1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Daydream Clock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hawker, Sep 13, 2013.

  1. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I used to like the Daydream clock function of Rootbox on the S2, whereby a dim clock is shown during Daydream mode (settings>display>daydream)
    Samsung's daydream has all the other completely useless features (colours/photos) but no clock.
    Typical bloody Sammy! :(

    If you want the clock function however, then download DeskClock.apk and LockClock.apk from my DevHost site here, (taken from 4.2.2 S2 RootBox) copy to /system/app set permissions to rw-r--r-- and reboot.

    When you then go into the Daydream settings, you will get the far more useful clock option. I set this to come on when charging.

    Enjoy
     

    Advertisement

    dynomot and ironass like this.
  2. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    Cheers old boy!

    At long last, a reason to use the Daydream feature. Looks really, "Cool". Digital or analogue clocks that move about the screen with the passage of time. Dim feature, black background, ensures minimum battery usage.

    Standby though for questions on setting permissions! :listen:
     
  3. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    904
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    Your standby is over. I know how to get the tick box in Root Explorer, but for the life of me marry up the tick boxes up to what is seen. I would have thought this :



    [​IMG]


    Would give me the correct permissions, but it does not.
     
    volimte21 likes this.
  4. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    That looks ok to me mate.
     
    dynomot likes this.
  5. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    904
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    OK I know what I did. Copy file first THEN alter permissions... Doh!
     
  6. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    904
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    Thanks Hawker :) works a treat. For anyone who does not know How to alter file permissions on Root Explorer copy and paste into /system/app then select it by tapping the square at the side. Now tap the three dots bottom right and select permissions. Then use my picky above to check the correct boxes. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...