1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Interesting - 2.1 stuff

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lionheart, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. Lionheart

    Lionheart Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    16
    1
    16

    Advertisement

    MarioNico likes this.
  2. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    66
    7
    36
    Philippines
    You can get all of that stuff by installing the Pulsar ROM. that's what I did and its great.



    Sent from my Milestone using Tapatalk
     
  3. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009

    Jul 31, 2009
    550
    17
    63
    A number of us are running the Pulsar Rom which has all those in it.

    Have a look here

    Installation's a piece of cake, although i'd recommend you do the wipe step. I skipped it and had some performance issues, but then i just did a wipe and re-installed and it runs great now.
     
  4. Jabbypants

    Jabbypants Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Did have my first problem today was recording some video did like 1 min 20 odd seconds and it just rebooted the phone.
     
  5. Lionheart

    Lionheart Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    16
    1
    16
    Interesting.

    I'm really a noob at all of this, could anyone tell me if they've noticed an increase/decrease in lag on the home screen with this?

    Also, I thought custom roms on the milestone were impossible?

    Do i need to be rooted?

    and finally, which firmware do I need to be coming from (2.0 or 2.0.1)?

    Sorry about all the questions, but i want to know everything i can find out about this before i do it..


    Thanks heaps

    Alex
     
  6. Jabbypants

    Jabbypants Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    54
    2
    16
  7. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    66
    7
    36
    Philippines
    On my Milestone, lag has decreased from 2.0.1. It's pretty smooth and stable.

    I thought this too, I haven't gone into the technicalities of it, for now I'm just enjoying it. Perhaps when I have some spare time I'll research on how the devs were able to do it.

    Nope. But I was and then I rooted again after applying the ROM.

    2.0.1. Someone tried installing it from 2.0 and it would go into and endless loop of reboots and FC's.
     
    MarioNico likes this.
  8. Lionheart

    Lionheart Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    16
    1
    16
    Thanks for all the help!

    I think i'll give pulsar a go.

    One last thing, is there a way to go back to stock if I decide I don't like it?

    Thanks

    Alex
     
  9. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    66
    7
    36
    Philippines
    Yup. All you have to do is Flash with RSD Lite using an SBF of your choice here.
     
  10. daz_meh

    daz_meh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I tried to run the pulsar on my 2.1 milestone and it wont work! I see it doesnt need to be rooted, so what gives?
     
  11. fejker

    fejker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    The Pulsar ROM only works for 2.0.1. The developer wrote on the German forum that he doesn't have enough time to develop the ROM for 2.1.
     

Share This Page

Loading...