1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Unrooting to stock EE uk.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rudedawg, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. Rudedawg

    Rudedawg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    863
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    863
    95
    98
    Security
    Southampton UK
    Anyone got a link to the firmware to unroot to ? Tried everything and my phone just doesn't work as well rooted as when I got it out the box. Software doesn't work like samsung link and most of all signal is 1 bar everywhere in Southampton for me. One of the few 4G cities in the country. im sat next to my missus on her iPhone 5s on EE with full signal. Absolutely fuming with this handset now and just want it working properly again.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Then something's wrong with it. Rooting only adds a single file and an app to access it. Apps that don't request root don't know whether the phone is rooted or not.

    It sounds like whatever you used to root the phone also messed up the ROM, system and/or radios.

    Look for a way to flash a stock ROM. Then root with something that actually just roots. I suggest Kingo
     
  3. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,441
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,441
    5,653
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    I would be inclined to do a swerve on Kingo root if I were you Rudedawg. It has been banished from the xda developers forum. This article sheds more light on the situation...

    DO NOT Use Kingo Root & VRoot to Root Your Android Device

    Instead , I would suggest flashing the latest stock EE firmware to your phone and then re-root and flash a custom ROM of your choice but do not change the modem/LTE.


    UPDATE It would appear that in that last few days, Kingo have re-written their code and that it is now accepted by xda. Proceed at your own risk.
     
    Rudedawg likes this.
  4. Rudedawg

    Rudedawg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    863
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    863
    95
    98
    Security
    Southampton UK
    I'm inclined to agree with Ironass. Introducing new techniques to me at this stage isn't likely to improve matters. Time to hunt that firmware .



    EDIT: lol at the 9 hour download time . Marvellous.
     
  5. Rudedawg

    Rudedawg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    863
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    863
    95
    98
    Security
    Southampton UK
    well new issue. USB feature is disabled for me. Because data usage is FCing everytime I enter it I cannot access the USB settings. The phone is detected when I plug it in because the phone charges but cannot access storage features.

    trying a reflash without a wipe first

    EDIT: That didn't work at all.


    EDIT: full wipe brought back Data usage and USB features.
     

Share This Page

Loading...