1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Problem with the root on my brand new Galaxy S4?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sizreem, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    Hey guys! I recently got the new Samsung galaxy S4 and I noticed how the bloatware takes up about 55% of all memory and I wanted to delete them by rooting.

    I successfully rooted the android device and even got SuperSU by the time I finished. When I started using Titanium Back Up, it told me that my root access was denied? I researched a bit more and people told me to install Busy Box but that had problems because of SuperSU which I don't understand still.
    Can somebody PLEASE help me out I'm going ballistic...

    My device is the International version i9500

    Much thanks, and please try your best to help out!
     

    Advertisement

  2. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    What people told you to install busy box?
    Is everything else still working?Can you use root checker from the app store?If so, what does it say?Try uninstalling busy box?
     
  3. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    I talked to my friend about it and he asked if the binary is getting updated and I told him no. It keeps failing when trying to install. Si everytime I'm trying to gain root access it fails. I tried researching everywhere but found no solution... Would you know anything?
     
  4. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    I talked to my friend about it and he asked if the binary is getting updated and I told him no. It keeps failing when trying to install. Si everytime I'm trying to gain root access it fails. I tried researching everywhere but found no solution... Would you know anything?
     
  5. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    Also, when I'm using root checker, it just stays in checking and also says "this system is taking a long time to check" or something.
     
  6. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Can you go to play store, uninstall su, and reinstall it?
     
  7. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    nope, not at all.
    I reset my phone because NOTHING was uninstalling when it came to root.
    Do you know any good guide that roots an international i9500 S4 that would actually allow me to have root access?
     
  8. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
  9. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Alternatively you could talk me through the exact method you used, what all you have done from start to finish!
     
  10. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    Okay, right now I just followed this video tutorial:

    How to Root Galaxy S4 using CWM Method! - YouTube

    and everything was pefect until I finished everything and launched SuperSU,where I got the pop-up message:

    "There is no SU binary installed, and superSU cannot install it. This is a problem"

    I tried backing up on CMW recovery because I read somewhere that I should do that but still no luck...
     
  11. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Ok I'd say best bet is probably too reflash stock Rom from b sammobile and either try again or better still, read the xda pages and find a different method. Have you rooted a phone before? And what do you need root access for?
     
  12. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    How do you do that exactly?
    And no, rooting is a new world for me. And I want access to Titanium Backup so I can uninstall all the bloatware that's taking up 9GB on my new S4.
     
  13. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Firstly you want to make sure you have the correct drivers installed for your phone, which shouldn't be an issue if you already tried rooting through Odin you will then need to download official stock Rom from Sam mobile, make sure it's the correct one for your device(you should have taken note of firmware prior to rooting?) Then follow this guide I copied from elsewhere..

    Then you open Odin and follow this guide I copied(because it's a stock Rom and not just a kernel your flashing, you'll need to replace the .tar file with a .md5 file as seen in the file downloaded from Sam mobile. If in doubt it'll probably be the one that has the biggest file size....


    With Odin displayed on your PC screen, click on the PDA button and navigate to the .tar file, that you placed on your home screen, and select it.

    Make sure that Re-Partition is unchecked and that Auto Reboot, F.Reset Time and PDA are checked and that the PDA box now contains your .tar file.


    #2.3. Step 3.

    Connect your phone, still in Download mode, to the PC using the USB lead. If you have successfully connected to Odin you should see the ID:COM box in Odin turn yellow or light blue, (depending on which version of Odin you are using).


    #2.4. Step 4.

    In Odin click the Start button and you should see a green progress bar above ID:COM and shortly after that the box above it will turn green with the word PASS! in it and your phone will automatically reboot.


    As I said,I copied the final parts from another guide(on rooting rather than flashing stock Rom, but it's the same thing just different files selected!)

    Good luck :)
     
    uesat likes this.
  14. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    Where exactly do I get the stock ROM from? I can't download the ones I see because they are all for main carriers where as mine is international?
     
  15. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Where are you from? Did you buy it from a carrier?
     
  16. sizreem

    sizreem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    Currently residing in Dubai, and no. Just the phone itself. We don't exactly get from carriers here.
     
  17. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Then I'd suggest either if the United Arab Emirates? Either one ending lys it xsg...don't quote me though as my knowledge of Dubai is low so I'm just making assumptions!

    are you able to type in the dialer *#1234# ?
     
  18. uesat

    uesat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    7
    1
    6
    I have the exact same problem as the OP, when I type *#1234#, I get the following:

    AP: 19500UBUAMDK
    CP: 19500UBUAMDK
    CSC: 19500UBUAMDK

    So which carrier factory image do I use?
     
  19. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Either of the UAE firmwares would probably do, though of course there is no guarantee it will definitely work! Good luck!(This is assuming your phone is from the UAE, otherwise another firmware would probably be a better option!)
     
    uesat likes this.
  20. uesat

    uesat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    7
    1
    6
    SpeedofSound likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...