1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] ECHOE Rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sydney99, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,675
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,675
    5,877
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Echoe ROM, KitKat, v2.2, Android 4.4.2, is up! :)


    "- Release: 03 JAN 2014
    - UPDATED TO LATEST KT-SGS4-KK4.4-TWGE-INTL-01.01.2014 KERNEL (Should fix Random Reboots for EVERYONE now!!)
    - UPDATED GRAVITY BOX TO ITS LATEST VERSION (Screen Recording is one of the BEST FEATURES I have ever used!!)
    - UPDATED ADBLOCKING HOSTS
    - DEDICATED TO OUR SOLDIER: THE AMAZING @Mr.Yawnie
    - NOTE: DO NOT WIPE DATA AFTER INSTALLATION AS MANY OF THE APPS ARE INSTALLED AS DATA APPS AND THEY WILL GET ERASED!!
    "


    Download

    Source
     

    Advertisement

    Sydney99 likes this.
  2. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,675
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,675
    5,877
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    UPDATE

    Loving this latest release of KitKat v2.2, Android 4.4.2. The ktoonsez kernel is certainly an improvement and gave me an overnight battery drain of just 0.02% per hour with just Sound OFF. This puts it on a par, for me, with DjeMBeY 4.3 ROMs and the talexop kernel.

    With the possibility of a delay in the Samsung KitKat coming to the S4, as there have been 2 updates to the original Android 4.4 release, this ROM gives a taste of things to come. Obviously, being a pure-ish Android release, it does not contain any of the Samsung add-ons which some may miss.

    I would recommend installing the Nexus 5, Focal, camera mod from the Echoe Kitchen as this is, IMHO, superior to the stock KitKat camera. Also, in Xposed framework, download the Phone2SD and the updated version of GravityBox. The first allows photos/videos to be saved to your external SD card and the latter has been improved greatly, allowing all sorts of useful mods and tweaks.

    As I said before, this is a pure-ish Android release and there may be some features from the Samsung ROMs that you miss... in my case, the only one is S-Planner, and you may need to adapt, depending on how many Samsung features you use.

    Bottom line, IMHO, this ROM has come on in leaps and bounds in the last month and by-and-large, my initial gripes about it have been addressed.

    If you are considering trying KitKat you must do a Factory Data Reset and do not install your settings from a previous backup... this is a new platform! ;)

    (Oh! and read the developers forum, here)
     
    friedrich420 likes this.
  3. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Any apps not working with kit Kat?
     
  4. friedrich420

    friedrich420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    9
    11
    8
    Male
    Just wanted to say hi :)
    I love this forum- and i just decided to join!!

    Thanks for bringing Echoe over here!! I enjoyed reading this thread!! I love that the Echoe AWESOME energy spills all over the place!! :)
     
    iT0mm0, sntaylor, ironass and 2 others like this.
  5. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Huge welcome to you on here Friedrich!
    Thank you for all your hard work and efforts and congratulations on your ever-expanding echonian community!

    Stick around here mate.
    :)
     
  6. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Hi Friedrich. Great to see you here....

    None of the whinging and bickering on here that you see on xda!!
     
  7. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Another question ironass, is there the option in gravity box to bypass outlook exchange security.

    I need this on any rom I install

    If the answer is yes then kit Kat Echoe is going on my phone, if not gonna have to wait......
     
  8. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,675
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,675
    5,877
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    All the apps I use are KitKat compatible... now. I'm sure that everyone has noticed the surge of updates in the last few weeks from the Play Store as developers rush to bring their apps into line with KitKat.

    Here are a few that might not be for you, Syd...

    Ferret Bites, Pigeon Racer, Flat Cap, Clog Dancer, Lancashire Beauty Spots, Yorkshire Gift Guide and How to Buy a Round of Drinks. ;)

    Trust you Syd to ask a difficult question after the dev has gone. The honest answer is... b*ggered if I know! There's a module in Xposed called, "Bypass Exchange Security for AOSP based ROMS", if that helps.


    Hello and welcome to Android Forums friedrich420! :)

    Thanks for taking the time and trouble to visit our corner of the world. This is where us ordinary users of Echoe ROM hang out... far from the shark infested waters of xda developers forum.

    We tend to be a bit more laid back and less demanding here but nonetheless, we know what we like.

    I meant what I said in my previous post. Normally, you would have to drag me, kicking and screaming, away from a Sammy ROM but after an initial bumpy start with Echoe KitKat v1 I have been impressed with it to the point that I have had this as my daily ROM for 3 weeks over Christmas and New Year.

    If you can find the odd quiet moment to come on here and make a post, I'm sure it would be appreciated. :thumbup:
     
  9. friedrich420

    friedrich420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    9
    11
    8
    Male
    Thank you!! :) haha i nticed that!! ;)
    Thank you my man!!

    I loved reading your reviews/ feedback/ suggestions!! Very professional my man !! :)
     
  10. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Ok, idiot question alert......is this an Aosp based rom then??
     
  11. friedrich420

    friedrich420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    9
    11
    8
    Male
    I think that would be the best category to put it under...
     
    dramed, Sydney99 and ironass like this.
  12. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,675
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,675
    5,877
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Honestly... bugled if I know Syd! :dontknow:

    I did discover another module in Xposed. Called, "Exchange Security Bypass", that claims to work on AOSPish and stock ROMs. :)


    EDIT Ninja'd by friedrich420 :thumb:
     
    friedrich420, dramed and Sydney99 like this.
  13. friedrich420

    friedrich420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    9
    11
    8
    Male
    I think im gonna have the record for OT posts but looool :D my man!! :D
     
  14. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,675
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,675
    5,877
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    You post as much as you like friedrich! It's always good to have a ROM developer on the forum. :)

    Whilst I have your attention can I state that, IMHO, a good ROM should be like a good meal in that the cook prepares the meal and allows the diners to add the seasonings to their own taste. By that I mean, would it be possible to issue the ROM as almost stock, unseasoned, without the on-screen Nav bars, fancy background and dare I say it, the Echoe boot animation, no disrespect, so that users can then choose to add these mods to their own taste rather than removing one-by-one every time there is a ROM update.

    I am sure you may have been asked this in the past and there are probably pro's and con's either way but I feel sure that from comments made by my colleagues on here and other threads, that adding is preferred to subtracting.

    I'm not really expecting an answer from you old boy... just speaking on behalf of some of the forum members and asking that you may bear this in mind when cooking your next ROM. ;)
     
    dramed likes this.
  15. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro
    Humm what too do stay on DjeMBey or Flash Echoe
     
  16. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I too would like to see an Echoe "stock" rom (both in TW and GE form), and have the mods of my choice to subsequently flash at leisure. As good as Echoe is "out of the box", unfortunately it's not to everyone's taste as there are droves of us out there who prefer the stock look and feel. This is a pity as this is ostracizing many users from a very very good rom.

    Coming from an S2, a hugely popular ROM in the S2 community when I was there was Sasa's Neat ROM. He took the stock approach, releasing a basic deodexed "stock" Neat ROM, and had individual mods to flash for whoever wanted them.

    I fully understand the "all-in" approach however, as this makes it easier for the dev's to limit problems out in the real world, compared to a "stock" rom with mods added at the user's taste, as the combinations that each particular end user with a problem may have when taking the latter approach can be endless.

    There are many of us who would love to see "stock" Echoe TW+GE ROMs so please have a little think about the possibility of this Friedrich.

    Either way Friedrich, you really are doing a brilliant job with all your ROMs and Echoe is certainly making a huge impact on the S4 community. Keep up your good work mate, and hopefully for all of us, long may it continue.
     
    friedrich420 likes this.
  17. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    So far so good..... and the outlook exchange security bypass from the xposed framework works
     
  18. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Oh man, think I'm going to have to try out the ge Rom after all, I'm currently on cm11 and do love it, however, I've not quite found out yet how to get the toggle panel to come down everything you swipe, unless there are notifications available? I had this previously on a cm10.2 Rom, but am unsure of the mod required...... Will this be something that would work with echoe?
     
  19. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Can't get ad away to work....

    Edit. Yes I can, being thick as usual!
     
  20. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,675
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,675
    5,877
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Affirmative.

    GravityBox > Statusbar tweaks > QuickSettings management > Auto-switch QuickSettings
     
    sntaylor likes this.
  21. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    If there are notifications you will see these in the drop down and will then need to press the toggle grid icon top right, but regardless of the number of notifications, if you do a 2-fingered drop down you will always get the quick toggles
     
    sntaylor likes this.
  22. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    All looking good still.....

    My only gripe so far is that the settings options seem really stripped back. Cannot find anywhere to change font our switch off the soft key backlight
     
  23. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Perfect thanks guys, dunno how I managed to miss this....oh yeah I do, there are that many options :p

    Syd, I had to use gravity box, display, backlight to remove the backlight keys, actually I did it through wanam, but both have the option :)

    Fonts though I think you just need to use a separate app
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  24. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Ok, the moral if the story, believe uncle ironass when he says to try something, this kit Kat version is indeed very good......
     
  25. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,675
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,675
    5,877
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    [​IMG]

    ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...