1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root Is CIFSManager possible (any ROM/Kernel)?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by akira6968, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. akira6968

    akira6968 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    22
    2
    16
    PC Repair, Cable Guy
    I'm trying to mount shares cuz my stuff's on a windows domain, and requires user, pass, and domain name. XBMC's built-in SMB doesn't play so nice with that (I've spent countless hours, and am quite familiar with how to appropriately name the share paths). Sometimes they work, sometimes not.

    CIFS, however, is easier and more reliable. Hoping to figure out how to get it working on the Sequent! Any ideas or suggestions? Anyone know what the heck cifs.ko is or which one i need on the sequent? i'm so lost on linux lol
     

    Advertisement

  2. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    dont know about a manager but yes CIFS support can be built into the kernel. ;)
     
    akira6968 likes this.
  3. akira6968

    akira6968 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    22
    2
    16
    PC Repair, Cable Guy
    I'm reading up on it, as much as i can understand, and it looks like the [android] linux kernel just doesn't come with it, but it's a module that can be added.

    however, the module has to be compiled specifically for your kernel i guess? can't find a cifs.ko for the sequent :( and i sure won't be trying to make one, i scarcely understand what a kernel is lol
     
  4. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Yea, just needs enabled in the defconfig and recompiled and the new module tossed into lib/modules. ;)
     
  5. akira6968

    akira6968 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    22
    2
    16
    PC Repair, Cable Guy
    is there any way to manually get the modules and add them to system/lib/modules? I ummm....i tried throwing in the cifs.ko and md4.ko modules from an Asus TP forum....no luck. Hey, it's ICS, i thought i'd at least try lol
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    need to be compiled with/for same kernel version and has to be enabled in the kernel for support. ;)

    I will try to compile on tonight. ;)
     
    scary alien and akira6968 like this.
  7. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Finally got this done. ;)

    Size: 7.03 MB
    MD5: 46ac16cbd2de3d668fc9550c29946cb9
    Link: Goo.im Downloads - Downloading kernel-warp2-1.0.zip

    This zip should work for stock or cm10, but needs tested to be sure. ;)

    A mod might wanna move this the the ATR section. ;)
     
    akira6968 and scary alien like this.
  8. leunamez

    leunamez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013

    Jun 16, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Female
    Hi PlayfulGod!
    I've a brand new Oppo Find 5 in witch I've put a ROM ([Find5][4.2.2]ALL in 1 PAC 22.3 Nightlies [CM][PA][AOKP]) that doesn't have CIFS support.
    Can you point me the right direction to add CIFS support or is a difficult process to achieve?
    By what you have said, it must use the same kernel as my ROM, so the patch that you have made will not work or I'm get it all wrong?
    Thank you in advance! :)
     
  9. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,139
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,139
    23,261
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Just wanted to let you guys know I've moved your thread over to the all-things-root area for you.

    Cheers!

    edit: LOL, I just read PG's note about this above (feel free to ping one of us using the /!\ report button and we'll get to you quicker ;) :)). Thanks!
     
    boricuakiller likes this.
  10. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    5,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,017
    3,452
    693
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Is this why my phone doesn't register on my Linux PC? I can't transfer a dang thing from my phone to PC or vice versa:what:
     
  11. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,979
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,979
    1,993
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    that would be mtp. ubuntu supports mtp as of 13.04 and mint supports it as of 15.

    edit: I use Samba on Ubuntu, and ES File Explorer on Android to transfer files back and forth. Wireless ;)
     
    bcrichster and scary alien like this.
  12. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    5,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,017
    3,452
    693
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    What do I install and HOW on Linux 14 to read my phone/mem card? I tried the installer built into my phone (connect to PC as an installer) but it kicked my butt due to lack of experience & knowledge of Linux
    I have no choice at this time but to USB connect
     
  13. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,979
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,979
    1,993
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Well, to be honest the easiest thing would be upgrade to Mint 15 if you are currently on Mint 14. Mint 15 has MTP support out of the box. There are tutorials out there to get MTP working with lower versions of Ubuntu based distros, but I never use MTP. I can tell you this...when I connect my warp2 to Ubuntu 13.04 and Mint 15 via usb my Card and Phone pop up in Nautilus ;)
     
    scary alien and bcrichster like this.
  14. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #89
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    yep same here works fine in the newest version, before that i couldnt get it to work. was forced to remove the card or use cwms ums function
     
    scary alien and bcrichster like this.
  15. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    5,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,017
    3,452
    693
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I read somewhere that there were unnecessary building errors caused from mint 15... That's why I didn't install that one. ...Opinions-Facts? :thinking:
     
  16. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,979
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,979
    1,993
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    I have not built anything with Mint 15, but Ubuntu 13.04 builds fine so I would be surprised if Mint is any different. It is basically just themed/customized Ubuntu.
     
  17. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #89
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    I use mint 15 to build... ive tested both its capacity to run a build and access mtp devices with no problems at all
     
    SuperR, bcrichster and scary alien like this.
  18. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    adb

    Ubuntu 13.04. Gnome3. Works over here. With all our ROMs.
     
  19. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #89
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    adb is also an option, thats alot of typing though lol
     
  20. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    5,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,017
    3,452
    693
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    OK then... I'll be upgrading to mint 15! Thanks guys :D:beer: :beer::cool:
     
  21. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    yes typing is typing. and i do my best typing focused on something else. Watching a video, anything to keep my eyes from the keyboard so I can feel the mistype.

    And you know exactly wtf I'm talking about right now. .:smokingsomb:
     
  22. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    5,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,017
    3,452
    693
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Lmao!:D Don't forget to pass :cool:
     
  23. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Golden Rule is puff puff pass. And don't just assign that to smoking.
     
  24. akira6968

    akira6968 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    22
    2
    16
    PC Repair, Cable Guy
    I seem to have f'd up and can't find my download of this :(
    Playfulgod, you wouldn't happen to still have a copy around would ya? It's not on your goo.im anymore :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...