1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is it a good idea to root my phone just to get better battery life?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SMALBA, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    I have read posts that claim using set cpu and tweaking your screen off settings greatly improves battery life. My question is , should I look into rooting my phone just for saving battery life?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    that and hotspot were my reasons for rooting ..it's of course turned into much more but I'd say it is a good reason. read through the root for dummies thread and make sure you know what you are getting into

    it's more than just "rooting"
     
    SMALBA likes this.
  3. BigPapaBang

    BigPapaBang Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    44
    1
    16
    Anaheim, CA
    Any reason is a good reason to root. If you think it'll benefit you, then by all means, do it! Just a warning to you though, rooting will just be the start. You'll get the itch to start flashing roms and themes. I was planning to stay with the stock rom and kernel but that lasted all of one day!
     
  4. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    584
    213
    Male
    The Rooting for dummies guide that Mr. Ed suggested is a great read for someone contemplating rooting and it can be found in the stickies section of this sub-forum also another good on is the "Quick intro to Rooting for those new to rooting" which can also be found in the stickies. Both of these will explain how to root and some of the things you need to know about rooting such as how to update to the latest OTA.
     
  5. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    Ok I read the rooting for dummies and it seems simple. My understanding is that if I follow those instructions I won't be able to flash roms but instead its a basic root with super permissions, am I right? Because I think that is what I'm looking for as of right now. I will keep reading but I have a few questions. If I do the dummie root method will I still be able to use 4g?
     
  6. BigPapaBang

    BigPapaBang Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    44
    1
    16
    Anaheim, CA
    You WILL be able to change roms if you follow the steps in rooting for dummies. That's the way I and many others have rooted their EVO's
     
  7. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    584
    213
    Male
    Yes you will keep 4G, yes this will keep the stock ROM, and no this will allow you to flash custom ROMs but you don't have to. Any other questions feel free to ask.
     
    SMALBA likes this.
  8. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    Wow after reading some more info on rooting, I am getting really excited to do it. How much time should I plan on when I do this? Assuming all goes well that is. Oh and thanks to all of you for your quick response. I am new to the forums and I am impressed with how nice and helpful people are here.
     
  9. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
    If you're just going to root and keep the stock rom then I'd say it would take like 15-20 minutes and that's with going step by step, double checking as you go along.

    Fairly simple and straight forward process but we are all here to help.
     
  10. evoX2

    evoX2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    134
    31
    43
    So Cal
    Double post
     
  11. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    96
    8
    36
    IT Specialist/Advisor
    New York
    I'll throw my 2 cents in for what it's worth. I became curious about rooting mainly due to wi-fi hotspot. How often do I use this feature? Not much, but when I need/want it, it's there. I actually had no intentions of putting a custom ROM on there but my curiosity got the best of me and I tried a bunch out. The one that won for me was MYN Warm 2.2 and with that I get a few days of battery easy with no CPU tweaking either. If you need help we're all here, please feel free to ask
     
  12. Jayo619

    Jayo619 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Same here... It can become an obsession lol. If i had to do it again, i would definately root my phone just for the battery life rooting has given me.
     
  13. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    Hey guys. SO I rooted last night and it went really well, only took me about 30 minutes. okay so you guys were right. After messing around all night and this morning I am feeling like I should do more with my phone being rooted now. My question is, do I want to run the nand backup with that rom manager like it says in the rooting for dummies? Can someone give me a brief explanation on what this does and also on the guide it says that "(WARNING: When you flash the Clockwork Recovery, you will permanently lose the Stock Recovery.)". Does that mean that I can't go back to out of the box settings?
     
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,893
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,893
    17,848
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    First off congrats on rooting!!
    Rom manager is the front end of clockwork mod recovery. I would recommend on not using rom manager. It rend to be buggy. Do everything manually. Do you know how to get to recovery? Turn off your phone and hold the power and volume button down until out boots to a white screen. Select recovery. You can make your nandroid backup from there.


    There are two types of recoveries from what I understand, a custom recovery (clockwork) and the sprint recovery.unfortunately when you root you loose the sprint recovery. But that can be regained when you do the unroot process found in the dummie guide. So I would not worry about it.
     
  15. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Right, when you have root, there is no need for the stock recovery. As a part of the root process, you replaced it with a custom one. The warning sounds more serious than it is. If you unroot, you'll get the stock recovery back, along with everything else. You *can* flash just the stock recovery, but there are very few good reasons to do. The only thing it's really needed for is OTA updates, which you shouldn't accept while rooted.
     
  16. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    Hmm so you recommend manually setting up the recovery manually? So If I do this recovery backup right now does this take every setting and app and save it so if I want to come back to the set up I have now it will be exactly the same? Does it matter if I have random apps on there no or do I want to do the backup with nothing on the phone besides what it comes with, like should I have done the back up right after rooting?

    Also before I back up do I need to unfreeze some apps or change any settings?
     
  17. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    A nandroid backup is similar to a restore point in Windows. It is basically a photograph of your system right then and can be restored to that same point if there is a problem or you try a theme or a mod that you dont like.
     
  18. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    I have read into Myn's warm two point two rom. I have a few questions though. So if I download this rom do I also need to download or flash a kernel? Also in the xda webpage for myns warm rom it says that you can download other stuff for it but do I need to download these items before I install the rom or does it matter?

    Sorry but I have another NOOB question but it says to put my ROM into the ROOT of my phone on the sd card. The problem is there is no file that says ROOT. Or is root something else? Where do I put the ROM file?
     
  19. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    The "root" is the top level of the card, not in any folders.

    The rom likely comes with the stock kernel so you do not need to flash one. I would use it for a couple days and see what battery and performance are like before flashing a different kernel.
     
    SMALBA likes this.
  20. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Almost every ROM out there comes with a kernel. Technically, it's not a complete ROM if it doesn't have one. If it didn't, it would just require you to already have one on your current ROM. That's an extremely rare case, so just assume a ROM comes with a kernel unless the developer specifically says otherwise. Myn's comes with the stock HTC kernel. That being said, you can flash a different custom kernel after, if you want. That will give you the ability to overclock and potentially give you better battery life (depends on what the kernel is, and how you use the phone).

    As for mods, you flash them after the ROM. Basically, the process is to wipe data/cache/dalvik, flash the ROM, boot up normally (to make sure everything works), then reboot into recovery, wipe cache/dalvik (but not data), then flash whatever mods you want. It's best if you boot up in between each one, though. You can also use Warm Updater, if you want. Not everything will be available through it, though, and you will need to use RA recovery (it won't work with CW very well, if at all). I recommend you do it manually, though. You can find all kinds of mods for it in the official thread at xda.
     
    SMALBA likes this.
  21. aburgthing

    aburgthing Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    158
    45
    43
    District Chief in City of Pgh. paramedic rescue se
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    I assume you have the latest software on your Evo. If so there is no need to install radios, PRI and NV. Check in "Settings"/"About Phone"/"Software Information". First check Baseband version. It should read 2.15.00.11.19. This is your radios. Next check Software number. It should read 3.70.651.1. If this is all correct, you can use Myn's RL5. If you have a lower software (3.29....) you must use Myn's RL4. There is incompatibility with the newer radios vs. the older versions. If you are all up-to-date, you should be good to go. Make sure you use a backup program such as Titanium Backup or My Backup Pro to save your data and applications. Then wipe data, cache and Dalvik {found in advanced in Clockwork}, (twice or more each). Then flash away. Good luck and enjoy the ROM. A reminder too, you may not like the font used in the ROM. I'm a little older and it is way too small for my eyes. After you get the ROM up and running, look for the "stock font" zip and put it on the root (explained above) of your card and flash it. No wiping required. Restore your apps and data from the program of your choosing and you should be up and running. Takes about a half hour from start to finish. Optional items from Sense that are removed from this ROM can be found on your SD card in Myn's optional. Happy flashing!!!

    The stock font can be found on the first page of the XDA Myn's thread.
     
    SMALBA likes this.
  22. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    I got most everything working for myns warm 2.2 but for some reason my internet app is really slow and takes forever to load pages. It is not my connection speed because my 4g signal is great and even when I switched to wifi it still did the same thing. is there a fix for this?
     
  23. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    First, go to the market and download adfree. Open it, and update your hosts file within the app. If that doesn't fix it, take a look at this thread for some suggestions.
     
  24. Internetpilot

    Internetpilot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    The same thing happened to me when i first flashed Myn's (scary, eh?). Akazabam's suggestion solves it. I went into Manage Applications in the settings menu, cleared the data for the AdFree app, and verified that websites, etc were loading fast. I then uninstalled AdFree and reinstalled it from the Market and everything was still loading fast but with the benefits of no ads again.

    I really like Myn's. I pretty much went the same route as you did with thinking I'd only root, then ended up flashing a ROM, then ended up flashing a kernel...it is an addiction. Haha.

    All the folks here were great throughout the whole process with answering my noob questions and explaining everything with much patience (probably for the 100th time to people like me). I think the most commonly hit button by me at this site is the Thanks button -- everyone is so helpful and posts such great info.

    Welcome to root!
     
  25. cquinn

    cquinn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    143
    73
    53
    L.A.
    Now that you're rooted be sure to update your PRI and PRL (menu/settings/system updates) and learn about SetCPU and install to get a real boost in battery life
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...