1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Latest modems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sydney99, Jun 27, 2013.

  1. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,584
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,584
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
  3. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Kai liu laotou!
     
  4. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,584
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,584
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Pardon? :thinking:
     
  5. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    Bless you
     
    Sydney99 and ironass like this.
  6. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,584
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,584
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Sydney99 likes this.
  7. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Obviously Yorkshire shares a lot in common with Spain. This modem gives me much stronger signal!
     
  8. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,584
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,584
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Which, roughly translated from Yorkshire to English, should read as...

    "Gee whizz ironass! You are a blooming star for posting that. I must buy you copious amounts of alcohol at the Mods and Guides Christmas party, to repay you".

    The modem is actually the European one and should be making an appearance in a few more firmwares.
     
  9. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Ironass loves Harvey's Bristol Cream so much he pours it onto his Lidl cornflakes... a case is on it's way to you old boy. Should see you through the next 24 hours.....
     
    ironass likes this.
  10. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    ironass likes this.
  11. caloyzki

    caloyzki Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    327
    11
    38
    hello guys, not sure if i can upload this modem on my tmobile s4 model SGH-M919. i am still on my old bootloader no knox, and recently tmobile update the FW to NK2, and i just want to get the NK2 modem, is it fine to use this modems? or i need it from tmobile? i researched online and i couldnt even find just the NK2 modem. TIA
     
  12. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,584
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,584
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    #212 ironass, Dec 27, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2014
    sntaylor and Sydney99 like this.
  13. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    I've been on the old preKnox bootloader since the 1800s. Never saw the need to upgrade. We don't get a 4g signal, so I don't use LTE, so whenever i,ve upgraded modern I've just flashed the modern file from here. Last few months I've noticed my data signal frequently dropping out, and it's been much more noticeable on last Dan 5.0.1 GE ROM.

    Therefore I've flashed the whole package ie. Bootloader, LTE and modem to see if it helps, especially as being Knox positive does not seem to be an issue. I've had a really significant improvement in the reliability of my mobile data connection since. Wish I'd done this ages ago!!!

    Just thought I'd feedback in case there were any other dinosaurs out there still on the old bootloader......
     
    sntaylor and ironass like this.
  14. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Anyone else found problems with lollipop modems? I've found my 3g data and WiFi constantly disconnects, so reverted back to kit kat modem (gsm only as I have lollipop bootloader which you can't downgrade) and disconnections have stopped. Anyone else had similar?
     
  15. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I've had the occasional wifi drop (perhaps 3 times since I went over to Dans LP GPE back in December) which a disable/enable wifi sorts out.
    I've not however had any since going back to 2.4Ghz from 5GHz, so if you're using 5GHz it may be worth giving this a pop.

    (By the way, I'm currently on XXUHOB8 bl/gsm/lte)

    Out of interest, have you actually tried putting a KK bootloader back on over an LP one then Syd? I've not attempted it. What happens when you try?
     
    #215 Hawker, Apr 15, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  16. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Didn't bother even trying, as we don't get 4g in my neck of the woods, so seemed pointless trying when I didn't need the LTE modem....
     
  17. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Therein possibly lies your problem then Syd (at least for the wifi side of things)
    As you're on a LP bootloader, flash the corresponding LTE modem regardless. What do you have to lose? (this is why the LTE modem, non-hlos.bin was referred to as "wifi fix", and the name has stuck)

    Get Bl/GSM/LTE on the same version across the board and see what happens
    Historically, you should always match bootloader and lte modem or you can get wifi/sound problems.
     
    #217 Hawker, Apr 15, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  18. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,584
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,584
    5,798
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Oh, Hawker! I thought we had trained Syd better than that. :rolleyes:
     
  19. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    910
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K

    You trained Syd? Ah ha.. that's why his devices are almost legendary in giving weird results to suggested tweaks.:D:p.
     
  20. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    [​IMG]
     
  21. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,734
    467
    163
    UK
    Calm down boys. I had them all matched. Bootloader, lte and gsm were all the same. That seemed to be giving issues. So my BL/LTE remain on lollipop oB8, I just downgraded my gsm. All seems to be working fine now.....
     
    sntaylor and dynomot like this.
  22. secreto

    secreto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    81
    13
    18
    I have flashed my GT-19505 with CM12 5.0 stable. I have just about got signal. My current baseband is I9505XXUGNJ3 can anyone advise which modem and baseband I should now upgrade to? - I am in the United Kingdom on 3 network. Thanks
     
  23. akshay8

    akshay8 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015

    May 31, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Hi All, I wonder if someone could help me. I'm on the old bootloader that doesn't have the knox stuff and
    Have the gsm modem xxuemj5 and lte modem xxubmh1 to be flashed via Odin for sound/wifi to work.

    I was thinking if it's worth going on a new modem as when I use cm12.1 I can only see the status bar and not the home screen on the PHONE whenever I boot the it. I'm only able to get the home screen back by switching profiles and then can get the reception on the phone back. It's a workaround but I was thinking maybe the modem could be the culprit?

    Please advise if I can use a modem for the old bootloader that doesn't have the above issues provided and it supports the old bootloader? I've got a three network phone S4 I9505 LTE (unlocked) from UK.
    Current Modem is I9505xxuemj5 running cm12.1.

    Also would I able to flash the modem whilst running cm12.1?or does it have to be on stock rom?

    Many thanks for your help.

    P. S my old modem was I9505XXUBMEA when I got the phone.
     
    #223 akshay8, May 31, 2015
    Last edited: May 31, 2015
  24. Ne3M

    Ne3M Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015

    Jul 19, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Hi All,

    I would please like to get some input into flashing the correct modem for my phone which have worked pretty flawlessly up until recently (I suspect a firmware or hardware upgrades of the network provider).

    Other LTE devices work pretty much flawlessly in my home but lately the S4 LTE (GT-I9505) is cycling from LTE->HSPA->3G->2G->Completely drops signal and after a while starts again at LTE.

    Currently I have:
    ->I9505XXUBMGA Bootloader installed (I suspect a pre knox version)
    ->I9505XXUEMKE Baseband version. Was updated from I9505XXUBMGA when I bought the phone which was very problematic. Upgrading to I9505XXUEMKE solved all problems.

    Now I want to flash to the latest XXU version which is I9505XXUGNG2-MODEM.tar.md5 BUT reading on the forum that some people loose Wifi and sound if you have a pre knox bootloader and that you should rather flash the NON-HLOS version is where I get confused as referred to the link below.

    http://androidforums.com/threads/international-latest-modems.734712/page-7

    Should I then rather flash this file?
    I9505XXUGNG2-WiFi-FIX-NON-HLOS.tar.md5 (12MB)

    INSTEAD OF THIS FILE?

    I9505XXUGNG2-MODEM.tar.md5 (52MB)


    I would like to minimize the chances of bricking my phone but after 2 years it might be worth it to upgrade to a new radio.
     

Share This Page

Loading...