1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support is anyones 3g connection consistent?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by incrediblenotinstock, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    When im at my house 3g drops in and out like every other 5 seconds I was just wondering if this is normal or not.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MiamiFin33

    MiamiFin33 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    28
    1
    16
    I constantly lose 3g coverage. I have no 3g at work or at my parents house. Its terrible.
     
  3. ericnail

    ericnail Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    632
    137
    93
    Dr.
    Alpharetta, GA
    A lot of times I have 3G coverage, but the connection just isn't used..

    it's wierd because a lot of times im trying to use an app and cant use them because the 3G isnt woriking..

    Anytime this happens I activate "Fast Reboot" (app from the market) and it works again. Probobly will be fixed w/ Frozen Yogurt.
     
  4. Sublimation

    Sublimation Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    My connection is fairl consistent. I never drop 3G, even in spots where my iPhone and AT&T would lose it like clockwork. I have a handful of times noticed a major drop in speed for a few moments, but the 3G indicator doesn't go off. This could of course be a fluke, and I am actually losing 3G momentarily.
     
    bennec likes this.
  5. Cerrian

    Cerrian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    I've found that if my X is actively connected to a wireless network then the 3G will go inactive (or at least the symbol drops off the screen) until a 3G service is required or if connection to the wireless network is lost for whatever reason. This was testable by toggling WiFi on and off.
     
  6. redgtconv

    redgtconv Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    68
    3
    16
    I live in Miami and the signal is pretty strong all over town, however, when in my house I can be sitting on the couch and watch the 3g signal go up and down then go to 1x then right back to 3g. But I also noticed that the speed at which the browser works varies greatly even when the signal indicator does'nt.
     
  7. thehaggis

    thehaggis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    When signal strength is strong, it's very solid, when it's avg, it's in and out of 3G constantly. I'm assuming Verizon is doing a similar bullshit math with the signal strength bars as Apple did. It might account for the "I'm in 3G, I'm in 1x, I'm in 3G,....."
     
  8. Phoenix Zero

    Phoenix Zero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    84
    8
    16
    Web Designer
    My connection hasn't dropped once yet. In fact, i use it over wifi because of how solid it is.
     
  9. MarkAllan22

    MarkAllan22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    35
    11
    18
    At home, my connection is usually very strong (3-4 bars), but at work, it's jumpy.
     
  10. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    This may also be a tower issue where the phone is jumping channels. Even on my WM and Incredible the 3G bars would bounce from full to none and back.
     
  11. taraseamus

    taraseamus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    San Jose, CA
    New to Verizon, found my signal was totally irratic.3g one minute , 1x the next then NOTHING! Oh well, called and was told that because I am @ the base of the mountain I am probably only getting access 2 1 tower, will try to go thru house till I can find a sweet spot where I get more stable signal later...
     

Share This Page

Loading...