1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Is it possible to backup/restore Captivate? (similar to iPhone)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HX_Guy, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. HX_Guy

    HX_Guy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    Say if your phone breaks or gets lost/stolen and you can a replacement...is there a way to restore the new phone to have the same app/settings as the old one or do you have to manually reinstall and reconfigure everything?
     

    Advertisement

  2. JEF81

    JEF81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    NYC
    I have heard the once we get Froyo for Captivate Google will offer a desktop app that will allow you to back uo the phone and apps, etc. Can anyone out there who knows more about this comment? I am interested in saving my settings and apps too in case the phone is broken.
     
  3. lilo

    lilo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    There are applications on the Market that allow to back up phone apps and data to SD card. The back up files can then be copied to desktop computer using regular techniques. It seems that the most popular app is Titanium Backup but it requires rooting.
     
  4. ilusv

    ilusv Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    It will be really nice to have an application that will handle the backup of the phone along with a two way sync with outlook. Has anything been officially confirmed?
     
  5. lilo

    lilo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    Check the threads about Kies. It's a Samsung application for PC that allows you to do backups and tons of other things (like tethering).
     
  6. ilusv

    ilusv Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    Been trying to get Kies to work for the last week with no success. Tried two different PCs (xp 32bit and vista 64bit) with no luck what so ever. Followed all the recommendations in the threads. Thinking about flashing my firmware as last resort.
     
  7. HX_Guy

    HX_Guy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    Im on a Mac so Kies isn't an option for me I don't think.
     
  8. skinien

    skinien Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    634
    86
    78
    That would be nice! This is on Google's android website:
    Data backup

    Apps can participate in data backup and restore, to ensure that users maintain their data after performing a factory reset or when switching devices.


    Android 2.2 Platform Highlights | Android Developers
     
  9. ewingr

    ewingr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

  10. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    I'd love to have something like I used on my Palm: Resco Backup

    Could do manual or scheduled full backups to SD card. Many, many times I tested this by doing a full factory reset... looked at SD card, ran the app, told it to do full restore, and seconds later my Palm was exactly to the way it was before.

    Perfect and painless. I need something like that for the Captivate.
     
  11. ewingr

    ewingr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    I think 2 (if not all 3) of those listed in post above your does that. But not absolutely positive, and have not tested. Tests could bring surprises.
     
  12. tekonus

    tekonus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    237
    36
    43
    Long Island, NY
    Kies is a steaming pile of crap... I wish it wasn't, but it is.
     
    Cramp likes this.
  13. JEF81

    JEF81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    NYC
    I have kies installed but can't figure out how to do a backup. Seems like it's mostly for transferring media. Any suggestions?
     
  14. ewingr

    ewingr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Just read some reviews on Sprite and Titanium (two that I have installed), and Titanium had much higher reviews, and it sounds like you will not be able to get all back like before with Sprite, according to review. Didn't see that specific topic mentioned on Titanium. May need to read more reviews. In any event a person should probably plan on doing their own test before expecting it to work in such an effective way.
     
  15. PKSA.Tim

    PKSA.Tim Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    If nobody answered you on how to get it to work, right click the icon and choose to run as admin.
     
  16. Spaz888

    Spaz888 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    32
    0
    15
    I always come to this forum to see what if anything have changed. This time I too was looking at trying to backup the entire device including SMS messages onto my PC.

    It's the same old, same old. Some, actually only a very few seem to recommend KIES. Like most people who are posting, KIES is crap and it doesn't work for me either on Windows 7 or XP environment. Sure, it'll install but at best my captivate will run only in MASS storage mode and nothing can be backed up unless I use an app from Google Market place. This is the main reason why I dislike Samsung software. And to add insult to injury their support is useless and leaves one only frustrated that they want to throw their phone out the window.

    IMHO, Samsung (newer) phones are ok but their desktop software is junk. I have never seen such a large and well known company as Samsung create such crap. It's unbelievable.
     
  17. hotrod4x5

    hotrod4x5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    54
    1
    36
    Does it have to be a Samsung ap? Aren't there other Android aps for backing up?

    I've had my captivate for a few months now, just getting to the point and doing research on backing up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...