1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International Tegra 3] eXoDiZeD

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by El Presidente, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
    Has anyone tried the above ROM? Here's the thread at XDA: [ROM][27/4][JDR0iD]eXoDiZeD | SENSELESS | AOSP THEMED | BLAZING FAST | AROMA | - xda-developers

    Generally, I prefer AOSP but I'm reluctant to use non Sense ROMs on the X as I don't want to lose the awesome camera software. However, this states it includes the Sense camera (I always thought the Sense apps needed the Sense framework) so I could be persuaded. Does the camera perform as well on this ROM as it does with stock/ARHD etc?

    Does anyone have any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. aosp

    aosp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    24
    6
    16
    I prefer to stick with arhd rom + rom cleaner with sense remaining intact. He probably ported apis or framework from sense to aosp. Even though sense is more resource hungry than aosp, I like to remain stock with full admin access :).
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
    Thanks, I think next time I flash, I'll give ROM cleaner a go.

    I'll def give this one a go at some point though. Have you tried any others aside form ARHD?
     
  4. aosp

    aosp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    24
    6
    16
    No I have not tried other ones, I probably should though haha. Mike is a really good dev and support is outstanding so its hard to try other ones.
     
  5. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    I flashed this ROM yesterday as Sense is as much of a pain in the arse as it always was. First thoughts, it's nice and clean, and very fast. I've not encountered any problems with it so far. I've not tried the camera out, but having only owned the phone for three days before I flashed it, I don't have a lot to compare with I'm afraid! If you can tell me what to do to test it El Presidente then I'm quite happy to do so :)

    Edit: Tell a lie, there is an issue with text messages where you have to split them into 160 characters otherwise they won't send. I think the dev is aware of this one as someone's mentioned it on XDA. Also, you can't answer a call without unlocking the phone first, but he's definitely aware of that and should be fixing it soon.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
    Cheers Casanunda :).

    There's a youtube vid in the thread and the camera looks to be the same as the stock offering so as soon as he sorts the bugs, it looks as though I'll be giving this a go.
     
  7. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    Yeah looking at the notes about the ROM it seems as though he's kept the Sense camera in there so that should be fine. Also it looks as though an update might well be released today or tomorrow, so fingers crossed he will have ironed out some of the other bugs. By the way, apparently you can get around unlocking the screen to answer the call by using a different lockscreen app, but I can't really be bothered myself as it's not really that much of a problem.
     
  8. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    Well I flashed the latest update and those two bugs still remain. I'm sure he will cure them soon though. I'll keep an eye on it anyway and let you know when they're sorted El Presidente.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
  10. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    Well I flashed another update (in the pub yesterday, that's how easy it is!), and it has cured the SMS issue now, so it's just the unlock screen to answer the call really now.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
    Sold it for me, if an alternative lock screen app gets around the call/lockscreen problem, it looks like I know what I'll be doing at work tonight. (I've already bought WidgetLocker).

    Does the free version of Apex do the job or is it worth going for the full version?
     
  12. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    Personally I'm more than happy with the free version. That said, I prefer a launcher to be as lightweight and simple as possible, with my Desire being set up with Zeam Launcher. It really doesn't look like the pro version of Apex offers anything that amazing but it all depends on what you want to do. The info screen says it has the following extras : -

    Multiple configurable drawer tabs.
    Unread count notifications (this is the one thing in the list I have enjoyed in the past).
    Dock gestures.
    Two finger gestures. (Who wants their phone giving them two fingered gestures anyway!)
    More transition effects.
    Enhanced folder support.
    Advanced widget options.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
    No harm in giving the free version a shot then, see if it does what I need.

    Again, thank you for the feedback.
     
    Casanunda likes this.
  14. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    Any time :)

    Let me know how you get on with the ROM, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts as I didn't wait long before flashing it, so don't really have much experience of anything else to compare it with!
     
  15. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
    Tried this for about 6 hours yesterday. No matter what I did to sort, every time I tried to edit or join a contact, the contacts app force closed on me. I wiped, Fixed Permissions and various other fixes, but nothing worked. I may have just needed to reflash, but I restored my Nandroid instead.

    I def like the look of it, so will go back later at some point. I'm currently on Energy atm and have just flashed the Franco Kernel.
     
  16. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    Yeah I tried flashing the latest update the other day but it pretty much buggered my phone. When it works, it's good, but like you I think I'll leave it for now. I'm running Leedroid now and it's pretty much flawless from what I can see :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...