1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[International] I have no OS installed, only TWRP.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MrChawk, Oct 7, 2014.

1. MrChawk

MrChawk Lurker

Hey guys, i'm new to AndroidForum. I've had a Galaxy S4 for a year or so now, decided to root it today. Came across a few techniques but none seemed to work. So after that I used the TWRP wiping option to clear my phone = deleted the OS? This ended in my phone getting stuck at the 'Samsung logo' screen. i'm still able to access TWRP menu but that's all. I'd like to go back to stock android, what are my options?

Thank you in advance.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Podivin

Podivin Android Expert

It seems to me that if you have TWRP installed then you have indeed been successful in rooting your phone.
    Yes, a full wipe in TWRP removes any trace of the operating system, rendering the phone useless.
    At this point you need to find a ROM to install that is compatible with your phone. Note that not all S4 ROMs will be compatible due to the many iterations of the device. Make sure the ROM you use is for your specific device and carrier.
    Once you find a ROM, copy it to your phone and use the 'Install' option of TWRP to install the ROM to your phone.

MrChawk likes this.
  3. jj14x

jj14x Android Expert

How did you try to root your phone? What steps did you take?
    What version/variant/model of the S4 do you have? Assuming you have the international version (based on your profile location), you may benefit from reading this thread.

Please verify the model# before you proceed

MrChawk likes this.
  4. MrChawk

MrChawk Lurker