1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] ECHOE Rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sydney99, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. friedrich420

    friedrich420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    9
    11
    8
    Male


    Thats still the case... whats offered in the zip u dl contains neither knox or bootloader... :)

    Im clear on everything I believe
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
  3. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,585
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,585
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Point taken friedrich and I totally agree that the Echoe ROM itself is Knox and bootloader free but by your own admission you need to flash the stock firmware with locked bootloader and Knox security to enable full functionality of the ROM... Wi-Fi, for instance. I was just pointing out that people needed to read that before progressing if they require a fully functioning ROM.

    I suppose the $64,000 question everyone is asking is... what are the chances of the above ROM without the need to flash the stock firmware first?
     
    friedrich420 likes this.
  4. friedrich420

    friedrich420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    9
    11
    8
    Male
    Its all up to a kernel with 4.4 sources my friend... it shouldnt be long... wuby (from our team) got an older kt kernel to boot yesterday... no wifi but just booting was a huge step. He was going to let ktoonsez know... hopefilly he'll do his magic...

    About that knox thing its indeed a catch22... like with the note3.. my rom doesnt have knox but in order to use it u need custom recovery.. flashing custom recovery on a note3 automatically raises ur knox...

    The 4.4.2 leak for the N3 just came out.. we'll see how much more different it is compared to the bullshit samsung pulls with the s4..
     
    ironass likes this.
  5. kingink65

    kingink65 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    25
    1
    36
    Lancs, UK
    Wonder if anyone can help. Since I started using Echoe Rom 4.4.2 I cant charge my phone with the phone switched off. If I switch it off it switches itself back on. Does anyone know a way round this?
     
  6. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,585
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,585
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Yes, you're right kingink65! Same for me on the Echoe GE, 4.4.2, KitKat ROM. Hadn't noticed it before as I never turn my blooming phone off.. just the sound. I can't say if this is a, "feature", of stock Google Edition firmware or not.
     
  7. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Same here for me.

    This may present somewhat of a conundrum to our philandering ferrite posterior when he has his little strumpet on the side stay the night, and his phone is down to 1% charge due to his day's incessant browsing of "biology films".
     
  8. kingink65

    kingink65 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    25
    1
    36
    Lancs, UK
    Just tried my gf's Nexus 7 4.4.2 and it lets me charge it switched off :thinking:
     
  9. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Charging when phone off only works if on the new bootloader, which I suspect kingink65 is still on (I certainly know the old cheeseroller is) as am I.

    The first of many more little quirks that will no doubt appear as long as we stay on it.
     
    kingink65 and ironass like this.
  10. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    For those of you on the old boot loader wanting to try echoe kk, then wifi is now working, by flashing anthrax kernel, and if it's taking a while to connect then you can flash GE wifi files.

    Full details are on the echoe xda thread.
     
    Sydney99 and ironass like this.
  11. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,585
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,585
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Forgive me old bean, only on first coffee. :coffee:

    When you say the Echoe KitKat ROM, do you mean the ones based on the leaked Samsung KitKat firmware, NA1 and/or NA5?

    Also, have you got a link to the anthrax kernel and does this mean that you don't need to flash the stock Samsung KitKat leaked firmware, with Knox and locked bootloader, first?

    No hurry for a reply... just going for a shower. :bath:


    Need more coffee and an aspirin sandwich.
     
  12. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK


    Pardon me while I find my spoon....
    [​IMG]

    :aetsch:



    Anthrax kernel post
    I'm not 100% sure if its for NA1 only, but as Friedrich has said this:
    Anthrax kernel + Echoe v14= WIFI no matter what bootloader you are!!! this would suggest it works on NA5 also.
    However, it appears the XDA thread for it is closed for some reason

    Post for if wifi takes long to connect

    Friedrich's post on the matter
     
    sntaylor and Shotgun84 like this.
  13. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,585
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,585
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    God! It's liking pulling teeth with Hawker!

    Thanks for the, (limited), info, (eventually).

    So, It's for either the Echoe NA1 or NA5 ROM, based on the Samsung leaks. Full wipe and flash and then flash the anthrax/test1 kernel and Wi-Fi fix. No need for flashing the stock NA1/NA5 firmware first?

    I wonder why the anthrax thread has been closed on xda???

    I might leave this until later after you kamikaze cannon fodder lemming keen types have tried it.

    Meanwhile, I've got a badger to find, whose nether regions I appear to have been licking! Flood damage sale at the pub last night...
     
  14. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I'm sure she wasn't that bad old boy, but in future, please keep your extra curricular antics to the confides of your bedroom.
     
  15. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    ironass and Hawker like this.
  16. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    ironass likes this.
  17. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,585
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,585
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    After reading Hawker's and Syd's posts on the Echoe ROM xda thread, here onwards, and friedrich's replies, I'm even more confused than when I started. Am I right about my earlier post guys? :thinking:

    Sorry, only firing on 2 out of 6 cylinders.
     
  18. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    That's what it looks like uncle rusty bum. Just need to test it!!
     
    ironass likes this.
  19. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    sntaylor likes this.
  20. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    But why? Lol
     
  21. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,267
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,267
    4,197
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Kind of wish I'd held fire with this one. Just to name a few of the problems, the phone seems to have to boot twice as once it's booted it'll go back to the echo splash screen after a few seconds and boot again. Settings force close whenever I try to open the security settings. This means I can't allow apps from unknown sources which means I can't install the hacked flash player. Whenever I try to uninstall an app using the application manager my phone ends up at the echo splash screen. I've had numerous random full reboots and other random returns to the echo screen. Battery seems a bit pants and changing the battery symbol in echo settings didn't do anything other than make my phone reboot.
     
    Sydney99, ironass and Hawker like this.
  22. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    All posts and links to anthrax kernel now removed, and any further discussion banned!

    Glad I downloaded already!!
     
    ironass likes this.
  23. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,585
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,585
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Cheers Shotty old thing!

    Just woken up from my extended afternoon nap to see that you've given it a go. Left my computer downloading Echoe v14, NA5. However, since you have taken on the mantle of chief lemming kamikaze cannon fodder test pilot, from Syd and sntaylor, I shall take heed of your report and stay on the Echoe GE, v2.2, ROM which has, since flashing the latest ktoonsez kernel, been behaving itself very well.

    This now means that you've saved me lots of time and trouble... so, pub! :D

    Are you going to go for it Syd?
     
  24. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Not tonight, it's Sunday night, and quite frankly, can't be arsed! There's plenty of logs on the fire, and the sofa is far too inviting.

    But am defo gonna give it a go with djembey rom in the next day or two, just for shits and kicks!
     
  25. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,585
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,585
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Just as well that you've got the, "Kernel that shall not be named", as I've just noticed that poor old Hawker has got a bollocking on the DjeMBey, xda, forum, here. A bit harsh I think. He meant well. Bless!
     

Share This Page

Loading...