1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is HTC Sense 3.0 available for the Evo 4G yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rambler358, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    267
    12
    58
    Torrance, CA, USA
    I'm currently rooted at stock Froyo with Unrevoked. If Sense 3.0 is available now, can anyone point me to what file(s) I'd need to flash? I'll also being doing the GB flash at the same time if possible. Thanks! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    There is no official HTC release of Sense 3.0 for the Evo. There are however a couple of custom roms(2.3 based) that have Sense 2.1 with elements of Sense 3.0 in them. Check here: http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/284413-roms-kernels-download-page.html for the links.
     
  3. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    There are roms out there with Sense 3.0, and Gingerbread. i currently have VR_KindomEvolution rom on mine.. its awesome.. kinda hard on the battery.. waiting to see if there are any kernals out there to help with that..
     
  4. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    267
    12
    58
    Torrance, CA, USA
    Thanks guys. I've heard we won't officially be getting Sense 3.0 for our EVOs, that's why the post. I just wanted the latest and greatest, but if Sense 3.0 is a battery drainer then maybe I'll just forget about it. But are the UI improvements that much better in 3.0?
     
  5. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    yes.. its way better than the current stock Sense on your phone now..
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah virus's kingdom rom with sense 3.0 is amazing. i am digging it so far. it is the fastest rom that i have seen so far and super smooth. you may have to partition your sd card, but it so worth it.
     
  7. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    267
    12
    58
    Torrance, CA, USA
    Ok, couple questions:
    - Aside from the Kingdom ROM, what other files would I need to flash coming from a stock EVO root right now? And what order should I flash the files if there are multiples?
    - And why would I need (or want) to partition my SD card? I have 4.3GB free on my SD card currently.
     
  8. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    267
    12
    58
    Torrance, CA, USA
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok so the first two flash it in that order. as far as your pri (it is part of your radios) go you can do that at anytime. nothing really touches those except by flashing another pri. so you can flash before or after.
     
    Rambler358 likes this.
  10. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    267
    12
    58
    Torrance, CA, USA
    Ok, thanks! But still not sure on the SD card partitioning - is this something I need to do?
     
  11. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    I highly suggest it, its easy and i like it. The deal is if you have a lot of apps you WILL run out of room. It comes with like probably 80mb free if you arent partitioned i would imagine (just a guess) anyhow doofus flashed last night without partitioning and said he didnt have many apps and ran out of room while restoring them. Also note a phone without free memory is an unhappy phone...so no you dont HAVE to, depends on if you think you can squeeze your apps all on there using the stock apps2sd method.
     
    Rambler358 likes this.
  12. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    i am going to redo my flash tonight.. with the partition.. i cant get any apps on my phone hardly.. so.. follow those directions to a T, and i think people are not having any issues.. something i suggest is to get the super wipe, and put it on your SD card also.. this is things i got on mine.. and they stay there.. :) superwipe, 3 times.. and then do a data factory reset.. superwipe again.. just for giggles.. then off i go..
     
  13. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    this is the steps directly from the XDA forum..

    From Reaper.. who is awesome by the way..

    [​IMG] To Partition SD card and Flash KINGDOM Guide :D
    1. BACK UP YOUR MEMORY CARD TO YOUR COMPUTER AS THIS WILL ERASE EVERYTHING!!==== THIS IS IMPORTANT
    2. Reboot into recovery (Use Amon RA 2.3==NOTHING OTHER THEN AMON )
    3. Select =Partition sdcard=
    4. Select =Partition SD=
    5. Set swap to 0 (you can leave this at 32mb, I did.)
    6. Ext2-size = 2048 (2GB - the 3.0 packages eat up a lot of the internal memory, you can adjust this lower, but 2GB is recommended if you have a lot of apps I did 2 and a half)
    7. Select upgrade ext2 to ext3 ===DO NOT UPGRADE EXT 3 TO EXT 4=====
    8.. Now go back and mount your SD card
    9.. Place all your files back on the card. Also add the ROM, PRI 1.77 downgrade is recommended you will have WAKE ISSUES IF YOU DON'T.
    10. If you have to flash the PRI, do so now and reboot. If not, move on.
    12. Wipe everything you normally would prior to flashing a new rom.
    13. Flash Kingdom
    14. First boot takes about 3 to 5 mintues to get started.
    15. ENJOY THE ROM FOLKS

    MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE LATEST OTA RADIOS.
    THIS IS FOR ALL THE PEOPLE WHO WERE HAVING ISSUES WHEN THEY PARTITIONED THERE SD CARDS AND THERE PHONES COULDN'T BOOT THE ROM.

    THOSE THAT HAD THE ISSUES MUST OF UPGRADED EXT 3 TO EXT 4 WHEN THEY PARTITIONED. IT'S NOT THE ROM IT WAS USER ERROR PEOPLE.

    IF YOU DID UPGRADE EXT 3 TO EXT 4 YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO BOOT THE ROM YOU GET STUCK AT THE BOOT SCREEN AND IT WILL HANG. ONLY WAY TO FIX THAT IS TO WIPE THE SD CARD AND RE PARTITION.

    DO NOT BLAME THE DEVS FOR SOMETHING YOU DID WRONG. THANKS [​IMG]

    THERE IS A GFX FIX THAT SMOOTHS THE ROM OUT. GET IT THEN AFTER THE ROM IS INSTALLED REBOOT TO RECOVERY AND WIPE CACHE AND DAVLIX CACHE FLASH AND YOUR ALL GOOD. I WILL POST THE ATTACHMENTS TONIGHT FOR YA.

    I am not liable if you brick your sd card I don't know anyone that has so have fun folks.

    here is the link to the thread.. with the zips you need to put on your sd card..

    To Partition SD card and Flash KINGDOM Guide :D - xda-developers
     
    ocnbrze and Rambler358 like this.
  14. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
  15. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,065
    2,086
    693
    Male
    USA
    This is very good. Also, Kingdom's ROM was just released and it's based off of Mik's rom. I have Kingdom's on Nandroid and used it over the weekend.
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    actually virus's kingdom rom is pure sense 3.0. there are a few roms that uses mikg as a base. evolvedroms shifted rom and kings alliance rom are all based off of mikg.i like the shifted rom better though. virus's rom is awesome. i can beleive how fast it is!
     
  17. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    so.. how did everything turn out?
     
  18. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,065
    2,086
    693
    Male
    USA

    I meant Kings rom not Kingdom's....I get confused.
     
  19. Ivansandroid

    Ivansandroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    159
    14
    38
    BUSINESS MAN
    BUCKEYE NATION
    I like virus roms but for some reason or another I seem to find myself going back to Miks roms.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...