1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Android Revolution HD

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chadley78, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. chadley78

    chadley78 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    44
    18
    18
    I unlocked the bootloader and rooted my phone today.
    Then installed Android Revolution ROM. So far so good.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2183023

    I got rid of the bloat-ware.
    I removed the 3 dots button at the bottom of some apps.
    And turned off the power saver notification.
    Small things but they help to make the phone feel a bit more slick, if thats possible.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Scootmien

    Scootmien Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    552
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    552
    362
    133
    Male
    South UK
    I'm interested in AR too.

    Does it have the incessant Facebook integration in the Gallery app?
     
  3. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
    Why would you remove that? Isn't that how you access the apps settings?
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    It extends one of your actual buttons for the overflow function (still called menu in Gingerbread apps) so you don't have that overflow (3 dots) button on the screen all of the time with apps that aren't updated.
     
  5. chadley78

    chadley78 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    44
    18
    18
    Yep as Early said, it makes the back button act as a menu button (touch and hold). This means apps are forced to use the full screen real estate.

    Since mu original post I've actually flashed a kernel that makes the HTC logo the menu button. Still trying to decide which option i prefer.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Holy cats! KOLIO turned me on to that thread when they were first exploring it but back then they thought that it couldn't happen.

    Logo = button sounds way cool! :)
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  7. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Waaaaaaaayyyyyyy Kewl! :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...