1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Galaxy S3 Android Firmware Update?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PyromaniaK, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Hi i have recently purchased a Samsung Galaxy S3 from China and now wish to use the phone in Australia however i need to update the firmware to Australian to remove all Chinese etc.

    I have tried using oDin3 v3.04 but every time i get a failed upload. Phone it not able to start now and does not connect via Kies? Is anyone able to provide me with the correct firmware and process etc.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    This is the guide you follow if it is a GT-i9300

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1671969

    Read and follow the "Flashing Firmware with Odin" section.

    You get official roms from here:

    SamMobile Firmware Page

    Half way down are a series of drop downs. Select the OS and model etc.. Then pick your country to get the firmware and press "send"

    Looks like "Austalia - XSA" may be the unbranded one (the other is Optus or something)
     
  3. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Ok i followed the steps above and i got the following info;

    <ID:0/003> Added!!
    <OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
    <OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <OSM> Please wait..
    <OSM> I9300XXDLK1_I9300OPSDLL1_I9300XXDLID_HOME.tar.md5 is valid.
    <OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    <OSM> Leave CS..
    <ID:0/003> Odin v.3 engine (ID:3)..
    <ID:0/003> File analysis..
    <ID:0/003> SetupConnection..
    <ID:0/003> Initialzation..
    <ID:0/003> Get PIT for mapping..
    <ID:0/003> Firmware update start..
    <ID:0/003> boot.img
    <ID:0/003> NAND Write Start!!
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> cache.img
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> hidden.img
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> modem.bin
    <ID:0/003> Transmission Complete..
    <ID:0/003> Now Writing.. Please wait about 2 minutes
    <ID:0/003>
    <ID:0/003> Receive Response from boot-loader
    <ID:0/003> Complete(Write) operation failed.
    <ID:0/003> Added!!
    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

    Phone doesnt appear to be starting now. :(

    I am going to try another fireware version too see if that works, does anyone have any other options?

    Thanks.
     
  4. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Ok tried another one got the same thing...

    <OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
    <OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <OSM> Please wait..
    <OSM> I9300XXELLA_I9300XSAELL1_I9300XXELLA_HOME.tar.md5 is valid.
    <OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    <OSM> Leave CS..
    <ID:0/003> Odin v.3 engine (ID:3)..
    <ID:0/003> File analysis..
    <ID:0/003> SetupConnection..
    <ID:0/003> Initialzation..
    <ID:0/003> Get PIT for mapping..
    <ID:0/003> Firmware update start..
    <ID:0/003> system.img
    <ID:0/003> NAND Write Start!!
    <ID:0/003> boot.img
    <ID:0/003> cache.img
    <ID:0/003> hidden.img
    <ID:0/003> recovery.img
    <ID:0/003> modem.bin
    <ID:0/003>
    <ID:0/003> Complete(Write) operation failed.
    <ID:0/003> Added!!
    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

    ok tried again with no luck...

    <ID:0/003> Added!!
    <OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
    <OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <OSM> Please wait..
    <OSM> I9300XXELLA_I9300XSAELL1_I9300XXELLA_HOME.tar.md5 is valid.
    <OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    <OSM> Leave CS..
    <ID:0/003> Odin v.3 engine (ID:3)..
    <ID:0/003> File analysis..
    <ID:0/003> SetupConnection..
    <ID:0/003> Initialzation..
    <ID:0/003> Get PIT for mapping..
    <ID:0/003> Firmware update start..
    <ID:0/003> system.img
    <ID:0/003> NAND Write Start!!
    <ID:0/003> boot.img
    <ID:0/003> cache.img
    <ID:0/003> hidden.img
    <ID:0/003> recovery.img
    <ID:0/003> modem.bin
    <ID:0/003>
    <ID:0/003> Complete(Write) operation failed.
    <ID:0/003> Added!!
    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

    seems like everytime i get to the modem part it crashes... :(
     
  5. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Ok i have tried 4 versions now and none of them seem to work...

    4.1.4 and 4.0.4 both Australia - AXA and Australia (Optus) still no luck and now my phone wont work at all :(
     
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Have you tried a different usb lead/ port. Also try uninstalling kies (it won't uninstall the drivers) to ensure that no processes are running in the background
     
  7. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    I shall try and uninstall Kies, i am currently using a Samsung USB cord will uninstall first then try a new cable.

    Thanks.
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    ...and to confirm it is definitely a GT-i9300?
     
  9. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Yeah i am fairly certain it is a GT-i9300
     
  10. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Yeah done all of that above and still no luck, maybe i bought a dud phone?
    It wont boot up now either said i need to recover some files or something via kies but i could never get the phone to connected to kies in the first place.
     
  11. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Will it flash a Chinese firmware? Some devices with Chinese firmware can be hard to flash so if it flashes Chinese the problems probably in the original firmware.
     
  12. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Ill try that now, if it does flash the Chinese firmware what can i do? also; if it doesn't what then?
     
  13. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    OK i can confirm that when i flashed it with the Chinese firmware it worked however it stalled on restart and wont boot up.
     
  14. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Ok its working again now I reflashed theChinese firmware and it works now but I have no access to data any ideas why?
     
  15. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Are you access point names correct in settings, more settings, mobile networks, access point names?

    Since it won't let you flash stock firmware from a different country I'd try rooting and flashing a custom Rom.
     
  16. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    Before changing OS you need to be certain what model not fairly certain.
    Check under the battery to be sure for the Model number.
     
  17. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Yeah i have confirmed that GT-i9300
     
  18. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Is there a guide around that i can follow that will help with the process involed?

    Thanks.
     
  19. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Could you let me know which firmware you flashed to get your phone up and running again please. The rooting procedure will depend on whether it was jellybean or ice cream sandwich. So could you go to setting about device and post back what it says in build number please.
     
  20. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Build Number: JRO03C.I9300ZCDLL1
    Android Version: 4.1.1
    Kernal Version: 3.0.31 - 457037
     
  21. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    There's a guide to rooting here
    AndroidNZ: [At Your Own Risk] How to Root your INTERNATIONAL Samsung Galaxy S III, and how to return it to stock if necessary! [Updated 08/06/2012 with new, easier Root method!]

    The cfroot kernel can be a bit hit and miss with jb so I'd flash the .tar version of this kernel instead following the instructions above
    SiyahKernel s3-v1.8.9 | SiyahKernel

    You'll then need to flash a custom recovery I'd recommend philz. You'll need the Odin version, just flash the same as you did the kernel
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2002953
     
  22. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Ok i have done the kernal and have updated a the recovery, what is next?
     
  23. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    First thing to do is make your backups. So download titanium backup or another app backup app and backup your apps Then boot into recovery mode ( volume up, power and home) and scroll to backup and restore and make a nandroid backup. There is also an option to backup your efs in recovery so do that. You'll now be ready to flash a Rom. I'd recommend going for the full version of neatrom ( post #2) as it's very close to stock so it'll be a good starting place
    http://androidforums.com/international-galaxy-s3-all-things-root/671882-s3-neatrom.html
    Follow the full wipe installation instructions in post #4
     
  24. PyromaniaK

    PyromaniaK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Where abouts do i save the file, it says Internal SDCard however i don't have one of those, do i need to get one?
     
  25. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Internal sd just means your phone's internal memory.
     

Share This Page

Loading...