1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is dual boot possible?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dden4012, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. dden4012

    dden4012 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012

    Mar 21, 2012
    213
    31
    43
    Building Pyramids
    Poor Saint Lucie, Florida
    I am using SwitchMe app. Its pretty neat. It got me wondering if the Esteem is capable of multi booting. I find Ldrifta's ROM best for daily use but want to use PG's ROM for certain things.
     

    Advertisement

  2. V SuperUser V

    V SuperUser V Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    818
    339
    113
    i dont think so sir. i believe this has been asked before so far on our phones is not possible.
     
  3. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Honestly dont know, but You know you are basically "dual booting" is you back up PG's and ldrifta's rom in recovery and you can switch between the 2. Actually partitioning and all that would probably just be a waste of time in my opinion, and plus restoring a back up is a lot less risky for oopsies :D
     
  4. TattooedDroid

    TattooedDroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    319
    45
    43
    GuitarGuru (Go Gibson or go home)
    Jacksonville, FL

    +1 Agreed.
     
  5. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    I had a dentist once say oopsies when he sneezed while drilling a tooth.:vollkommenauf::argh:
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    it should be possible but I'm not going into the details of how its done etc etc. I dont support dualbooting mobile devices, but its doable. ;)
     
  7. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Ummm, not in any way dual-booting at all. If that was the case then I would be ~6 octobooting because of my Windows 7 Backups on the Sammy Laptop LoL
     
  8. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    actually dualbooting on a phone isnt like it is on a PC. The other 'boots' are on and boot from the sdcard. ;)
     
  9. V SuperUser V

    V SuperUser V Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    818
    339
    113
    +1. Saw this on a tmobile windows phone dualbooting from the sd android
     
  10. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Thats what i am saying... Cant call a CWM backup and restore a dual boot setup becausenthat would be like me creating a backup of windows 7 onto a DVD.
     
  11. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    But just to let you know ypu boot from 2 different devices on an Android device BUT on any computernthat allows multiple drives can dual boot from 2 different drives. So computer dual booting CAN be the same thing as dual booting on an android device. 2 OS and 2 seperate installation locations but either way, iwas just saying that a CWM backup and restore method being called a duak boot setup is like calling a Wi dows 7 Backup DVD LoL
     
  12. dden4012

    dden4012 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012

    Mar 21, 2012
    213
    31
    43
    Building Pyramids
    Poor Saint Lucie, Florida
    Yeah 10 minutes between ROM boots isn't worth it to me(backup/restore idea). If it was as simple as selecting which ROM to boot up from a bootloader/recovery UI, that's a $15 app in my eyes. Would gladly buy. How does the SwitchMe app do it?
     
  13. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Exactly what PG said... Installs to SD Card and allows to boot up that way
     
  14. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    "dual booting" was in quotes for a reason :D I meant it as in he has the choice the of which rom he wants to run at anytime just by restoring a back up.
     
  15. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    LoL that would still not be "basically" dual booting but I understand what are getting at. Not being mean, just saying.
     
  16. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    You can put Ubuntu on a droid; I don't see why you couldn't get GRUB to work. I wonder how many people that responded to your post even know what GRUB is? Not to be mean, but I'm just asking. Save your 15 dollars, if it is possible, it will be done.
     
  17. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Too bad I did not see this -- the only sensible response in this thread -- before I posted.

    Why don't you support dual booting?
     
  18. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    to be completely honest and this isnt meant to offend anyone, but the masses arent savvy enough and we would end up with countless bricks. And I for one barely to manage time to help folks out now lol

    I dont think grub supports arm, but not sure just know its not been done yet with grub lol.
     
  19. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Have to agree with PG. With us people that DO know how it works then there are no problems with us doing it.
     
  20. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Now at the same time, there IS a way to put Ubuntu on Android, yes, but this would not be considered a dual booting process. More along the lines of a VM. This CAN be done for people who have a 4GB or greater External. It does not bring its own bootloader and this is why we are able to. Grub has nothing to do with this certain process
     
  21. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Oh and to answer the question of what GRUB is, its a bootloader ;)
     
  22. dden4012

    dden4012 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012

    Mar 21, 2012
    213
    31
    43
    Building Pyramids
    Poor Saint Lucie, Florida
    I can understand the issue created by providing a how to on this subject. I always end up trashing my dual boot setups after a few months of fooling around and updates. Something always goes south. I can follow directions,copy/paste but i dont know what it all means most of the time. A script kiddie of sorts, in no way a hacker/coder.
     
  23. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    You can get a program called G-Parted for your dual booting issues. I find that I can fix most of my issues very easily with that program. I remember when I put Red Hat on an old windoze box about a decade ago and I couldn't see any of my partitions and it was a bit of a nightmare for a few days. We didn't have G-Parted back then...

    I recall fixing bootloader problems and partition problems with G-Parted. I'm not sure what problems you get, but I think G parted can probably help.
     
  24. akikhia

    akikhia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,165
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    1,165
    87
    128
    go check out the htc hd2. a true beast. the godfather of smartphones
     
  25. dden4012

    dden4012 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012

    Mar 21, 2012
    213
    31
    43
    Building Pyramids
    Poor Saint Lucie, Florida
    Wow no sh!t. Much respect to those that put so much work into this tech.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...