1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root [International] HTC One Has Bootloader Unlock Issues - workable though

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Scootmien, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. Scootmien

    Scootmien Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    552
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    552
    362
    133
    Male
    South UK
    I know the devs on XDA are working on the Root issue with the HTC losing some apps permanently. Until that is utterly fixed, I won't even contemplating rooting my next Android phone.

    My S2 is rooted and my iPhone is jailbroken and I have to say I love the way that it is on the iPhone because if I want to return it to stock I just have to restore it in iTunes, that's it.

    Android rooting has always been a real faff, to be honest. I was as nervous as hell when I rooted my S2 in case I bricked the phone. For this reason, I doubt I will root my next Android device though unless the tutorials and the tools needed are aimed at the pre-school generation in their simplicity! :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    While others scoffed at first, I've always liked a tuned, slightly modified Sense.

    The exact same features that the blogosphere laughed at in Sense are the same plain Android features that they hailed as break-throughs with the Galaxy Nexus and ICS - tight app integration, and a view towards using you phone based on data and people, rather than a collection of apps.

    I've liked the old Sense, middle Sense, new Sense, and the in-between Sense and the round-the-middle and up-the-side Sense. :)

    Rooting just gives me the power to fine tune it.

    As well as replace it - which - I don't.

    Ok - (disclaimer) I've been a member of a well-liked rom developer team for the Sprint version of the One X. I'm on XDA under this same user name.

    Not being defensive - just facts, ok.

    Rooting a Sammy is not like rooting an HTC.

    With an HTC, it generally makes more sense, and HTC provides a site to help you unlock things.

    It requires picking up new terms and definitions to speak the lingo, but we have a LOT of thanks for new, first-timers saying our root guides are dead-dog easy to follow.

    Not at all being cute - but I'm having trouble understanding what you mean there. Please allow for a long day on my part.

    What does it mean - losing apps permanently??? :thinking:
     
    misplacetexan and Scootmien like this.
  3. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Scootmien and EarlyMon like this.
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    misplacetexan, KOLIO and Scootmien like this.
  5. Scootmien

    Scootmien Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    552
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    552
    362
    133
    Male
    South UK
    It's OK, I appreciate your reply and take it in the spirit in which you posted it. Thank you.

    In that case I shall pay more attention to the Devs on XDA (I have same user name on there too) and will try to get my head round the different rooting methodology for the HTC, when I get it.

    I have a good app developer friend who has always had HTCs and he roots them immediately upon purchase so I can always turn to him IRL should I need help too.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. toad6386

    toad6386 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #254
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    361
    196
    88
    Male
    RFID FSE
    So Cen TX
    Since it was going to be moved here anyways....

     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  7. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    Not that it would be a huge issue, given that most who unlock their bootloader don't want OTA's anyway, but it means you'll never be able to OTA again.

    AFAIK, the OTA update tool checks for the presence and integrity of stock, preinstalled apps before it will install any updates. If the apps aren't there, the tool will fail.
     
    AngelArs and EarlyMon like this.
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    AngelArs, toad6386, KOLIO and 2 others like this.
  9. AM2

    AM2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    318
    185
    68
    Charlotte
    I've unlocked, and have been trying to install a recovery via fastboot and on my computer cmd prompt it keeps saying device not recognized and fastboot is not found on internal or external something or other....I have htc sync manager installed so I believe all the drivers are there, and I have debugging enabled on the phone, yet the recovery won't get sent to the phone....the phone says fastboot USB in the boot loader screen when plugged into the computer so that looks good. not sure what's going wrong...really want to achieve root to start getting rid of some bloat...any help or ideas????


    .anyone else surprised that more cant be disabled, like fm radio, stocks, sprint zone, Flickr....on el TEvo I was able to disable those stock ....or so I remember
     
  10. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    659
    554
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    @AM2 you need to disable fastboot in the power settings at the bottom
     
  11. AM2

    AM2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    318
    185
    68
    Charlotte
    thanks for the reply...yes fastboot was and is indeed already disabled....really throwing me for a loop....I've tried 2 different methods for getting the recovery on there and none are working when it gets to that step on the computer....am I able to flash a recovery via any other means in order to obtain root???? TIA
     
  12. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    659
    554
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    try here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2242635&page=6

    from post 54 on
     
    AM2 likes this.
  13. AM2

    AM2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    318
    185
    68
    Charlotte
    I'm on sprint and am using the toolkit sprint M7wls....I noice the thread title is for AT&T ...could this be contributing to my problems????

    at the top of my cmd window on the computer I keep seeing error: device not found...when I close that the second window pops open and it looks like stuff is getting flashed, but the phone doesn't look like anything is happening...I have tampered and unlocked on my phone....can't help thinking that somehow im having driver issues, although I have htc sync manager installed which should have installed the correct drivers....smh....appreciate u helping me figure this out
     
  14. AM2

    AM2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    318
    185
    68
    Charlotte
    oh snap I'm in recovery!!!!!!! just decided to hit recovery to see what happened and I got in!!!!!YEESSSSSSSS!!!!! now on to the other steps....crossing fingers
     
  15. AM2

    AM2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    318
    185
    68
    Charlotte
    Looks like it worked!!!! Sweet!!!! I saw that mksh super user request...we r still denying that btw right?????
     
  16. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    659
    554
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    I'll look over the sprint all in one
    I'm pretty sure the install of the recovery and the root are the same on all models
    Installation:
    Unlock bootloader at HTCdev - Unlock Bootloader
    Uncheck fastboot in the rom in power options
    Turn phone completely off
    Boot into HBOOT>Fastboot
    Use command "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

    Root:
    To gain root on stock rom. Flash recovery in fastboot then flash this inside of recovery. There are two root programs. Superuser and SuperSU. Both are listed.
    Superuser - Goo.im Downloads - Downloading Superuser-1.0.1.7-CWM.zip
    OR
    SuperSU - http://download.chainfire.eu/315/Sup...erSU-v1.25.zip

    Downloads:
    You can now flash in Rom Manager in rom if rooted


    LOL I see you got it
     
    AM2 likes this.
  17. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    Be wary with ROM Manager. With the HTCdev bootloader unlock, you can't flash the boot or recovery partitions whilst in ROM, you have to be in fastboot.

    Probably best to steer clear of ROM Manager altogether actually.
     
  18. AM2

    AM2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    318
    185
    68
    Charlotte

    lol I've never been so happy to see that damn little red writing on startup in my life!!! although didn't see it after restarting after freezing stuff in TB...not mad at that though, I'll take it....sooooo happy to freeze all the xtra unnecessaries...btw I was correct in denying the mksh request in su, right???? wouldn't have gotten it without ur assistance...thanks a million
     
  19. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    659
    554
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    its a straight copy paste from XDA Sprint One forums - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2238324

    I don't use Rom manager myself
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  20. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
  21. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    659
    554
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    I'm not sure on that.
    I know things are looking really promising for this phone. 2 of the Cynogenmod team have AT&T One's

    there's also this news floating around:
    The HTC Ones boot partition is unlocked during recovery now. On older HTC Devs it is locked during the recovery process. But HTCDEV now unlocks the boot partition for the One. You can't flash radios still without hboot.

    Just flash the boot.img in recovery. I'm using CWR and Koush confirmed that we can now flash boot.img in custom recoveries.
    the discussion is here >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2243704&page=5
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  22. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yep.
     
    AM2 likes this.
  23. AM2

    AM2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    318
    185
    68
    Charlotte
    Hey Early....know anything about "resetnotify"??? it just popped up in supersu asking for permission...I've seen a couple others having it pop up as well...no one seems to know what it is....any insight o wise 1???
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Sorry, I got nothing. :(
     
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I took a quick glance at the source code.

    It (obviously) wants su permission to pass messages for some Restart Notify service. Seems to be aware of a lot of the system layout. Made by HTC.

    It's probably close to 2,500 lines of decompiled code, that's all I can say at a glance.

    I saw an application example (not for this phone) using it to restart repetitive tasks, like an alarm.

    Don't know what HTC is really using it for.

    IOW, I still got nothing, but I'll see what I can find.
     
    AM2 and El Presidente like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...