1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Update to Jelly Bean on rooted I9300

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fosa, Oct 29, 2012.

  1. Fosa

    Fosa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    28
    2
    16
    Hi i have a rooted galaxy s3 gt i9300 in 4.0.4 and i just got the update for the jelly bean. If i update will i lose the root? I downloaded the update and it rebooted in the recovery mode screen, i pressed reboot now and nothing happened. What should i know about the update?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes you would lose root.

    The best thing to do would be to flash a custom ROM.
     
  3. Fosa

    Fosa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    28
    2
    16
    if i update i will only lose the root or all the data? Can i update and then root again?
     
  4. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    You won't lose any data. You can root it back, just as you did the first time. If you have a custom recovery (E.g. CWM Recovery), then you can't perform OTA updates. Best way would be by using Odin and by downloading the firmware on the computer.
     
  5. Fosa

    Fosa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    28
    2
    16
    Is there any link for the firmware and a guide to do it using odin?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    But why? Custom are tweaked for better performance, better battery and fixes things samsung won't fix. I don't understand any reason why someone rooted would stick with official
     
  7. Fosa

    Fosa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    28
    2
    16
    i am new in android and i dont want to mess things up. Can u give me a guide to do what you suggest? Will i have any bug that i wouldnt have with the official?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    What bug?
     
  9. Fosa

    Fosa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    28
    2
    16
    i dont know just asking. Is there any guide?
     
  10. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    If you rooted the phone the hard part has already been done. During the Root process you most likely installed a recovery like Clockwork Mod. Download the JB ROM you want to try to your SD card. Boot into recovery. Clear data and cache and delvik cache. Then chose install from ZIP and select the ROM you downloaded and install it.

    If you have data you will need to recover then use Titanium back to backup any data you need to save.

    Save yourself the hassle of re-rooting your phone. Half the fun of rooting your phone is trying custom ROMs.

    Head over to XDA Developers website and check out some of the ROMs there.
     
    Fosa likes this.
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I would recommend taking a titanium backup first but also a backup from clockwork mod recovery.

    Most samsung based roms, you can flash without a wipe. But best to have a backup first incase it goes wring
     
    Fosa likes this.
  12. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,086
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,086
    39,644
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    *moved to Samsung Galaxy S3 > (International) Galaxy S3 - All Things Root*
     
    SUroot likes this.
  13. Quboid

    Quboid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009

    Jun 30, 2009
    561
    120
    93
    Male
    Londonderry, UK
    I find this very confusing. I rooted my SGS3 ICS with Odin (and I've rooted several other Android phones in the past) but I have a terribly hard time figuring out what ROM I should be using for my handset. Typically there are some 5 letter codes but mine often doesn't match any of the options.

    For example, on XDA, there's a thread "[ROM][CWM][XXDLJ4 Jellybean 4.1.1] Odexed & Deodexed Stock Roms" - what?! I'm sure that's great stuff if you know what this means but for me, and I suspect most people, that's intimidatingly confusing. That's my build number but I've no idea if that's the ROM I want.

    Edit: After finding this, rooting JB was easy enough:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1957273
     
  14. CDPlant

    CDPlant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,645
    974
    213
    Essex, UK
    I do agree that to a newer user that has just rooted, it is rather confusing in that there are so many acronyms and build numbers available. Especially with Samsung ROMs this seems prevalent, as other manufacturers (I know HTC for sure) don't use build numbers like Samsung does, or at least ones that mean a lot.

    DLJ4 is the latest build of Jelly Bean by Samsung for the I9300, so usually the latest one will be the best build to date. However sometimes there could be a bug that wasn't present before or something similar. I don't actually know how they do the numbering/letting of builds but SUroot does so if he sees maybe he could explain? :) From there you can know the latest versions and can decide if that's the one you want.

    The good thing about Android is that if you don't want that build, you change change to another one, in fact any one you want that's been released for the I9300 :)
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    XX pretty much means most of Europe.

    D no one knows yet. We had A, B and now D

    L is the year. L is 2012

    J is the month. J is October

    4 is the release number. This character goes 1 to 9 then goes to the alphabet if 10 or more releases in the same month
     
    CDPlant likes this.
  16. saimike

    saimike Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012

    Jul 19, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I've got a rooted GS3 (i9300) that was working fine with Exchange. I ran the JellyBean Cyanomod 10 upgrade and now can't get exchange to connect. I've tried EVERY combination the following:
    data-sync on/off
    factory reset - create exchange BEFORE google account or after
    both SSL and ANY SSL cert check boxes checked
    NetBIOS-domain\username & username@domainname.com

    I keep getting the following
    couldn't finish
    can't connect to server

    I have a non-rooted GS3 (AT&T) and am able to connect to the exchange account immediately. What gives? Please help.
     
  17. CDPlant

    CDPlant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,645
    974
    213
    Essex, UK
    If your stock GS3 can connect to exchange account but your CM10 GS3 cannot (and it worked fine before), I would imagine that it is Cyanogenmod that is causing the issue. I had a quick look on Google and it seems that a lot of devices have problems with exchange accounts on CM.

    My advice would be that if you need to use exchange badly, then you should go back to a Touchwiz ROM and it should work fine.
     
  18. Fosa

    Fosa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    28
    2
    16
    Guys when something stable for 4.1.2 comes out,can you post it here ? I saw some beta rom for 4.1.2 but i dont know if it has any problems yet.
     
  19. Gomjaba

    Gomjaba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012

    Nov 8, 2012
    671
    106
    113
    Here is the newly released stock ROM :

    Firmware archive | Samsung Updates

    Only the Polish one has been released, but you can use it nonetheless ..
     
  20. Fosa

    Fosa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    28
    2
    16
    will it be in polish or sth?
     
  21. Gomjaba

    Gomjaba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012

    Nov 8, 2012
    671
    106
    113
    Nope .. Just means its from Poland, but it is a normal firmware... In fact, mine is from Middle East (which the original leak is from) and it is in English (too) :p

    It just mean that you MIGHT have Polish bloatware. The Middle East leak for example has a branded Jewish calendar :)
     
  22. Fosa

    Fosa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    28
    2
    16
    ok and if i download the firmware can i flash it in my rooted s3?
     

Share This Page

Loading...