1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Internal Memory Disappearing - How much do you have?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mslisaj, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    My internal memory has a parasite that is slowly eating it away. I have figured out that when internal memory gets below 16MB it turns on the little warning in the status bar. So, this is how I'm checking my internal memory so everyone that takes their time to respond to me is using the same method. I got to Settings> SD&Phone Storage, at the bottom of the screen that comes up is the "Internal Phone Storage" Available space and mine says 15.84MB. Today I installed a highly rated memory manager from the Market and it didn't help at all. So my first question is How much "internal Phone Storage" do you have left?

    Now my second question is when you got to Settings> Applications> Manage Applications> and scroll way down to "Mail - HTC Corporation" and click on that. Now look at the storage. Mine says 15.64 MB Total. Which breaks down there to Application 2.59MB and Data at 13.05MB. Clearly my Mail program is holding the biggest chunk of memory. But I want to know how this compares to everyone else's. If this is true then it would account for the parasitic growth or loss of my memory.

    So if I'm way different then this will start a good discussion on what to do about this problem. Just let me say at this point that I delete all email once I have read it. I delete the sent, draft and Trash folders too. I also go into the SD Card and delete everything that is in the .Mail folder too. So if my phone is storing old email now I have to find out where and delete it.........

    I so appreciate everyone weighing in on this perplexing problem.

    Thanks for your help and comments.........

    Lisa :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. norm12

    norm12 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    when i was running fresh 2.3.3 it was around 23mb. I'm on CM6 and its over 110 right now, but I haven't setup my email account or loaded all my apps yet
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I don't know what the the problem is but since you are rooted, wipe and reflash Damage. Sorry for no help here:(
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Running froyo here too, have 30 apps installed and I have 107mb of internal memory. No A2SD either, have not moved any apps to sd
     
  5. Zardos

    Zardos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    194
    15
    38
    Cell phone sales.
    Bacon Town, USA
    118 megs.

    CM6 - RC1

    If I don't use an app I don't keep it.
     
  6. bluemark

    bluemark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    43
    5
    16
    Michigan
    108MB. Not rooted.
     
  7. ffirewfire

    ffirewfire Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Lansing, MI
    your problem is related to storage. I would guess that the program you downloaded is designed to free up memory, which is a separate issue. To free up some storage, I would suggest clearing out your caches for internet browser, market and mail. If that does not free up enough storage then you should considered uninstalling some apps.
     
  8. nodrogkam

    nodrogkam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    158
    11
    38
    Student/IT
    San Franciscio, CA
    app: cachecleaner

    It'll help a lot, but there are other things stored - esp if you use sense and HTC related items. Those you'll have to manually clear in "manage applications"
     
  9. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    Yea I'm hovering around 100 lbs and I have 20+ Alps loaded on from the market
     
  10. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
  11. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    Thank you for your response. I definitely have a problem that I can't fix! Maybe its time for a new phone and something other then a hero and something other than HTC.
     
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Sure you can fix the problem, when you rooted, you put the power in your hands. Don't give up, flash a new rom! Wipe it clean and start with something new, there's plenty of different roms out there, AOSP, sense!!:) Most important, people are here to help if you need it:D
     
  13. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    if you browse a lot of websites, the cache builds up. download cachecleaner or cachemate from the market and clean out the cache. i believe both requires root.
     
  14. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    Hi Randy,

    Well I think I lost my root access some how in all this playing. Root explorer and Titanium stopped working. So now I can add that to my list of sudden problems. I think for now I'm going to Nandroid back a month where I had almost 50MB of memory and that will fix the memory problem. I won't update any of my programs and hopefully won't start the memory parasite going again. Then I guess I will have to figure out the root process again and see where that leaves me. The mail program was/is the memory sucker so I will keep an eye on that. But for now I'm defeated with this thing. Just need to band aid it together for now 'till I have the enormous amount of time it took me to root the first time. That was a nerve racking experience for sure. But thanks to a good person from these forums I got through it. But for now all I can do is Nandroid back and hold my breath..............'

    Thanks for your help and suggestions.......

    Lisa
     
  15. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    I am following through as I alway do to thank you all for your help and tell you how I resolved the problem. I received some great advice from everyone and the last tip, which is usually my luck was the best.

    The bottom line someone questioned why I thought I lost root. I explained what was going on and the best and final suggestion was to down load the latest Superuser.apk and flash through "recovery". Yes I had to ask exactly what that meant but I followed the directions and did it. Problem solved. I had SU working on my phone for Root Explorer and Titanium Backup. Then I downloaded Cachecleaner and it worked this time perfectly and it found 25MB of junk on my phone and cleared it out. So now I'm running 40MB of internal memory with all my programs working rather snappy now. In my estimation I screwed up the SU with the memory manager that was recommended somewhere along the line. When it didn't do anything for me I uninstalled it and I think my SU went with it. But the phone is fixed and I want to thank you all for your time in responding to my problem and requests. Sometimes multiple............

    Thanks again.....

    Lisa :D
     
  16. what_stanger?

    what_stanger? Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    19
    2
    16
    56mb. -rooted with fresh 2.3.3 and a darch kernel, a few flashed mods and then apps installed
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...