1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Question about flashing mods

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Yatezy, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    Obviously flashing a mod is simple, usually through some form of a custom recovery but how do you 'unflash' the mod?

    I've uninstalled one using TiBu but that was just luck tbh. I'm only asking because I installed JB domination a while back and it nobbed up my phone but I had no idea how to uninstall it so just flashed the original theme back over it. If I'd not had the original theme though it would've been a nandroid to the rescue!

    Makes me unsure about flashing certain things, which kinda sucks as I like a bit of flashing :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. CDPlant

    CDPlant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,645
    974
    213
    Essex, UK
    Normally you can just reflash the ROM without doing any wipes, which will give you the stock look of the ROM back, but it'll also reflash the original kernel and anything else that's been changed in a similar way
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Of course you should take at least a backup of System via Nandroid in recovery before flashing any mods.
     
  4. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    So there's no way to delete single mods other than doing a nandroid before each flash and then if needed restoring? Bit long winded but looks like I've no choice.

    Cheers guys
     
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    There are some mods which will make a restore zip while flashing and some download pages for certain mods will also have a restore zip below.
     
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Ive found that flashing the official firmware using Odin on your pc restores stock recovery and rom.
    Think theres apps to reset the "flash count"
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Some mods have a reverse zip to flash because they simply add ir change a couple of files. Others take a backup and can restore like shotgun said. Some themes, especially like jb domination, literally change hundreds if not thousands of files so restoring a backup is not that long winded if you think about it.

    Most recoveries allow backup of /system only, which you SHOULD take before flashing anyway, incase you break something. This is standard.

    Restoring a system only backup takes what? 2 minutes?
     
    Shotgun84 likes this.
  8. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,186
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,186
    4,049
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Cheers, you put that a hell of a lot better than I could:thumb:
     
  9. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    When you say backing up just the system do you mean in Titanium or can I do it through CWM?

    Cheers for the info anyway, I have noticed that some devs do make a restore zip aswell. Looks like I still need to keep learning this stuff :)
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Nandroid via cwm
     
    Yatezy likes this.
  11. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    Anyone help me here, how do I do a backup of just /system? I've gone into CWM > Backup and Restore and the only backup option does a full nandroid which is a good 10 minutes. Restoring from that even longer.

    I can't find the option anywhere to do just the system? Or do you do a full nandroid then do an advanced restore which is an option I've not clicked before?

    I was using CWM 5 but have the touch version of it, v6 I think, unsure if that makes any difference.
     
  12. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Not sure man. I always do a full one and ur right it takes ages.
    What else is being backed up if not just system?
     

Share This Page

Loading...