1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Internal Storage Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phillydoug, Feb 11, 2014.

  1. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    I believe my storage is messed up somehow on my device. Things just aren't adding up.

    I have less than 20 apps install on my LTEVO. I have it unlocked and running MeanBean.

    On my phone my storage displays as follows:

    App Storage

    5.84GB/6.07GB
    Apps 1.72GB
    Other 4.12GB (how can I find out what this is?)
    Available 236MB

    Phone Storage
    252MB/9.93GB
    Apps 197MB
    Music 103MB
    Photos & Videos 17.24MB
    Available 9.69GB

    SD Card
    2.07GB/29.71GB
    Available 27.65GB

    When I plug my phone into my computer my storage displays as follows:

    Internal Storage
    9.68 GB free of 9.93 GB

    SD Card
    27.6 GB free of 29.7 GB

    Based on those numbers, my Internal Storage I see on my computer is the Phone Storage is see on my phone.

    What I don't understand is how I'm running out of room for App Storage. I have played around with it to figure it out and I can't. I ended up losing all of my pictures, which sucked. So, I'm looking for some help.

    How can I view what is stored in App Storage?

    Any help would be appreciated. I'm hoping this is just an educational thing for me.

    Cheers!
    Doug
     

    Advertisement

  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Depending on where your nandroid backups are being saved, it could be problematic. If you have several backups and can delete any, give that a shot and then check your storage stats again.
     
    funkylogik and phillydoug like this.
  3. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    My problem with that is I have TWRP Recovery, but it is non responsive and I can't view my backups. I tried to reinstall TWRP, but that didn't work. Any thoughts?
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    What do you mean by nonresponsive? Can you view the presence or absence of backups using Root Explorer or a similar app? Does your phone have a physical sdcard or no?
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  5. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    I can boot into recovery and it takes me to TWRP, but I'm unable to do anything from there. The Install, Wipe, Backup, Mount, etc. buttons don't do anything. Then when it's locked, I can't unlock it. At that point, I'm left to just power down my phone. Does that make sense? It's a real pain in the butt.
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Does your phone have an external sdcard slot and if so, do you have an sdcard installed?
     
  7. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    Yes sir. 32 GB.
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Ok.

    Have you formerly made nandroid backups on this device that appeared to work ok? If so, use any file explorer on your phone and navigate to to /sdcard/TWRP/BACKUPS and note the presence/absence of your backup files. Just want to make sure they're being written to the correct location...i.e. your external card and not to your internal storage.
     
  9. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    Ok I did that and I don't see any backups. Apparently the wipe feature worked on TWRP. Although it didn't display it did anything, it wiped my phone storage.
     
  10. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    Updating TWRP is not working either. Following the steps to get the most recent version, but it sill reflects the old version. My goal was to just to do a hard reset to reset all the internal storage.

    If any screenshots would be helpful, let me know. I'm not sure what other information to provide.
     
  11. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    I installed ROM Manager and it did not find any backups.
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Have you knowingly made backups in the past using TWRP though?
     
  13. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    I don't think so. I set it up over a year ago. I may have done a back up at the time but haven't messed with it since.

    So here's an update. I installed Clockwork Recovery. I did a factory reset, but my App storage still has that 4.01 GB of Other data. So I have about 1.90 GB left for storage.

    Are those normal numbers? I would think 1.9 GB for additional apps would be plenty. But I was using Textra for messaging and that thing was almost 700 MB.

    I'm just really confused about the 4.01 GB of other data. It's going to cause me to lose sleep soon!:eek:
     
  14. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    So are you saying you used CWM to do a wipe data/factory reset and then you reflashed your current rom from scratch?
     
  15. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
  16. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Very confusing. You wiped your internal storage and now you've wiped data from recovery and you still have over 4GB of used app storage? On a clean rom. Makes zero sense to me.
     
    phillydoug likes this.
  17. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Remember doing a factory reset in recovery doesnt completely wipe the phone.
    The easiest way to do that (if thats what you want) is to do a factory reset in the phone's settings :thumbup:
     
    phillydoug likes this.
  18. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    He wiped internal storage earlier tho in addition to a userdata wipe. :thinking:
     
    phillydoug and funkylogik like this.
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Sorry man i missed that.
    I dont know what "other" means on that phone. Its definately not the system?
     
  20. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    Tried it through the settings, same result. :thinking:
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Do you have Titanium backup? if you look at the bottom of its main page it tells you the size of your system partition (rom)
     
    phillydoug and iowabowtech like this.
  22. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,153
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,153
    35,766
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I still think the wayward nandroid files are a good possibility. Remember that the location of the files after 4.2 changed from /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup to /mnt/shell/emulated/clockworkmod. Take a look there.
     
    funkylogik and phillydoug like this.
  23. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    Here is a screenshot of my storage via Titanium Backup uploadfromtaptalk1392150778239.jpg
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  24. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Cool your system is just over 1.5gb so its not that.
    @lunatic shouldnt a full factory reset have wiped any nandroids on internal storage mate?
    All i can suggest now is doing a system wipe and reflashing the rom but i doubt thats gona make any difference :thinking:
     
    phillydoug likes this.
  25. phillydoug

    phillydoug Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    58
    25
    43
    IT Project Manager
    Kansas City
    Here is a screenshot of what my phone says for storage. uploadfromtaptalk1392151912507.jpg
     
    funkylogik likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...