1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[International / GSM] Power button problem--root related?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fran1r, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. fran1r

    fran1r Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    91
    27
    23
    Very North Jersey
    I rooted successfully today, but I now have a problem with the power button when the phone is already on. Sometimes (rarely) it turns the screen on to stay, but most of the time the screen just briefly flashes on, and I don't get the chance to unlock it.

    Did anyone else have this problem? I'm dreading having to unroot and return this....
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I don't think anything in the root process would have caused this. It sounds like it is a hardware issue with your power key sticking.
     
  3. scottg96

    scottg96 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,397
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,397
    1,255
    313
    Highland Park, IL
    Same thing happens to me. Definitely root-related, as it only happened after I tried hacking/flashing Google Wallet on. I'm restoring a backup now...
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Def let us know if restoring fixes it. Backups are good thing!
     
  5. fran1r

    fran1r Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    91
    27
    23
    Very North Jersey
    Power button seems back to normal after unrooting. If I'm not alone, I feel strangely less bad.
     
  6. scottg96

    scottg96 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,397
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,397
    1,255
    313
    Highland Park, IL
    Restored from backup. Problem was fixed. :)
     
    Yeahha likes this.
  7. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    EDIT: Forget what I said. I found the problem...for me at least.

    If you have LightFlow installed to control the LED, go to General settings and scroll all the way down to where you see Additional LEDs found. Make sure s6e8aa0 is NOT checked. That is what was screwing with my screen. I unchecked that and its all good now!
     
    scottg96 likes this.
  8. scottg96

    scottg96 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,397
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,397
    1,255
    313
    Highland Park, IL
    I think that might have been what triggered it for me too, actually. When I tested the notification pulse nothing happened so I figured that might have worked but it didn't :p
     
  9. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    I'm just happy to get it figured out. I've been racking my brains for the last two hours working on it. Now I've still got root and still have LightFlow working and no screen problems. Now on to flashing my first custom ROM on my Nexus. :)
     
  10. fran1r

    fran1r Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    91
    27
    23
    Very North Jersey
    I will give it a try later! Thanks for this.
     
  11. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    No problem. Let me know if it solved your problem!
     
  12. fran1r

    fran1r Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    91
    27
    23
    Very North Jersey
    That must have been the issue. I re-rooted it today and everything is working fine. Thanks for figuring it out, but couldn't you have done it before I unrooted? ;)
     
  13. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    LOL. I was about five minutes away from unrooting as well, but luckily I was able to figure it out.

    Now if only i could figure out how to improve signal strength. I mah exchsnge this for a new.Nexus and see if thag solves it. I know others were complaining about it, too, but mine is ridiculous. Im hoping I just got a bad radio and an exchange will solve it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...