1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root is. 596 slower than. 595?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by magic1, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    218
    5
    36
    So i flashed the rooted version of .596 from .595 and didnt change anything except recalibrate overclock settings with quickclock advanced. It seems to have given me the same settings but when i ran a benchmark test my numbers dropped. Cant physically tell a difference but i went from 1906 to 1860. No big deal but ive seen others numbers and was expecting to get faster, not slower?:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    I don't really trust benchmarks to give an accurate assessment of my phone. . .
     
  3. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    218
    5
    36
    Yeah, i dont put a lot of faith in em either. Just curious.
     
  4. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    So I've been on .596 a while now and it's had time to works stuff out and get settled into my phone nicely. My first benchmark showed a whopping 1499, now it's much higher. And really you are the best judgment. And you never know, there may have been something going on in the background at the time that you ran the benchmark.
     
  5. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    Yeah. Don't trust those benchmark scores.....I was running 596 stock and my score was over 1800. I overclocked and got a really noticable performance increase but my benchy droped to 1685. Pay no mind to those scores.
     
  6. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,379
    3,933
    Male
    I don't know about the benchmarks, but my battery seems more sucky, fwiw. Maybe being on vacation, I'm away from the charger more.
     
  7. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    my quadrant scores have dropped slightly...but real world performance has increased noticeably...
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Don't forget it takes a day or more for your phone to "settle down" after a rom update. :D
     
  9. chmodx

    chmodx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    567
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    567
    25
    68
    Tonight I noticed my extended battery drained 20% in 3 hours with almost no usage. Something's up.
     
  10. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    So far I'm pleased with my Quadrant scores of .596. Of course, I never flashed any other GB roms to compare to as I was still on Froyo. But I ran 4 quadrant scores (I'm OC'd at 1.2 and undervolted) and got 1851, 1908, 2058 and 2048 so I can say that the phone scores much better on Quadrant than on Froyo with the same OC settings. I can also attest that I think I am draining battery a decent bit faster on GB than Froyo.
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Go to settings... battery... battery usage... and see what's been using your battery since the last charge. :D
     
  12. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    I got a good question for ya. Why would your display use 23% of your battery when your display is always off?
     
  13. jlewis74

    jlewis74 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    157
    11
    38
    Market Area Managers
    Charlotte NC
    Mine is showing 43% display, 20% phone idle, and 17% cell standby, those dont make sense to me either.
     

Share This Page

Loading...