1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support iPhone headset: use in calls

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JamesHP, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. JamesHP

    JamesHP Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    15
    1
    16
    Manchester, UK
    Hi,

    Got my Galaxy S3 today, really like it so far. Only issue comes from my headphones: I have a pair of Sennheiser MM30i headphones, which I got when I had my iPhone. Has the remote/mic etc on it. Obviously plays music fine, but when it gets to a call it routes everything back through the device's earpiece and mic, with a message 'Current sound effect not supported by line out'. I've read that iPhone headsets work with Android phones, minus the volume buttons, so I was wondering if anyone knew a workaround to this issue/if anyone else has experienced it.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jimbo1mcm

    jimbo1mcm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    605
    245
    93
    There is a blog on another forum which goes into detail about the wiring that Apple uses for their headsets, which is different from Android. Nothing wrong with your S3. Get the proper headset for Android phones.
     
  3. JamesHP

    JamesHP Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    15
    1
    16
    Manchester, UK
    I know there's nothing wrong with my S3, but I'd rather not have to go out and buy another headset for now. I'm happy with the one I've got. I'm not bothered about having all the control functionality, just the ability to receive calls properly, and I've read that you can still do that with iPhone headsets on Android devices.

    It's quite bizarre really. If I make a call it routes it perfectly through the headset. Ditto if I receive a call when I'm using the phone. But if I receive a call when the phone is locked it won't go through the headset, and instead goes to the phone's built-in earpiece. Can anyone help with this?
     
  4. Saadbaba

    Saadbaba Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012

    Oct 15, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi JamesHP. I have had my s3 for a while and the Samsung headphones just stopped working. so I got Sennheiser headphone and assumed that they would work normally but I am having the exact same problem as you are. Can you please tell me if you figured out a way yet? I don't care about the volume buttons, I just want the calls to go through the headphones when I receive calls...
     
  5. Heisenberg123

    Heisenberg123 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    703
    74
    78
    Hamilton, ON
    I think the problem is with the headphones being specific to the device, my Klipsch where made for use with iPhone and those contol mic functions do not work the same with my GS3
     
  6. Saadbaba

    Saadbaba Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012

    Oct 15, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I think we all know that that's the issue. I am just asking if there is a way to solve it i.e. using an adapter or some changes in the OS.

    I found a couple of solutions online but they include opening up the headphones and soldering or making a custom converter (which tbh seems simple just a lot of effort.:dontknow:
     
  7. shortride

    shortride Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    102
    3
    56
    SE Oklahoma
    If it is that important to be able to use your current headset, I would suggest taking it to a local phone store and let them troubleshoot it. They would be most likely be able to help.
     
  8. Noxian

    Noxian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    64
    6
    16
    Male
    Its another example of Apple using a different standard that everyone else. They are the only phone manufacture that does this.

    Another reason I got off the Apple wagon :)
     
  9. kijanak

    kijanak Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012

    Nov 8, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I am getting the same message. But in my case it started after I upgraded from pics to jelly bean. Also my media volume only does not output to speaker even though it isn't muted. Can someone say how I can fix this.
     
  10. oNOVAo

    oNOVAo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    43
    1
    36
    I was facing same problem after testing a few sets of headphones beats , schenisers , skull candys only ones that would work with calls were the skull candys i also found the volume on them all to be a little low for my liking so got my self a cheapy bluetooth set off amazon which for the money work great for calls skipping tracks and volume and also play music louder than others i tried.
     

Share This Page

Loading...