1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International Tegra 3] help newbie rooting htc one x on tesco

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wulliegunn, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. wulliegunn

    wulliegunn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    17
    1
    16
    Im trying to read as much as possible but im just too confused now. Im trying to see if theres a guide to rooting/flashing a rom? on my htc one x. It is unlocked & I have tesco 30day rolling contract sim. the software in it is 4.18.401.2,if this makes a difference to any of you.
    any information would be a help. ihave the android sdk downloaded plus htc sync software. Ive watched a video of a guy doing it on youtube but he is at+t.does this make a difference if its at+t & mines is tesco?
    Is there a good guide that anyone can point me to? also there seems to be a hell of a lot of folk who are messing the procedure up. Is it easy to mess up lol?
    thanks in advance guys/girls
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,671
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,671
    23,242
    3,118
    Scotland
    Moved to the root subforum.

    Welcome to AF! :)

    Yeah, the AT&T method will be different, so if you've seen a guide for that, it's probably best you don't flash it.

    What's your end game, are you looking to go for a custom ROM or are you just looking for root? It's probably easiest if we talk you through the latter first, then once you're a little familiar with fastboot commands and flashing stuff in recovery, we'll go for a ROM.

    You'll need to unlock the bootloader first, HTC provide a guide for that here: HTCdev - Unlock Bootloader

    Have a look through there and see if you have any questions. Before you start, when you boot in to the bootloader, it says Endeavouru at the top of the white screen?
     
  3. wulliegunn

    wulliegunn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    17
    1
    16
    yes it says endeavoru at the top ,along with PVT SHIP S-ON RL
    Is this info above ok?
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,671
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,671
    23,242
    3,118
    Scotland
    Ok, the bootloader is unlocked, what you'll need to do now is flash a custom recovery.

    You can get TWRP recovery from here: you can get TWRP from here: TeamWin Projects - TWRP 2.6 - HTC One X (International / Tegra 3 / EndeavorU) | TeamWin

    Download the img file and place it in your fastboot folder. Boot to fastboot on your phone, connect it to your PC and type:

    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot flash recovery XXX.img
    XXX being the name of the file you downloaded.

    Let it complete, reboot back to your bootloader and select recovery. You should be taken in to TWRP recovery.

    Based on what I've said about Venom or ARHD in the other thread, can you let me know which you want. Alternatively, have a look at what's available here: One X Android Development - xda-developers

    See if there are any ROM's that you like the look of.
     
  5. wulliegunn

    wulliegunn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    17
    1
    16
    Sorry but where do I type that? Does command prompt open?
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,671
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,671
    23,242
    3,118
    Scotland
    Yeah, in command prompt on your PC, yeah. You should have a fastboot folder from when you unlocked the bootloader?
     
  7. wulliegunn

    wulliegunn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    17
    1
    16
    for get this post.pls see below
     
  8. wulliegunn

    wulliegunn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    17
    1
    16
    sorry it was because i wasnt opening command prompt in adb window. I finally got the recovery img into phone but after rebooting into recovery the touchscreen wouldnt work,so twrp page says to put in another img but that the usb & adb storage wouldnt work,or it would break these two things.#
    so i installed that recovery image & put phone into recovery & it works hay hay!!!lol
    el presidente,will the usb/adb storage thing matter with flashing a new ROM?
    My question now is how to flash a rom? is the rom flashed in same way or is it installed onto phone & done from phone?sorry
    so after i flashed the recovery file,i rebooted & put the recovery file onto my pc in case anything happens & i cant access it on my phone
    also,is my phone now rooted?
     
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,671
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,671
    23,242
    3,118
    Scotland
    Which version of TWRP did you install? The latest should be 2.6.3.0 and everything should be fixed and working in it.

    Here's the direct download link: Techerrata Downloads - Downloading openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.0-endeavoru.img

    You're nearly there! Flashing a ROM is done in recovery and on the phone, you need to do a little bit in fastboot again, but it's not much.

    We'll go for Venom unless there's anything else you want? Have a look at the screenshots and feature list in the venom thread and see if it's what you're after: [ROM] [DISCONTINUED] Team Venom ViperX 4.0.6 - | HTC One X > XDA

    The download link is here: xda-developers - View Single Post - [ROM] [DISCONTINUED] Team Venom ViperX 4.0.6 - Sense 5 JellyBean | orig. OTA | Tweaks (ViperX 4.0.6). It will be a zip file about 600MB in size.

    Once downloaded, open (don't extract) and look for a file called boot.img. Copy that file to the fastboot folder you flashing recovery from.

    Once done, connect your phone to the PC and copy the zip file over to the root of your SD Card/phone storage.

    Disconnect the phone, then reboot back in to TWRP. Head to the Backup menu and take what's called a nandroid backup (this is basically a snapshot of your phone in it's current state so you can restore it if something goes wrong with the flash), it should take about 10 minutes.

    Head back to the main menu, then select install zip from SD Card and double check to see if the zip file you copied over is visible, but don't flash it yet, just check to see it's there.

    Once done, head to main menu in twrp again and look for the wipe section, perform a factory reset and wipe the cache and dalvik caches(instructions will be on screen).

    Head back to the main menu, install zip from sd card, select the zip file, confirm and let it do what it needs to. The aroma installer should be relatively self explanatory. If it asks if you want to do a full wipe, say yes. If it asks about a kernel, you're using the stock kernel, and you don't want to/haven't flash a custom one.

    Once finished, go back to the main menu in twrp, select reboot, then bootloader. Head to fastboot and then connect your phone to your PC again, open a command prompt, navigate to the fastboot folder (or wherever the boot.img file and fastboot.exe is) and type:

    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot flash boot boot.img
    Let it flash, then type:

    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot erase cache
    Once done, disconnect, reboot and you should boot in to Venom. First boot might take 10 minutes or so.
     
  10. wulliegunn

    wulliegunn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    17
    1
    16
    i managed to put viper onto my phone,but I cant understand why i cant restore from helium on my pc after doing it.
    also noticed that helium restore server cant be accessed on phone for restore from pc.whys this?

    sorry el but that viper is doing my noggin in. how do i put a stock rom back in. i think viper is not very good
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...