1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Internet pass through

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by theboy, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. theboy

    theboy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Unfortunately this is my first smartphone and I can't seem to get this thing to work...

    My laptop is running Windows XP SP3 and I've installed the latest HTC sync software from the website (as of this morning) and rebooted at least twice.

    When connecting the phone the USB icon appears in the top right hand corner and the phone startes charging. I can change the settings and connect to sync and access the phone as a disk drive with no problems.

    However when changing to internet pass through an icon appears with two horizontal arrows pointing in either direction but I can't access either the Internet or the market. Device manager shows under network adapters the HTC Remote NDIS based Device is rnning properly.

    My laptop has no issues connecting to the internet, I'm connected via a cable at work (LAN) that connects straight out to our provider. The laptop is not running with a firewall. I've changed this and connected to my work network using VPN but again have the same problem.

    Has anyone had the same problem?

    Thanks
    K
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    I'm confused, what are you expecting to see with pass through enabled.
     
  3. varunm.11

    varunm.11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I too can do everything properly on my laptop:
    1) No firewall
    2) Can see the 'internet pass thru' notification, 2 arrows on top of screen
    3) HTC device in device manager
    4) Latest version of HTC sync

    Still the internet doesn't work on the phone, whereas it works perfectly on my laptop. Can't understand why it happens... Please advice!!!

    Thanks,
    Varun Mahajan
     
  4. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    Mine seems to work, Have you tried turning on usb debugging.
     

Share This Page

Loading...