1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is anyone running Froyo yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stoney73, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. stoney73

    stoney73 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    anyone running the alpha 2.2 froyo yet? if so, whats it like?
     

    Advertisement

  2. 1ceb0x

    1ceb0x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    73
    6
    16
    game tester E.A
    Bucharest
    It's still early for me to put 2.2 froyo yet. because it's just launched and its kinda beta. That makes it buggy. I expect to go official and then install it. But i'm thinkin, why should I put froyo 2.2 when i have vr12 and i don't use Sense UI?

    Basically, the things that 2.1 doesn't have and froyo does, is some graphical things that works on sense ui. Thats what I know. Maybe I'm wrong and we will see something new on 2.2. I am to lazy to go to android website and see the froyo in action :).
     
  3. stoney73

    stoney73 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    basically, froyo is a lot faster than 2.1. With or without sense. Which would make our hero's more responsive.with or without overclocking.
    Which makes 2.2 worth waiting for. cm6 is already pretty good, the only real fault concerns the camera.

    Everyone is just waiting to see what progress the villain team have made with their version.
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I tried one of the 2.2s from XDA. It was fast, but not consistantly fast. Sometimes I would get 4.7 on the linpak test, but most of the time I would get 2/3s. It was still a pretty buggy ROM. For example, downloading from the market took like 2/3 attempts per app and the battery life was poor.

    Now I'm on EzHero 2.1 (with Jit) and it's consistantly fast and much, much better.
     
  5. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    And the addition of a JIT compiler that makes apps run up to 4.5x faster. Kind of a big deal, especially for us hero users with our slow processors.

    Oh, and built-in apps2sd.

    Then there's also the Flash 10 player, but i dont think that is ever gonna be got working on the hero's cpu.

    So, yeah, a bit more than just graphical tweaks :D
     
  6. jan2lid

    jan2lid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    76
    9
    16
    U.K.
    One word FAST! I love it! Solved the camera problems by downloading Camera Magic (don't use the camera much anyway as it's not the Hero's strongest point!).
    Great for the first release!;)
     
  7. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    It seems no faster, looks new though, which helps
     
  8. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    going back to VR12 I miss Sense
     
  9. bzzzzz

    bzzzzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    155
    2
    36
    teacher
    uk
    How do you find out the linpak?
    Is there an app?
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Yup, just search for 'linpak' in the market :)
     
  11. raymo

    raymo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    UK,
    looks good, no faster than vr12, camera bad even with camera magic,
    linpak scores 3.3.
    will get better i hope!
     
  12. sebbat

    sebbat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Do you mean this Froyd Vilain does not have Sense UI ?
     
  13. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    That's right.
     
  14. messyhead

    messyhead Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    I think I'll try it tonight. been running SenseHero 2.1 b5.1 for a while, but I'm going to try VillianRom12 to see what it's like. So I'll see what Froyo is like as well.
     
  15. BigC_13

    BigC_13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I've tried 4 different 2.2 builds so far, the alpha and fusion rom from xda weren't very stable, flashed Froyd 1.0 from villain team, it was stable but having oc trouble, they just released a new version 1.1 I've flashed that and i think i'm in love, so far the most stable and smoothest 2.2 rom i have tried. and the kernel is supporting my hero oc'ed to 729, tried 748 but that was a little too much for the hero to handle, another great job by the villain rom team
     
  16. bzzzzz

    bzzzzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    155
    2
    36
    teacher
    uk
    Which program do you use to overclock?
     
  17. The Wagster

    The Wagster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    I'm trying the Fusion Froyo v4 Rom at the moment. Seems stable so far. GPS accurate. Camera is fine if you download camera magic app.
     
  18. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
  19. mrothe

    mrothe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Technical Engineer - University Radio Nottingham
    Nottingham, UK
    I've got Froyd now and absolutely loving it. I expected to miss sense but I prefer the new interface. I see references to "LauncherPro", how much of the interface is launcherpro and how much is FroYo?
     
  20. bzzzzz

    bzzzzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    155
    2
    36
    teacher
    uk
    Is anyone getting over 12 hours battery on froyo?
     
  21. stoney73

    stoney73 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    its your choice when you first boot up. Have a look for launcherpro+, made by the same guy, who is making non-sense versions of sense widgets.
     
  22. zerodichris

    zerodichris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    im running Froyd and am getting 30+ hrs so far , i brought a 1550mAh battery from hongkong seems great so far and Froyd just beats the hell outta sense

    :D
     
  23. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Basically, the home screen is an app just like anything else. So HTC Sense/Launcher Pro/etc are all just apps. HTC Sense is a little more invasive than most homescreen apps though, since it's baked in with the firmware.

    But yeah, basically just your homescreen + widgets + app menu + homescreen prefferences = launcher pro.

    The notification bar, the normal settings + anything else = froyo.
     
  24. maddog497

    maddog497 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    40
    7
    16
    I'm almost at 12 hours today and my battery is at 50%. That includes flashing Android 2.2 Froyo (Fusion!rom 2.2). I spent a couple of hours putting back the apps I like and setting it up to my liking.


    So far I am impressed.

    Jim
     
  25. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I am getting more than 12 hours. It's perhaps not as good as V12 (2 days), but certainly at least a day and a bit. I haven't really had the opportunity to try it by letting my battery run all the way out though.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...