1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is Android 2.2 available on Eris?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kikofosho, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    That's it. Can I get 2.2 on the Eris?

    I have a rooted phone via the universal root. I just got invited to Google Music, and I don't think my phone will accept it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    547
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    Do you mean the universal eris root for dummies from the thread on this forum? If yes, which ROM are you currently using?

    You absolutely can put 2.2 on your phone, but at this point 2.3 gingerbread ROMs are much more stable and much faster. After we're sure you've rooted with a good method, we'll link you do and provide steps for getting 2.3 on your phone.
     
    kikofosho likes this.
  3. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    Yep! I used the universal eris root for dummies.

    The ROM that was reccomended to me was xtrSENSE 4.6.5

    Please say it's still possible!
     
  4. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    547
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    It is 100% possible. Download the ROM from this post (the vanilla version would probably be best): http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/318705-condemned-cm7-24.html#post2942976

    This is Condemned cm7.

    Make sure you backup any apps using titanium backup so you can restore them (but don't restore system apps - anything in red or green in titanium)

    After the download is complete, put it on the root of your sdcard, same place you put xtrsense. Then boot into recovery, make a nandroid backup, wipe data/factory reset, wipe dalvik cache, then flash condemned cm7. Reboot your phone. It will take a while to boot the first time, and all of your apps will be lost, but you can restore them using titanium backup.
     
  5. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    Do you believe that Google Music, which requires Android 2.2, will be able to be run on my phone?

    Also, I think I have LauncherPro, and it's so sexy. Will LauncherPro work with this new ROM?

    And finally, all of my apps are free and I can easily get them on the market. Should I back them up?
     
  6. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    547
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    Google music will run, no problem. I have it on my phone right now. LauncherPro will also work. The ROM comes with adw stock, but I always install LauncherPro instead.

    Backing up apps just saves data (settings, game saves if you play games). It can also be faster to back them up and restore them than to redownload them. If you have the paid version of titanium backup, you can batch restore apps. If you have the free version, it is still faster than downloading them again, but none of that is necessary. Just make sure you do the nand backup.
     
  7. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    One final question! It's a stupid one!

    I put the CCM7 folder in the root of the sd card, not the zip file, right?
     
  8. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    547
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    No, you put the zip on the root of the sdcard. The recovery will flash the zip.
     
  9. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    I'm trying to root my sister's phone tonight as well. I am using the universal root for dummies method. Do I also have to wipe the dalvik cache for her phone? I notice it's not included in the original instructions.
     
  10. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    Nvm. Her trackball isn't working, so we couldn't install/flash the ROM. We're going to try to get her a new phone tomorrow.

    Thank you for everything!!
     
  11. Gato

    Gato Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    93
    7
    16
    Yes Google Music works on an Eris running a CM7 based mod. I'm doing it myself.

    Yes you should do a wipe. Or at least I would. Going from stock to a CM7 mod without doing a wipe seems pretty risky to me.
     
  12. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    I ran through the universal root for dummies on my sister's phone, but when the time came to flash a ROM, I found out her trackball didn't work. We're returning her phone, and a new one should be coming tomorrow.

    I already unpacked the apk and zip files, and we're keeping the original battery and memory card; do I have to erase those files and start al over again since it's a "new phone"?
     
  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    kikofosho,

    Did you know that there's a version of Amon_RA's custom recovery that does not rely on the trackball?

    http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/214240-amon_ra-1-6-2-custom-recovery-trackball-not-required.html

    Lots of folks have used it...

    Good luck and cheers!
     
    kikofosho likes this.
  14. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
  15. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    LOL....sorry I didn't see these posts earlier...:(

    I might have seen them earlier if this thread was in the all-things-root sub-forum (which I'm going to move this to now since it really is all-root related ;)). Its just been really busy at work and I didn't get a chance to properly scan around here (trying to keep an eye-out, but sometimes we miss one).

    Cheers!
     
  16. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    S'okay!

    But since we're getting a refurb, and we're keeping the tiny memory card, do we have to start from the beginning of the universal root for dummies and delete the files that were created in our failed attempt to root?
     
  17. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Having the files on your old SD card will just mean you can skip downloading the files that are needed by the Universal thread. I would also think that the Gscript directory that you extracted things to will already be set up. You'll know if/when you are missing something when you re-follow the steps ;).

    Its not too-hard either way...you've rooted once--that was the hard part, eh? :)

    One of us will be around to help you re-root if you get stuck.

    Cheers and good luck!
     
  18. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto

    So do I skip the rooting with G Script lite where I clicked on "root_part1" and "root_part2" and got the blue screen that said "Congratulations! You have ROOT!"? Do instead go to the "Finishing Up" part?

    Thank you!
     
  19. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    You'll have to re-download and install Gscript Lite and then you should be able to resume at post #3 (figure 19) and do all of the steps from there on.

    Make sense? I'll try to keep an eye-out for this, but I've got a pretty busy afternoon going on here (at work), LOL ;).

    Good luck!
     
  20. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    No no no! You've already helped so much! Thank you! I really really appreciate this. I'll root the phone tonight. Thanks!
     
  21. kikofosho

    kikofosho Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Palo Alto
    Hey! I also posted this on the Universal Root thread!

    I got an error message after trying to flash a ROM. It said:

    I was trying to flash CCM7 on my sister's phone. I flashed this same ROM on my phone a few days ago and it worked. I also have to note that I wiped the dalvik cache.

    Please help!
     
  22. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    kikofosho,

    Saw your posts over in eu1's thread...you are in better hands over there, LOL.

    I'll keep watching that thread ;).

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...