1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[International / GSM] ***Brand new and needing help!!!*** Waffles anyone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pngwolffman, May 3, 2012.

  1. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    So I bought an unlocked Galaxy Nexus off the Google Play Store and should be here tomorrow. I also bought a T-Mobile sim card that should be arriving about the same time. So I'm excited to be part of this community!

    I have a few questions. Also all tips you can give me would be appreciated. Like is the T-mobile $30/month for 100min/5gb data a good plan? Is there anything I have to watch out for when I activate my plan? Is there a better plan out there somewhere? What's the best carriers for my new GSM phone?

    Also what's the best ROM and Kernel? Other optimization tips I may be interested in? I used CM9 on my old Moto Triumph so a CM9 ROM is preferable.

    I read somewhere that if I turn on wifi-tethering, T-Mobile will know it and will charge me more. Is that true? Or is that only on the phones that they specifically issue?

    Anyway, as I said before I'm excited to be a part of this community and am looking forward to corresponding more with you guys.

    Also. I still have my Virgin Mobile USA Triumph with the $25/month plan. I'm not sure what I'm gonna do with it, maybe sell it... If anyone here is interested maybe. I may keep it as a backup or as a home phone (on wifi):).

    Well, cheers.
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheOozyman

    TheOozyman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    84
    14
    18
    Male
    HAHAHHA WOW! I got the same exact phone and plan as you, coming from the same exact phone and plan as you :D.

    When I first got my Gnex I activated and everything - easy. After I was activated I noticed that I for some reason was only getting GPRS and EDGE connections which really scared me. I thought I dropped $475 on a phone that couldn't even achieve 3G connection. Getting to the point - I flashed a radio on my Gnex and found that the SC04DOMLA1 radio/baseband works the best for me I now get HSPA+ connections.

    This thread should help you with that: [Radio] (GSM) Galaxy Nexus I9250 Baseband dumps collection & discussion

    I live in Texas, USA so you if you do too, you might wanna try out the SC04DOMLA1 radio because it works great for me.

    Good luck, and if you need anymore help with Radios - dont hesitate to drop me a PM
     
    pngwolffman likes this.
  3. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    Wow! That was such an easy setup. I'm already up and running. I didn't need to root and mess with my radio to be getting good 4G speeds. I'll probably root and install a custom ROM later though.
     
  4. TheOozyman

    TheOozyman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    84
    14
    18
    Male
    I ran stock for a while but I mainly wanted a customizable lockscreen so I first tried Liquidsmooth ROM - which is great but it didn't have the translucent ICS style google search widget and just the really ugly grey one. So I flashed Black Ice Kangorade and I love it - plus it has a really nice black theme and the Gnex really shows a beautiful black
     
    pngwolffman likes this.
  5. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    If I use the wireless tether in the menu to connect my tablet or my old phone to it will t-mobile know it and charge me more? Or since this phone has nothing to do with T-Mo will they not even know? I don't want to accidentally get charged more... Also is there a good CM9 ROM out there? Also is Codename Android on the Nexus?
     
  6. nicolevb

    nicolevb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2012

    May 5, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Ok guys not sure if im in the right place but all i know is... I need help.
    Got a brand new Nexus today and tried to connect it to my homehub wifi but it just keeps saying authentication problem.... I have a password on my wifi but it accepted it... For some reason it just wont let me connect to any time of internet because of this problem... Any ideas on how to help?
     
  7. TheOozyman

    TheOozyman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    84
    14
    18
    Male
    Yeah theres Codename android and a few CM9 ROMs, about tethering Im sure it charges unless you're rooted/running custom ROM.

    As to nicolevb, Im not sure but try resetting your router or maybe check for a new system update?
     
  8. FrenchToast

    FrenchToast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    230
    76
    53
    Georgia
    Holy ****, small world, I'm on a Triumph right now and will be ordering a Galaxy Nexus later today. Going to the exact same T-Mobile Plan! :D
     
  9. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    I loved my Motorola Triumph, and I still do. But I had horrendous 3G speeds at times where I needed it most. Other times when I went downtown it had awesome speeds, just way to inconsistent.

    And it seemed as if Virgin Mobile was backing me into a wall concerning my $25/mo deal. And their refusal support their phone with updates. The devs are the ones who get all the credit when it comes to CM7/GB and CM9/ICS.

    I really don't want to cancel my 25/mo deal and sell my Triumph, but If T-Mobile takes care of me I won't feel so bad about it.

    Right now it'll be my backup/wifi phone untill further notice. It works out good because I use Google Voice as my main number and pick up on whichever phone I want to.
     
  10. dhi29

    dhi29 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    15
    13
    18
    i just got rid of my triumph, and got a galaxy nexus. that's awesome i'm not the only one.
    i personally don't mind the stock rom. i've only had it a few days, but the stock rom performs so well i don't see the need to flash a custom one.

    as for a better plan, i use the straight talk sim card, $45 a month unlimited everything. i get hpsa+ where i live.
     
  11. FrenchToast

    FrenchToast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    230
    76
    53
    Georgia
    Nice, I'm sure when mine arrives I will flash the weekly MIUI v4, its probably one of the only roms I appreciate.
     
  12. TheOozyman

    TheOozyman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    84
    14
    18
    Male
    Yeah and coming from a Triumph you wont have to worry about it lagging lol
     
  13. lowlow5683

    lowlow5683 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    109
    6
    36
    Peoria, IL
    Yes very small world hey toast I've been one of the lucky ones to use one of ur roms uve had a hand in building so can't wait to see what u. Come up with now galaxy style lol......can't wait for my phone hopefully get Ziggy and rest of crew over here......and yes agreed MIUI all day everyday
     
  14. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    Wait! What? You get HSPA+ speeds on Straight Talk? What's your upload/download speeds? I'm getting up to 7 or 8 mbps here in upstate South Carolina with T-Mobile. Straight Talk uses the T-Mobile towers right?
     
  15. TheOozyman

    TheOozyman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    84
    14
    18
    Male
    Im pretty sure straight talk uses at&t towers. I get 11 mb/s down on tmobile prepaid. It really helped me to flash a new radio.
     
  16. dhi29

    dhi29 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    15
    13
    18
    you can get a sim card that's either att or tmobile for straight talk. you get to choose which network to run off of.

    i chose att, and i get 7 kbps according to speedtest.net app. i guess that's really not all that great, but coming from the triumph on virgin mobile it feels like lightning. the 7 kbps is in my room too. i've noticed when i'm outside or in the car i get more bars.
     
  17. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    What's a new radio? What exactly does this mod do and alter? I'm pretty confused about this. I altered the PRL on my Moto Triumph, is it similar to that?
     
  18. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    A new radio is often part of a new rom and gets updated in a similar way (either through OTAs or flashed as a zip file in recovery). It's the code that allows the phone to communicate with the outside world - cell, wi-fi and BT. Different radios work better for different people so its often best to try a few - newer ones aren't always the best but its a good place to start.

    For the GNex there are US radios that start with GL and European radios that start with XX. Some people use the 'wrong' one and get better results!
     
  19. TheOozyman

    TheOozyman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    84
    14
    18
    Male
    Yep! Im using a Japanese radio and it works best for me :)
     
  20. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Soooo, where's the waffles? :D
     
  21. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    So updating my radio will give me faster speeds than 8 mb/s? That's what I'm getting right now.
     
  22. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Not necessarily. You'd have to update and see if they work better for you. If they don't, you can simply flash back an older version.

    I have good 4g coverage (I'm in the Midwest) and have had no issues on any of the radios. If you're on a busy tower or the towers are too far away, your situation is different.

    There are no waffles, are there? :D
     
    pngwolffman likes this.
  23. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    There are waffles. :D Just find the closest McDonalds with NFC Google Wallet machines, buy yourself a waffle, an we'll eat them together (in spirit). :)
     
    colchiro likes this.
  24. JarGnex

    JarGnex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    85
    32
    43
    :O I'm coming from the same circumstances. I'm still using my mt triumph though and ill be installing the osap rom I think I got it right lol
    Edit: AOKP
     
  25. pngwolffman

    pngwolffman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    54
    16
    18
    I just installed the AOKP last night and I'm loving it! I'm sure you enjoy it as well.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...