1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Root Is Bootstrap necessary...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by not2shabby, Feb 10, 2011.

1. not2shabby

not2shabby Newbie

if all I want to do is root and run some apps? I've read a bunch of threads and I'm still not sure. Don't flame me too bad, total nOOb here, 1st smart phone and only had it a few weeks. TIA!

Advertisement

2. faber78

faber78 Guest

do et! do et to it!!!!

3. not2shabby

not2shabby Newbie

But is it necessary?

4. faber78

faber78 Guest

i guess not, you should be able to root, use superuser and add whatever apps you want.

you may find it necessary later if you want to add something thats a .zip or make back ups and flash those....but to just add root needed apps, i could be wrong, but i dont think its necessary.

5. colchiro

colchiro Extreme Android User

Bootstrap allows you to create a backup of your entire phone (less sd card) as it was on a certain day.

Titanium or similar apps, only backup apps and their data.

Both are excellent at fixing problems, but custom rom or not, I would still want to be able to backup my phone with recovery.

Likewise, Rom Manager is an excellent backup manager. It also uses bootstrap. Some people have issues with it, but it has always worked for me.

6. Xeneize480

Xeneize480 Android Enthusiast

Bootstrap is a MUST have for me.

7. xliderider

xliderider Android Expert

Yes, it is necessary. Pay the couple bucks for the app. Well worth it.

8. jguns112

jguns112 Well-Known Member

If you are even thinking of doing anything with custom roms or doing anything that might mess up your phone then definitely get it.

9. Btros

Btros Android Enthusiast