1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Internet/data connection a bit iffy?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JimR123, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. JimR123

    JimR123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    UK
    Hi,

    I've had a Hero for a few weeks now, and while most things are great, I'm finding the internet connection very unreliable.

    For example, if I try to use the browser to view a website, often it says it can't find the page, even for www.google.com, and this is using a bookmark so I know it's a valid address.

    Often in the Market, it says it doesn't have a connection and to retry or cancel.

    I am usually connected via wi-fi, either at home or at the office, so I know the wi-fi connection is good, and both have been tested thoroughly with my iPhone 3G.

    It's almost as if I have to wait for something to happen before I can use the net, but I make sure the wifi signal symbol appears before I try anything.

    Why could my data connection be so unstable?
     

    Advertisement

  2. JimR123

    JimR123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    UK
    Anybody else getting this issue?
     
  3. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Is this a WiFi only issue then? Or does it happen on data connection too. Also does it only happen on the work WiFi, or have you tested it with others?
     
  4. chriswh

    chriswh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Herts UK
    Yes I'm getting the same behaviour on our home Wi-Fi - other devices give good performance all over the house. If I turn off Wi-Fi, I'll get the url every time with T-Mobile albeit slower. I've tried clearing the cache which sometimes helps.
     
  5. kutsushita

    kutsushita Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    56
    2
    36
    student
    houston, tx
    not trying to hijack your thread here but i'm having similar problems except with my network connection rather than wifi. if anyone knows whats up with that please let me know!
     
  6. pulsarman

    pulsarman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    76
    0
    15
    I have the same issue with wifi, i think it may be the router, as in the hero dont work too well with it. Mine is a netgear router if that helps
     
  7. JimR123

    JimR123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    UK
    Problem seems the same on work wifi and home wifi.

    If I turn wi-fi off, it seems to work fine about 90% of the time. With wifi on, it works fine about 20% of the time.

    One consistent thing I've noticed, is that in the browser, trying to browse to a website, such as youtube.com, the progress bar sits at about 10% for ages, and then either fails with a "website is down" type message, or I cancel it out coz it takes so long to do nothing.

    It's almost as if it's a DNS issue or something. I suggest that coz it seems to be the first "block" of the progress bar that it gets stuck on.

    Are there any apps for android that I can use to test network connections and stuff? It would be nice if I could do a "ping" like in Windows, coz then I could see how long it takes to convert a name into an ip address, then how slow the response is from the server.

    If there is an issue with my routers (a netgear at work, and a bt business hub at home), it only affects the Hero, and absolutely no other devices.
     
  8. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    kutsushita start a new thread please! :p
     
  9. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    JimR123 and chriswh, this is likely to be an issue with your modems. The Hero does have issues with some modems.

    Below are some suggestions to fix the issue, it demands going into your router settings.


    On a side note I suffer this issue at work, and not being able to touch router settings I am stuck with no WiFi at work.
     
  10. JimR123

    JimR123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    UK
    My home router is set on 802.11b/g, so that sounds ok, right?

    Anybody able to say what's happening at that 10% progress, and why it might get stuck there? It seems that once it get's past 10%, it'll work fine.
     
  11. greg_stinson

    greg_stinson Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009

    Sep 18, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    I think that the Hero simply doesn't like some routers very much, I've got a Linksys WAG54G2 and performance is very hit and miss, sometimes just wont do anything until I reset the router, no rhyme or reason behind it, just random times, works fine on other wireless connections and everything else works fine at home!

    It's a strange one indeed, think about swapping my router, see if it makes any difference, pain in the arse though! :mad:
     
  12. nickhirst

    nickhirst Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    I had the same issue, great WiFi connection but market and pages not responding.
    I turned off N on my netgear router so its just B & G.
    Now all is perfect
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...