1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Does the s3 really need modded YET?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by funkylogik, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    It runs beautifuly on 4.1.2 TW.
    A Clockable kernel gives great benchmarks, i like TW, should i just return to unrooted, stock kernal and recovery?
    I have my apps/data backed up.

    Or should i go further n put a vanilla rom.
    Actualy thinkin about it, i dont really like TW lol, i have all its features frozen lol.
    Might have just answered my own Q sorry :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,071
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,071
    322
    263
    :D hi - great post ;) id say go for it! - i started off with wanamlite and am now on codec 10.1 which is a themed rom - very nice
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    So whats the cleanest and most stable nexus type rom then mate?
    Ive learned i dont need to improve performance and i dont like gimmicky s-features.... i want a nexus s3 lol :)
     
  4. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,071
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,071
    322
    263
    :-D no idea sorry as not sure what nexus looks like. I suspect that this codec one might be a bit like it. but check in the xda s3 dev section for more
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  5. andy9l

    andy9l Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    237
    41
    43
    Male
    UK
    There's not really a stable "Nexus style" (usually called 'AOSP') ROM at the moment. When I was looking into rooting, this is what I wanted originally - but I went with Wanamlite and flashed a few mods on top of it to make it look like stock Jelly Bean (aka. AOSP). That was all courtesy of SUroot's & Shotgun's help in this thread.

    Although I have some TouchWiz features, I don't have any Samsung bloatware running. No S-Voice or any of that useless stuff. TouchWiz camera and TouchWiz multi-tasking is pretty much all I notice. The rest is "Nexus style" AOSP. Here's some screenshots, and links to the mods, of my setup (click on the show button): http://androidforums.com/5380681-post116.html

    I've been told that CM10.1 is a reasonable ROM - but it's not "stable", as classified by the developers. It's being developed fast though. You'd want to use the top one on this page, if you wanted to try it: CyanogenMod Downloads
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    thanks mate. yeah ive got all the tv commercial features uninstalled lol.
    ill wait for a stable AOSP rom :)
    cheers :beer:
     
  7. andy9l

    andy9l Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    237
    41
    43
    Male
    UK
    No probs mate. Let us know when/if you find one. I'd be interested in trying it, especially JB 4.2+ ;)
     
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    im sure one of you will find it 1st and il be on here needin baby-steps how to do it lol.

    for now.. ive accepted the s3 is still a monster phone n im runnin it at 1.5ghz (quad) quite hapily :)
    the future comes fast these days though lol.
    how long u think itl be before theres a phone app the s3 cant run?? :)
     
  9. andy9l

    andy9l Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    237
    41
    43
    Male
    UK
    I'd imagine it'll be a long time. Perhaps some cutting-edge games might lag a little in a year or two, but for most regular "apps" (Twitter, Facebook and the likes), I can't imagine the S3 struggling until it gets left behind in a few years due to hardware/software advancement. That's the way it goes, phones, computers, tablets - all the same.

    I'm not massively knowledgeable about phone hardware and where bottlenecks might be apparent - but I'd imagine the 1GB RAM the original i9300 has (mine and yours) will begin to bottleneck the phone's performance before the processor. If true, that should only effect very large applications (or heavy multi-tasking). Be interesting to see if anyone else agrees/disagrees?

    Either way, it's going to last you until you buy your next phone...and then some. You may think this is the best phone ever, but when the next generation of high-end smartphones come around, you're going to want more! ;)

    I bought my S3 with the intention of waiting for the iPhone 5S/6 in 12 months from when I bought the S3. However, unless iOS changes dramatically, I think I'm hooked on Android - courtesy of SUroot on this forum.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  10. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    lol always wonder if its gona be core-count or ram that holds the phone back 1st.
    im not a gamer anyway :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...