1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[International / GSM] Just rooted my galaxy nexus

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pastelsoda, Dec 20, 2011.

1. pastelsoda

pastelsoda Lurker

I am new to this whole rooting? thing on phones, and I just rooted it, what can I now do with it? Can somebody help me get started?

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. reggie16

reggie16 Member

i have yet to get my phone yet. getting it for xmas. But im interested in what the advantages are to rooting it?

3. mobgob

mobgob Member

Visit the Samsung Galaxy all things root section at the top of this page. It has lots of guides and valuable info for us rooters. The next thing would be to pick a rom of your choice and flash it to your phone. Welcome to the world of rooting and the almost limitless customizations that you will be able to do with your phone.

4. WormDoes

WormDoes Android Expert

Congratulations! I moves this thread to the All Things Root section where you'll get more responses.

Now that you're rooted you can install custom ROMs, Kernels as well as have access to root level files.

Yeahha likes this.
  5. Yeahha

Yeahha Usually off topic

Welcome to AF Pastelsoda :D

To expand on what WormDoes has already listed some benefits of rooting include: Overclocking with custom kernels, use apps that allow you to block ads, make full backups of your phone with custom recoveries, Use backup programs to allow you to make backups of your app data so if you factory reset or uninstall something you can restore the app and data, uninstall system apps you do not want (use caution), flash custom verison of the OS that allow for more customization than stock (ROMs)...

There are plenty of reasons to root and plenty of things you can do with root access. I have not listed all the ones I know and I am sure there are many I am not aware as well. I am sure people will add to the list I have created :D

6. reggie16