1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] ECHOE Rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sydney99, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK

    Advertisement

  2. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Once more unto the breach old chap!
     
  3. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    yes im on echoe rom, very good dev

    currently the newest version (MJ5) is still uploading so it may be advisable to wait a few hours.

    Overall impressions with the rom are very good, very fast, very smooth. just make sure you flash the seperate mj5 modem so as to avoid the loss of data connection
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  4. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I would definitely hang fire.
    Currently this is built with KT kernel, in which SELinux is set to Enforcing and has bugs like no air wave control.

    A a new stock kernel has now emergeed, and it seems that this will be built in with the ROM today....
     
    iT0mm0 and Sydney99 like this.
  5. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #127
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    I tried it a while back(it's the one with pink Floyd start up music?) And it was really buggy for me, but the updated version might be a lot better :)
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  6. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    The first thing that strikes me about the Echoe ROM is that judging from the video in post #1, here, boot time is 2.58" which is actually 11 seconds longer than ABBA's Eurovision hit, "Waterloo". :thrasher:
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  7. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    I had noticed this, not a great advert! I was hoping, perhaps naively, that the new version would be better.
     
  8. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I noticed that. I'm wondering if it's a first boot after build? Perhaps its the only time the full boot sequence can be "enjoyed"

    Would be interesting to hear off anyone that's actually using it.
     
  9. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    I hope you're right old boy!

    I was rather hoping for a boot time that matched the record your missus told me you play during sex... here. ;)
     
  10. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #127
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    When I was using it, you got the full song on first boot, or any other time things were updating on boot....after that, it only played the song until it completely booted so around 30 seconds of it :)
     
  11. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    on 4.3 you get no Pink flloyd tracks but im sure if you asked someone would make it for you
     
  12. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    And how is the boot-up time compared to the video?
     
  13. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    boot up time is normal, in fact ill time it now for you

    51 seconds till fully operational
     
    ironass, Hawker and Sydney99 like this.
  14. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    Right, iT0mm0 or Syd... as I am going to be disappearing up my own exhaust pipe this weekend and don't have time to read all the Echoe ROM thread, here are some questions...


    1. Is a Knox counter shown at all in Download mode? (Shouldn't be, just checking).

    2. Can you use PhilZ recovery on it?

    3. Can I use 3Minit framework on it as it is deodexed? (Should one come out).

    4. Can I just flash this over MGA/MH1 with no wipe?

    5. Is the Notification bar really transparent? (Not just translucent).

    6. Any mods for a centred clock? (In the absence of 3Minit framework)

    7. Will I be able to go back to MGA/MH1 nandroid with no ill effects?

    8. Will you update this thread when the SuperSlim version is released?

    9. Anything not working on this ROM?


    That's it for now. Marks will be given for promptness, fullness of replies, penmanship and spelling. ;)
     
  15. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    1. no
    2. yes
    3. not yet
    4. dalvik, cache and system need doing
    5 yes
    6. i dont know, never tried
    7. yes
    8. yes (awaiting that version myself)
    9. just a couple of airwave gestures

    HTH, have fun on your weekend jollies
     
    ironass and Hawker like this.
  16. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    Cheers iT0mm0! :thumbup:

    8/10 (Centered clock would have got you another mark. ;))

    Lets see what Syd has to say... eventually! :bebored:



    UPDATE

    iT0mm0 fibbed on question 9... see, here

    One mark deducted. ;)
     
  17. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    My only addition is that although no 3 mint, you can flash exposed framework and then use wanam exposed app to get almost identical features to 3minit. And that includes a central clock!
     
    ironass and iT0mm0 like this.
  18. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    Wow syd that wanam thing is brilliant :D

    its just like rom control off of AOSP, im having lots of fun with it :)
     
  19. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Will start a new post on it later today. Everyone raves about 3minit. I think this is perhaps even better!!
     
    ironass likes this.
  20. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    5/10 :)

    Despite a late start, Syd is starting to gain ground. :ridinghorse:

    Still no SuperSlim 4.3 version loaded yet, I see!

    Will you and iT0mm0 both be going for that when it's released?
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  21. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Yup, gonna go slim. Should be out v soon as dev was uploading this am
     
    ironass likes this.
  22. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    not sure, i got my phone set up just how i like it and more now thanks to Syd

    [​IMG]
     
    ironass likes this.
  23. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    ironass likes this.
  24. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
  25. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Grrrrr, can't get slim download link to work
     

Share This Page

Loading...