1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is it possible to install an app twice on the same device without overwriting the previous install?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Morisato, May 3, 2012.

  1. Morisato

    Morisato Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I want to install the same app multiple times on the same device. Is there a way to do it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. eirrom

    eirrom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    45
    4
    16
    Wisconsin
    Can I ask why?
     
  3. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    I don't think it would be possible unless the App's install script was written to install this way.
     
  4. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    I am pretty sure you can not, but I also curious as to why you would want to?

    If you let us know what app we may be able to help you find an alternative with multiple profiles or something.
     
  5. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,972
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,972
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    Nope, only if the package name is different. :)
     
  6. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    580
    62
    78
    Male
    One reason I could think of: to make sure there aren't any major bugs in a new release.
     
  7. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    That is why I keep backups using Titanium, but that isn't an option for those that don't want to root
     
  8. Tiger1050

    Tiger1050 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Why not backup the a apps with androzip if not rooted?

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk
     
  9. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    That doesn't backup the app data like titanium. MyBackup Pro does the same thing if you aren't rooted
     
  10. Morisato

    Morisato Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I want to install the Blizzard Authenticator app multiple times because I have multiple bnet accounts that I want to protect but the authenticator serial can't be used on multiple accounts... so I need to install the app multiple times and I don't want to buy multiple devices just to get multiple authenticator serial numbers.
     
  11. gwar

    gwar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I am not sure about this but I think if you root your phone, you can download an app that will allow more than one profile or user. I work with a guy who told me his friend has several of the same app on his phone, it is an RPG and he has several characters. Blah blah blah, yada yada yada.

    It could have been bulls%$#$ but I do not know why he would lie about something that crazy.

    Good luck

    Gwar
     

Share This Page

Loading...