1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is Flash in the browser pissing anyone else off?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mihalich, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    Flash seems almost unusable to me in the browser. I'm using beta 3.

    It totally takes over the whole browser when you load a page with flash in it. In most cases you can't drag/scroll horizontally on the pages, as any click registers as a click in the flash window.

    In Dolphin, you can use the volume button to scroll the page vertically, but it doesn't help, cuz if the whole page is flash, you still can't scroll horizontally.

    Also, clicking around in the flash window seems to provide random results based on the content. Like, on some pages, click on the window with a video doesn't display the video controls like pause/play/volume, etc.

    Anyway, I'm not happy at all with the functionality. The only thing I can say positive about it is that almost every flash site I have gone to loads, and does function to some degree when all I need to do is click on the buttons or menus on the flash app in the page.

    Am I missing something?

    - Joe
     

    Advertisement

  2. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    stock browser works 100% perfect for me. loads fast and great. even flash heavy sites like homestarrunner.com
     
  3. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    The stock browser works marginally better than dolphin HD.

    Is there anyway to make the stock browser go full screen and hide the notification bar? I thought there use to be menu option for this but I don't see it anymore.

    Joe
     
  4. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    I haven't had any issues with Dolphin HD 2.0 while using flash. What ROM are you using?
     
  5. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    I prefer the stock browser (just miss the CM fullscreen mode) but flash works great. I'd repeat the question... what ROM are you using? Flash is what I've been looking forward to for a long time and now that I've go it, I've been pretty happy with the way it works.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    Ahh, is that where I saw the stock fullscreen mode, on CM? LOL, I knew I saw it somewhere. I was on CM 5.0.7.1 before I switched to a 2.2 ROM.

    I'm running Kangerade 1.1 right now.

    Flash works for, that's not what I'm saying. My main issue is that when the flash portion of the page consumes more than the screen width in dolphin, 90% of the time I cannot scroll left or right. I seem to be able to scroll better in the stock browser.


    Joe
     
  7. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    The last xscope udate fixed that. The flash content is still an overlay, but it's MUCH easier to scale and pan now.
     
  8. brandoshido

    brandoshido Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    108
    2
    56
    corpus christi, tx
    sometimes touching the video, anywhere in the flash video, will play/pause, even if there are different function buttons (volume, fullscreen, etc. ) thats the only downside i noticed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...