1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Internet connection dropping on wifi

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hawker, Jan 16, 2014.

  1. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    She who must be obeyed has a Note (N7000) which has been working without issues for almost 2 years, but over this last week it's developed an internet/wifi connection drop-out issue.

    See thread

    I know it's for an N7000, but searching this can be a generic problem for any device, and I would appreciate it if any boffs here in S4's-ville may have any suggestions, as I'm at a loss.

    Cheers me dears.
     

    Advertisement

  2. y2kgtp

    y2kgtp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    98
    11
    18
    What kind of router, and what bands are you connecting on? 2.4 or 5ghz?

    We purchased a 2.4Ghz baby monitor about a year or so, and noticed it absolutely kills 2.4Ghz Internet speed to a dead crawl when the camera is on. Luckily for us I just moved everything to 5Ghz as it was a dual band router.

    Unlucky for the next door neighbor who has no clue what is going on, and I can hear swearing up a storm over Internet not working while sitting in the driveway.

    (We are renting a house, and have loud and obnoxious neighbors, so I don't mind giving back a little frustration to them)

    For all you know, something new close by may be powered on and causing issues.
     
    Hawker likes this.
  3. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I've run a wifi analyser, and nothing is interfering with it.

    Its odd that it works on her work's router, which suggests a router problem, but it's even odder as I've not changed the router's config since I installed it about 2 years ago, and there's never been an issue with this handset until last week, and all other devices connecting to the router work fine.

    More fiddling tonight coming up....
    :D
     
  4. y2kgtp

    y2kgtp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    98
    11
    18
    Isn't the device dual band? Do you have the option on your home router to jump to the other available band?
     
  5. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Not sure to be honest.
    I've tried lots of different tweaks on the router but made no difference. (channels, frequencies, encryption, etc etc.)

    Its just really odd that its only started happening on this router this last week or so, with nothing being altered on the router, and apparently no alterations on the device. Almost 2 years went by on it without any wifi issues.

    Even a factory reset didnt cure it.
     
  6. y2kgtp

    y2kgtp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    98
    11
    18
    I'd check to see if you can switch bands at the home router. Every neighbor around my house is all on 2.4Ghz, so I have 5Ghz all to myself.
     
    Hawker likes this.
  7. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    A static ip seemed to have done the trick.
     

Share This Page

Loading...