1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International Tegra 3] htc one x root/flash fail

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by denz112, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    Hey all, Hope someone can help ,i tried rooting my one x using the info from http://www.knowyourmobile.com/htc/htc-one/17426/how-root-your-htc-one-x]here and now it holds at the htc screen and i can only boot into boot loader i have tried recovery,erase cache etc but my main problem is that my phone is now not recognized via usb ,windows only sees it as htc device. so i cant use any tools to fix it i.e adb fastboot or hasoon 2000 toolkit . any ideas guys am i doing something wrong? thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    Err any one.... any ideas??
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    Which variant of the One X do you have? Does it say Endeavouru or Evita atop your bootloader? Does it say your bootloader is unlocked or is it still locked?

    The "guide" you've used is old and very, very wrong.

    If your PC can't see it, I'm not sure what your options are I'm afraid. :(

    Have you tried connecting it to the PC an issuing the "fastboot devices" command?
     
  4. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    Hi el, it's the endeavouru type bootloader unlocked (it says unlocked st top of screen in pink ). Yeah I guessed the guide was umm.... S*it after the event... On doing fast boot devices command I get a code (HT23XW109506) and the text 'fastboot' next to it? Any use? More progress than I've got lol thanks
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    The code is your serial number, fastboot can see your phone.

    With an unlocked Bootloader and a device that you can talk to with fastboot, I'm 99.99% certain I can get you up and sorted again. :)

    What do you want to do? Return to stock or go for a custom ROM? The latter is more complicated, but has a bigger chance of success (dependant on whatever S/W version was on your phone first).
     
  6. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    Cool at least there may be some hope... Custom rom would be great but whatever u are more comfortable with? Cheers
     
  7. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    I'm in work right now, I'll write something up for you when I get home and put the little one to bed.

    I might have even written something before TBH.

    Another quickie, what is your hboot version?
     
  8. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    That would be great thanks for the help, appreciate it. Hboot is 1.36.0000
     
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    Sorry for not getting round to this last night :eek: :(

    You'll need to flash a recovery image, you can get TWRP from here: TeamWin Projects - TWRP 2.6 - HTC One X (International / Tegra 3 / EndeavorU) | TeamWin

    Download the img file and place it in your fastboot folder. Boot to fastboot on your phone, connect it to your PC and type:

    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot flash recovery XXX.img
    XXX being the name of the file you downloaded.

    Let it complete, reboot back to your bootloader and select recovery. You should be taken in to TWRP recovery.

    On your PC, you'll then want to head here: [ROM] Android Revolution HD 31.3 | High | HTC One X > XDA

    Follow the download links and download ARHD for the One X. Open (don't extract) the zip file and look for a file called boot.img. Place that in your fastboot folder.

    Back to your phone, connect it to your PC then in to TWRP, select Advanced and there should be an option for mounts and storage. Select that, then mount USB. The phone should appear as an external drive on your PC?

    Copy the zip file over to the phone, unmount, disconnect and go to the wipe menu in TWRP and select Factory Reset.

    Once done, go back to the main menu and select Install Zip from SD Card. Choose the ARHD zip you just copied over, confirm and let it do what it needs to do. When it's finished, you want to reboot back to the bootloader, connect your phone to the PC again and flash the boot image with the following commands.

    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot flash boot boot.img
    Let it flash, then type:

    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot erase cache
    Reboot.

    It might take a while (10 mins or so), but you should boot up in to Android Revolution.
     
    denz112 likes this.
  10. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    Hey El Presidente, no worries mate i know what its like with a little one around ....bless em :) . thanks for the guide ... im nearly there , installed twrp and downloaded ( boot.img 0.1 for Android Revolution HD 32.x) from arhd as its the only one that has a valid link . copied boot.img from it and installed zip onto phone here is where im stuck .... windows sees the zip on phone but trwp doesnt ?? so cant install etc any ideas ??? sorry :thinking::thinking:

    Edit twrp sees the zip in the file manager but not the install section ?
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    OK, try rebooting and heading back in to recovery to see if it picks it up after a reboot.
     
  12. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    nope still not seeing it im not sure its the right file as its got the adb and fastboot exe files in it but no other link works on the arhd site for one
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    OK, when I can get to a PC, I'll see if I can find some other links.

    Sorry this has been a little drawn out, we'll get there in the end!
     
  14. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    no worries i appreciate the help ... i'll let u off :laugh:

    just to put a spanner in the works what are the viper and CyanogenMod (i used this on my desire) roms like now????
     
  15. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    My One X is currently being used by Mrs Presidente so I'm not sure what CM is like now, it was still in the very early Alpha stages when I was using the phone.

    Venom was great though, it was my Sense ROM of choice. If you're confident with downloading that, you can try again with that, the process will be the same.

    I only chose ARHD because it was close to stock and a relatively way to get you up and running again.
     
  16. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    I now have a phone that boots up !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i used cm for now as it was the first one i could find . so if i find the zip for the site you recommended or the viper one i just go through the last parts of your guide i take it ??

    Thanks so much El Presidente your a bl**dy star !!!!! :D:D:D
     
  17. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    denz112 likes this.
  18. denz112

    denz112 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    Thanks for the link I'll have a play later and thanks for all your help I know some people come on here who don't appreciate it but I do cheers mate your a star!!
     
  19. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    Thank you, I'm really glad you have a working phone again. :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...