1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] ECHOE Rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sydney99, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Do you think we will get a work around for a fully Working sammy rom? Or will we, with the old bootloader be stuck with aosp based roms/ jelly bean?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    There will probably be a hack once kernel sources are released, but I'll be upgrading to the new boot loader within the not to distant future. I don't see too much reason to stick to the old one. So what if you trip the Knox flag? Has anyone read any posts up to now where Samsung refuses a warranty issue due to a tripped Knox flag? So what if you can't downgrade? I've never done so in 3 years.

    And I want the latest 4g modem, and not be forced to stick with mh1. No doubt as more updates roll out, more and more features will benefit from the having the latest boot loader and 4g modem installed.

    Knox has been scaremongered up to the hilt. I'll soon dive in and see what occurs.
     
    ironass and sntaylor like this.
  3. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Personally i like the idea that I'm able to downgrade, but you are right enough that I've not done it often!

    I thought you could upgrade modems fine without the new bootloader, but then i don't have 4g included in my contract, and my two years will probably be finished in the s8 before i get 4g in my area!

    I am currently more wary of any new issues that could arise in time with a blown Knox counter. But time will tell, certainly i doubt I'll ever need to use knox security anyway!
     
  4. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    There are 2 modems. A 3g one which is the one you will already be familiar with, which also controls your standard radio signal, and a 4g (LTE) modem otherwise known as non-hlos.bin. you cannot upgrade to the latest of these when still on the old boot loader.

    One current problem with the old bootloaders that had emerged are on he 4.4 ROMs, where you cannot charge the phone whilst it is switched off. Power will always be restored and it will boot up. This quirk may well be the first of many that old bootloaders working on 4.4+ ROMs will encounter
     
    sntaylor likes this.
  5. simes6600

    simes6600 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    249
    66
    53
    Northern Ireland
    im using Goldeneye 4.4.2 NB8 (sammy rom), knox free, rom has no bootloader.

    |ROM| |★GOLDENEYE★| |I9505|►XXUFNB8◄|4.4.2|KITKAT| |4.3|JB| |►22R2◄|Feb.28.14 - xda-developers

    been using it for a couple of days on my old bootloader S4, smooth as silk, but only real difference in everyday use (as opposed to 4.3) is a few added menu options for default apps, and the location settings have been improved. oh, and the status bar icons are white...

    and im using it with my old 4.3 MKF modem without a hitch.
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  6. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Can't remember if its an option under settings or in gravity box, but can anyone point me in the direction of how to get rid of the annoying notification keyboard that pops up every time you type......Can't remember where to find it and just cannot find the setting anywhere......
     
  7. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,647
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,647
    5,849
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Never bothered me personally, Syd. Have you tried...

    GravityBox > Statusbar tweaks > Ongoing notification blocker.
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  8. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Thanks old boy, had looked in there several times, missed it because it's described as "android system". Doh.

    I'm easily annoyed....
     
  9. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    Sydney99 and ironass like this.
  10. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    I saw last night v6 has come out with a few items modded, anyone tried it out yet?
     
  11. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    nah, been put off ECHO by previous dev theming all over the shop...

    maybe shouldnt be so narrow minded!
     
    sntaylor likes this.
  12. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    This Rom(gpe at least) is no longer being supported....think he has been getting poo off others including developers which ain't good, might not be my current choice of Rom, but never good to lose a developer! :-(

    Thanks for the hard work you have previously put in :)
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  13. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    719
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Well we have an unofficial release of tw 5.0.1 rom in v41. So far id have to say I prefer the layout visually of the tw lollipop over gpe version. It's probably not quite as stable yet, but I'm going to give it a day or two ☺
     
    Sydney99 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...