1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[International / GSM] [HOW TO] Root the GSM/HSPA+ Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by scary alien, Nov 26, 2011.

  1. residualimages

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    14
    3
    16
    not I.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thetomas

    thetomas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    I got the bootloader unlocked with oem unlock, but when I enter Fastboot boot boot.img it says cannot load 'boot.img'. My boot.img file is in the same directory as fastboot, so I'm not sure why it's not working. Can anyone help me out?
     
  3. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    So, I'm seeing varying reports, does the superboot method work?
     
  4. hali9

    hali9 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011

    Dec 7, 2011
    17
    22
    18
    CO
    Does it say "downloading 'boot.img'...FAILED <status read failed <too many links>> when i try boot.superboot.img
    When i try boot.img it says <data transfer failure<too many links>>

    I get this when i try to boot using superboot.img
     
  5. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    Alright, so this is my first time with broken root. I know this isn't new to some of you guys, so...

    Is there a best-practice I should use to repair?
     
  6. thetomas

    thetomas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    No, it specifically said cannot load 'boot.img'. However, I decided to try the superboot method at that point and it seems to have worked. It rebooted, stayed at the boot animation for long enough to make me worry, then rebooted again and prompted me for activation. I've just checked root via adfree and it is rooted.

    Now it's just a matter of installing the update and hoping It keeps root. Anyone know if the update kills root?

    Edit: updated and still rooted! mission accomplished.
     
  7. civicsisedan

    civicsisedan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    840
    178
    93
    Army
    Maryland
    I have updated and have root.

    I updated before root though so worst case is you can reroot.
     
  8. xkingofgodzx

    xkingofgodzx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    342
    23
    38
    New York
    Why does superboot wipe the SD? i didnt know it did this. Kinda pissed because transferring stuff from my Bolt's SD to it took like an hour.
     
  9. efApple

    efApple Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    61
    29
    23
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Waiting for the update prior to rooting seems like the way to go.

    But, instant gratification rules. :D
     
  11. sgrinavi

    sgrinavi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011

    Nov 7, 2011
    300
    227
    68
    CAD Manager
    SW Florida
    So where's a good place for a noob to learn about ROMs ?

    I DL'd the ROM manager & did the Flash Clockwork Mod Recover deal, but I don't understand the whole Google Wallet deal. I put the GW zip file on the phone, but I really don't understand the next steps.
     
  12. burntorangefan

    burntorangefan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    308
    213
    68
    Project Manager
    Seattle, WA
    Quick update here:

    Took FOREVER to get the fastboot unlock done for whatever reason, but once I did, I just followed the superboot instructions. Got stuck for about 15 minutes at the Google logo with the unlocked icon and just did a battery pull. Turned the phone back on and superuser was installed. Downloaded ROM Manager, Titanium Backup and Root Explorer and they all work, so I'm evidently good to go. Easy peasy. Will flash CWR when Koush gets it updated this evening. Til then, I haven't bothered with a nandroid...
     
  13. GorillaTheHutt

    GorillaTheHutt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    227
    40
    43
    SF, CA
    if you use the boot.img from the first post and get stuck at the Google screen, you can still run the adb commands!!!

    it is confusing because the instructions say "make sure USB debugging is on" which you can't do at the Google screen, but if you just go ahead and type the adb commands anyway, they should work. at least, they did for me.

    so to repeat, after you soft boot with the boot.img, you will get stuck at the Google screen. don't reboot or battery pull. just type in the adb commands on your attached computer while you are still stuck at the Google screen.
     
  14. ericabiz

    ericabiz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    HOLY CRAP I GOT IT

    Okay, here is exactly how I got root on my Verizon Galaxy Nexus:

    I grabbed the superboot files and downloaded them onto my computer
    I then followed the "slightly less manual" instructions, and unlocked my phone

    Then, instead of using the "manual" boot.img, I just copy/pasted the boot.superboot.img into that folder and ran

    fastboot boot boot.superboot.img

    instead.

    Waited for the auto reboot...this takes FOREVER (give it 10-15 minutes or more)

    Device did come back up normally

    Set up Google account, synced, and superboot was on there. No adb, anything needed.

    Only issue was that the Nexus had trouble finding Verizon's network...give it a reboot to fix that and it will come right back up.

    -- I ALSO did this on my fiance's Nexus, which I had previously loaded the boot.img from the zip file onto. That was not successful, so he had a working, unlocked phone but no root.

    I held both volume keys and rebooted into recovery, ran

    fastboot boot boot.superboot.img

    and let it do its thing and reboot. His hung at the Google screen. I gave it 15 minutes...still hung...pulled battery, powered it back up, and he had root, too. Had the same issue with not finding Verizon's network...a quick reboot fixed that on his phone as well.

    Installed wireless tether and we are off and running, grandfathered in to the old Verizon unlimited data plan. Rock on!
     
  15. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    I updated the Drivers section of the OP to contain the following drivers

    [ADB/FB Driver] Naked Samsung Driver 1.7

    a lot of members where having success with these drivers instead of some of the other ones.
     
  16. hali9

    hali9 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011

    Dec 7, 2011
    17
    22
    18
    CO
    Sorry for the dumb question.:thinking: I'm having a bit trouble finding the Drivers section, could you please point me to it?

    EDIT: Found it. Srry, should've looked a bit harder
    [ADB/FB Driver] Naked Samsung Driver 1.7 - xda-developers
     
  17. jaydotelloh

    jaydotelloh Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    362
    291
    88
    Mech. Engineer
    Buffalo, NY
  18. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    547
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    Thanks guys, I was able to get root using the boot boot.superboot.img method.
     
  19. chanop

    chanop Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    216
    419
    88
    disregard
     
  20. vandyman

    vandyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,209
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    1,209
    730
    233
    Industrial Electrician
    South Jersey
    I have win7 64bit and tiring to get the drivers to work in boot mode was crazy. Well anyway I did a manual root install.

    The only method that would work and see the Nexus was the easy manual method. The other methods will not see the Nexus/drivers.

    You can manually unlock the boot loader and then use super boot as well.
    The Nexus has to be manually unlocked using fast boot in the terminal window.
     
  21. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,227
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,227
    23,371
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Okay guys, still haven't caught-up with all of the posts from today, but I have updated the OP/first post to reflect my experiences and what I've learned so far for the VZW Galaxy Nexus. Here's a quick summary:

    1. The Naked Samsung 1.7.zip USB drivers from here [ADB/FB Driver] Naked Samsung Driver 1.7 - xda-developers (thanks to XDA's 1wayjonny), worked great for me for 64 bit Windows 7 Professional.

    2. After you've unlocked the bootloader, your first boot is going to take a while (about five minutes), so be patient. I'm pretty sure that since a bootloader unlock does a factory reset, it cleared you dalvik-cache, which needs to be rebuilt on first boot. So don't do a battery pull--just be patient and let the two cycles of the boot animation run their course.

    3. The unsecured boot.img files used by the first two manual methods as well as the boot.superboot.img file in the Superboot method seem to hang and not finish booting (or I really didn't wait long enough). The Superboot boot.superboot.img file will, however, get the root package installed and gets your phone rooted. You'll still have to do a battery pull after a letting it try its boot thing for a few minutes, but you should find that Superboot get the root part done.

    Been a long day...got a lot more threads and posts to read...

    Cheers!
     
    sgrinavi likes this.
  22. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,409
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,409
    832
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    I'm sorry, but I disagree. Don't hate me. Mac is based on (closed source) Unix. Linux is the open source 'version' of Unix, as it was developed by one of the guys who worked on the Minix branch of Unix, Linus Torvalds who was frustrated by the closed source nature of Unix. But, yes, because of this similarity sometimes the same terminal commands work on either.
     
  23. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,409
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,409
    832
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    John, my warning still stands. I do not yet have this phone, but I consider myself fairly savvy on cell phones in general, especailly when it comes to GSM vs. CDMA (LTE in this case). I am going to try to post more info soon, as now I read more and more problems with folks using the files/methods posted for the GSM version of the phone.

    I asked for the GNex section to be split between the i515 and the GSM model #, but . . . . . .
     
  24. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,409
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,409
    832
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    @scary: I am really thinking that maybe P3Droid's rooting files (and specifically his boot.img file) need to be used as from what I've seen with all the problems here and your recent edit of your OP those might be the best way to go. I _think_ that Pete Alfonso's 'boot.img' file (and all the others linked) have given major problems as you have edited the OP to reflect. Unfortunately, p3 has removed the downloads from his thread at mydroidworld.com. Fortunately I grabbed them.

    I have a bit more to say in this matter, but I fear I would be stepping on your toes, plus I have other pressing things to do. Suffice it to say, I will be editing the guide at my site to reflect my latest revelations in view of those problems posted in this (now blowing up) thread.
     
  25. ItsASamsung

    ItsASamsung Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    97
    171
    48
    OP - Please update the CDMA/LTE ClockworkMod is officially out: Link
     
    sgrinavi likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...