the hboot and stuff, I'm surprised I made it through rooting, bootloader unlock, and s-off lol
     
  25. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Haha, thats the easy part ;-)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...