1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Android 4.4.3 is here 6.06.401.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by clsA, Jun 20, 2014.

  1. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    658
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    658
    553
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    It's true HTC_One_-_MaximusHD_42.0.0.zip | Android 4.4.3 KitKat | Sense UI 6.0 | along with the 6.06.401.1.zip Firmware can be found here >> [ROM] MaximusHD | 42.0.0 | Android 4.4.3 KitKat | Sense UI 6.0 | Fast&Stable | Custom OTA Updates | 6.06.401.1 | Online - xda-developers

    Enjoy !!
     

    Advertisement

    TXjames and scotty85 like this.
  2. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    There is also an updated kernel from flar ElementalX 16.0 which seems to run perfectly on the new MaximusHD 42.0 - enables those wonderful wake and sleep functions.
     
    scotty85 and clsA like this.
  3. TXjames

    TXjames Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013

    Jun 14, 2013
    17
    2
    16
    clsA - is this the rom you just flashed? How are you liking it?

    As you may know, now is the time for me to get updated (based on our discussion in my bootloop thread). Android 4.1.2 is finally gone; replaced with your recommended Android 4.3 | Sense 5.5 (Revolution HD 31.6) for compatibility. But I would like to take it a step further and get to Kit Kat. And the highlights on this one look great.

    I'm thinking this sounds like a good option for me: fast, stable, good battery life! Note that I was also able to S-OFF with Rumrunner.
     
  4. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    658
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    658
    553
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    Great !!
    Yes I'm loving this Rom, Go for it !
     
  5. TXjames

    TXjames Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013

    Jun 14, 2013
    17
    2
    16
    Sorry for the newb question but what is the Firmware for?
     
  6. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    658
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    658
    553
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    Firmware is similar to drivers on a PCof. it updates the radio the touchscreen and other functions
     
    scotty85 and TXjames like this.
  7. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    ... also contains the bootloader and radio software which makes the actual hardware work. By-the-way, you don't have to flash the latest firmware but it can improve reception, Wifi strength and so on. Just make sure you select the right firmware package for your device or go SuperCID.
     
    scotty85 and TXjames like this.
  8. TXjames

    TXjames Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013

    Jun 14, 2013
    17
    2
    16
    I'm not familiar with the HTC firmware flashing process. Can either of you post a link? Updating firmware on other electronics always makes me wary because of the risk involved.

    BTW, has anyone noticed their screenshot not working with Maximus HD? Power button + volume down not doing it for me anymore. Everything else seems to be working well!
     
  9. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    Here you are [Guide] Vomer's Ultimate AIO - S-OFF, SuperCID, Firmware Upgrade & Custom Recovery - xda-developers - you will find all necessary instructions in Vomer's thread at XDA Developers website, including links to different firmwares. The most current is 6.06.401.1 which you need to flash via adb, not in your recovery.

    In the last three months I flashed different firmwares about 6 times without any incident, but make sure that on the first flash, when the flash fails (this is normal) you do not disconnect your device from the adb connection (it would definitely bnrick your phone) but you simply repeat the procedure in the exact same way and wait for the final success message. This can sometimes seem like it stopped but it will carry on and on your phone you will see a green progress bar that will show approx. 90+ % but as long as it says successful in the cmd window on your PC you can safely send the message to "fastboot reboot-bootloader" (without quotes).

    The method for screenshots you describe does not work on my One either but there are various alternatives. I use Sense 6 Toolbox with Xposed Framework, which offers various mods including "Control Mods" and the one I use for screenshots is to map the Home button with a long-press for screenshots. Works great and I also mapped the return button with a long-press for putting the phone to sleep; saves on using the power button all the time.

    A Note of caution: ALWAYS MAKE A NANDROID BACKUP IN YOUR RECOVERY BEFORE YOU MAKE ANY SIGNIFICANT CHANGES AND PUT A COPY ON YOUR PC OR, BETTER STILL, GET A CHEAP USB OTG DONGLE AND USE AN OLD USB DRIVE/STICK TO BACKUP ON THAT!!!
     
    TXjames and scotty85 like this.
  10. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    658
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    658
    553
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    it should also be noted that it's not a good idea to jump to the newest firmware from the original 4.1.2.
    I would flash it in steps
    4.1.2 - 4.3 - 4.4 - 5.0 - 6.0
    going directly from 4.1.2 -> 6.0 could have bad results
    you don't want to find you device in QHSUSB_DLOAD mode.

     
    sharksfan7, scotty85 and TXjames like this.
  11. TXjames

    TXjames Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013

    Jun 14, 2013
    17
    2
    16
    You all's knowledge and willingness to assist strangers is incredible! All your support is greatly appreciated!!! :beer:


    I've come a long way since clsA first helped me last weekend...

    Untampered, S-OFF'd, and Super CID!

    [​IMG]


    Also got my phone out of bootloop and upgraded from Android 4.1.2 to 4.4.2.


    I did screw up one thing in the installation that really bugs me... Opted to display "4G" rather than "LTE" when LTE is available. UGH! I don't suppose any of you know how to correct that without a wipe.



    Doooood! I've been looking for the Android equivalent of iPhone Activator every since switching from my iPhone 4 to HTC One! And I think you just helped me find it. Time to go research Xposed Framework...

    EDIT: Xposed says it was designed for ARHD but I'm running Maximus HD. Do you happen to be running this combo or know if it works heat57?
     
  12. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    Yes, I am running MaximusHD and Sense 6 + Xposed FW without any issues. One thing to draw oyur attention to is to be careful not to enable any mods (download, install and activate modules) that can conflict with the ones already included in your ROM, in this case MaximusHD.

    Here is an example, Maximus provides an extended Power Menu natively, i.e. the wonderful and very useful means of rebooting etc. You could download and enable a module for Xposed that does the same thing but this can cause real problems and should not be done. Other mods, particularly those in Sense 6 Toolbox are pretty safe, again, just ensure you do not duplicate the native ones of your ROM.

    For example I also use the "Interface" mods, which includes transparent status bar, centre clock and so on, things that I personally prefer to have.

    Sorry, to actually complete answering your question, yes the ARHD team developed Sense 6 Toolbox, but it does work with most sense 6 based ROMs. To revert back to displaying LTE rather than 4G you need reflash the ROM - I guess you mean the choices MaximusHD installation menu offers during install as I don't think you can do that in Sense 6 Toolbox? Anyway, if it's the former than simply 'dirty flash' the ROM again keeping to your original choices and the change for LTE instead of 4G. Make sure you wipe cache and dalvik in your custom recovery and reboot the recovery, then flash the ROM but also make sure you choose not to NOT WIPE anything during the flash. Good luck. :)
     
    TXjames and scotty85 like this.
  13. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    clsA happened to get me thinking with his referral to the unbricking thread on XDA. Not that you, TXJames, need to worry too much about the firmwares referenced at Vomer's thread as those are all for the M7_UL variants including mine the International version (Inoted from yout screen print that your AT&T is also a M7_UL). However, corrupt downloads of ROMs and firmwares can cause real havoc and to avoid this you should always check the MD5 sums for the downloads.

    Most people don't bother until they run into trouble. I use a Windows 8.1 PC and I found a very neat checksum tool that integrates into Windows explorer (most of them a free to use and download, just Google MD5 checksum).

    If you already have one and use it then forget my suggestion.
     
    TXjames and scotty85 like this.
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    amen! excellent advice... IMO double checking md5 sums is the single most important thing folks can do to avoid hard and soft bricks. its espeically important when your s off,as the phone is not protecting its important bits,and will happily flash a bad or corrupt bootloader if you tell it to.

    alot of screw ups can be fixed,but unfortunately,alot of others cannot(with normal software flashes)
     
    Hadron and TXjames like this.
  15. TXjames

    TXjames Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013

    Jun 14, 2013
    17
    2
    16
    I was wrong. :banghead: Capturing a screenshot with power + vol down does work on my installation of MHD 42.0. I just wasn't holding long enough. Seems like it used to be much quicker; almost instantaneous. Whereas now it takes about 2 full seconds and often doesn't work at all on the first try. But it does work eventually. I'll also be able to remap like you once I figure out Xposed.
     
  16. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    658
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    658
    553
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    Capturing a screenshot with power + Home works faster
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  17. TXjames

    TXjames Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013

    Jun 14, 2013
    17
    2
    16
    So are you saying it would be wise to do the following upgrade path:
    2.24.401.8 (4.2.2 Base), then 3.62.401.1 (4.3 Base), then 4.19.401.11 (4.4 Base), then 5.11.401.10 (4.4 Base ?), and finally 6.06.401.1 (4.4 Base ?)

    From Vomer's Ultimate Guide (CONDENSED):

    4.2.2 Base Firmwares:
    2.17.401.1, 2.24.401.1, 2.24.401.8 *LATEST*

    4.3 Base Firmwares:
    3.06.1700.10, 3.09.401.1, 3.17.401.2, 3.22.1540.1, 3.57.401.500, 3.62.401.1 *LATEST*

    4.4 Base
    4.06.1540.2, 4.06.1540.3, 4.19.401.8, 4.19.401.9, 4.19.401.11
    5.11.1540.9, 5.11.401.10
    6.06.401.1 *LATEST*

    And I've researched the MD5 checksum process. Excellent tip heat57!
     
  18. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    658
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    658
    553
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    Well it you were to RUU to say a 3.xx.401.x then firmware flash 4.x.401.x then 5.x.401.x then 6.x it would be a safer path.
     
    TXjames and scotty85 like this.
  19. TXjames

    TXjames Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013

    Jun 14, 2013
    17
    2
    16
    I'm really trying not to hijack this thread but I have one point of uncertainty before flashing firmwares on my device. You stated that all Vomer's links to firmwares are M7_UL compatible. However, a bunch of the links say M7C_DUG (dual SIM). i.e all 4.19.401.* zips. Are you certain it's okay to use these F/Ws on my M7_UL device? Sorry to be so timid but I don't need a brick.


    And to keep this thing on topic...

    Yes, this is one of the mods available in the MaxHD installation. After "dirty flashing" :laugh: I realized that the LTE option simply replaces 4G with LTE rather than actually detecting LTE and only displaying 4G when not available. And yes, the community where I live had 4G without LTE for about two years after AT&T upgraded from, believe it or not, Edge.

    Here's a screen cap of the MaxHD setup option I was referring to:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    Hi again. Your bootloader screen shot, if I remember correctly, clearly shows that your device is a M7_UL variant and you are on AT&T, which is basically the same as the International version and hence, you will be okay to flash firmwares for that device variant. So obviously, do not flash any firmware that is not for the M7_UL, particularly the Dual SIM variants or any other North American ones (I'm not sure about TMo).

    As far as 4G is concerned, the only difference between 4G and LTE is in its nomenclature in the two hemispheres, i.e. they simply chosen different descriptions for the 4th Generation standard. A more detailed explanation can be found here 4G vs LTE - key differences explained

    In a nutshell, the actual service you receive, in this case 4G/LTE is either available and working or not, of course all subject to a working device radio and local service. It will automatically switch to 3G and even 2G, subject to the areas you are currently roaming in. In the UK and Europe, sometimes 4G service can be even patchy in highly populous urban areas.

    Finally, If you are not familiar with the Xposed framework then make sure you open the app and update it initially. This always requires a reboot. then open Xposed app again and install and/or update any modules you have chosen and again reboot; before rebooting make sure you enable the modules which is the second choice in the main interface of Xposed. It also pays to periodically check Xposed for any updates to modules and the framework itself as there is no auto-update. And a word of caution, always take a Nandroid before enabling and updating framework and modules, just in case.
     
    TXjames likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...