1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Anyone tried Illusion rom?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by funkylogik, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Doh i wanted an illusion buddy :( lol.
    Tbh i havent even tried Pie. Ive been usin the dock4droid app for bout a year now for multitasking and its like second nature now so if i understand Pie properly.. its something ill never use.
    Glad u liked the rest of it though. The rom and kernel seem to work amazingly togetha :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    I've gotten too used to the full screen mode pie gives me and I love not needing to use the hardware buttons.

    Yeah it seems amazing, the transitions are top notch aswell. Does seem like a good ROM. Definitely one for the future I think.
     
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Pie is my project for tomorrow lol to see if i like the basics :)
    Aparently Liquid is good as well as slimbean :thumbup:
     
    Yatezy likes this.
  4. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    I've taken the plunge and installed and am using illusion rom! Couldn't turn down the smoothness of it, so no more pie for me and a status bar again!
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeehaaa :beer:
    Check out the free Dock4Droid app for a much prettyer multitaskin experience and il tell u my settings :)
    Its gona take a lot to get me off this rom now. Have u tried that CrossBreeder Mod i posted about mate? Im still not convinced by it
     
  6. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    I'll have a gander at that dock4droid :thumb:

    Yeah I posted in the thread mate, worked great when I was using a touchwiz rom but seemed to delay the start of everything to then speed it up whilst on PA. Essentially giving it an effect like it was making it faster but since I was used to a smooth experience it made it slightly less smooth.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Aw aye bro soz i 4got that was u that replied :beer:
     
  8. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    aggghhhhh!! School boy error!!

    Thought I'd give illusion a try....typed it into google hit the first link that came up, didn't read anything and downloaded......

    Just tried to flash the ICS Illusion ROM for the S2 on my S3...couldn't figure out why it was failing :p

    Now downloading the correct one. Thank the little green android for Nandroid!!
     
  9. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    Can't get it to install.

    Cleared cache /factory / dalvik. Installed ROM, says it's installed, installed latest slim_gapps, but the phone just reboots into Carbon ROM, which is the old one. Tried it 3 times now.

    Might try flashing an old nandroid BUP of a TW Rom (Omega) and see if I can jump to illusion from there.


    Edit:
    Note to self; read what you are downloading. The Verizon ROM will not run on the I9300.
     
  10. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    Lol sorry to laugh as I'd hate it myself but you have just raised a giggle out if me there!

    Thank god for nandroids tho!
     
  11. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    Spent the morning with it:

    Wiped out all my carrier settings - had to manually type them in
    WhatsApp doesn't work
    Can't get photosphere to work
    Getting FC's with Google calender
    Won't sync my Facebook contacts (Tried several work arounds including hacSync)

    Upshot is, I'm going back to AOSP & Carbon. Maybe when I can give it a bit more time I'll flash it again.
     
  12. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    Worse than just carrier settings, it has wiped the contents of my EFS folder and it doesn't appear that Nandroid back ups include EFS...noooooooooo.

    So I have spent the last hour searching the interweb for an answer and the way it has recovered it is by unrooting and flashing with the original Samsung ROM from Orange via Odin - All seems to be working now.

    Am now doing a fresh flash of Carbon.

    A lesson here about backing up EFS folder separately :D
     
  13. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Oh mate lol :D sorry but gota laugh. I hate when things dont go smoothly. Think it was sumthin to do with flashin the wrong roms?
    How do u back up efs? I remember Sale's neat rom used to back it up for me
     
  14. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    Yep; got a habit of lining myself up to be laughed at lately!!

    Need to do a bit of research on backing up the EFS folder. I've never had to do it before, but I think some of the Aroma installers have it as an option. Might be worth running a back up off and storing it on the PC just in case / when I do it again.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  15. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah im gona do it too lol. I havent had a major problem in ages so its bound to happen soon. What rom have u settled on? sorry illusion didnt work out mate
     
  16. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    Gone back to carbon. It's stable and dies what I need. Not sure what Halo adds. Maybe play with it again.
     
  17. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah i had halo on for a few days and it is pretty cool but i dont have much of a use for it tbh. When i get a notification, i just open the app when i feel like it.
    What i do want is a multi-window clone. I understand why the big devs cant include it but surely someone could make it as an add-on or something..
     
  18. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    New AOKP nightly. I love how they say This is not 4.3 yet!
    Its rediculous the amount of idiots asking the big devs when theyll have a 4.3 build lol :banghead::banghead:
     
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
  20. davoid

    davoid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    1,801
    710
    223
    London
    Do you know if the stock kernel for Illusion allows access to the voodoo audio tweaks through ExTweaks?
     
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    i doubt it bro. Stweaks doesnt support it. Il give it a try though..
     
  22. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    Really starting to love this ROM.

    Got my split screen in menu and email again thanks to xposed and per app dpi. And is I've played about with it more there's just loads more options! Direct call from messages, floating widgets (really nice touch) and if I'm honest battery life that could probably match a touchwiz ROM!
     
  23. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    nah Davoid stweaks doesnt support the kernel View attachment 58858
    And siyah doesnt play nice with the rom. I miss the tweaks siyah had but theyve done a great job with this kernel. Its 1.4ghz Max but feels overclocked.
    Aye Yatesy its gona take a lot for me to use another rom now. This seems pretty perfect :)
     
    davoid likes this.
  24. davoid

    davoid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    1,801
    710
    223
    London
    Ah thanks for the clarification.

    I thought it should work though, as Illusion is CM-based. What problems does siyah cause when used with this rom?
     
  25. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    It was actually Googy Max kernal (siyah based) so you could try siyah. It just became really unstable, lots of freezes and i blamed the rom then someone told me to give the illusion kernel a chance and it works perfectly
     

Share This Page

Loading...